$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2014 Check-out: Apr 20, 2014

Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

4 stars
1800 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
114 reviews
great stay

I stayed at this hotel with my daughter for a college audition. The room was clean and comfortable... See full review

  • Gail T.
  • Dec 9, 2013
nice hotel

That's nice and a pleasent stay here. While the internet access was not that so good. See full review

  • canguang
  • Nov 30, 2013
Restful Center City location conveniently close to shopping and dining
The Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia in downtown Philadelphia offers a convenient location for business or leisure travel. Just a few blocks north of Rittenhouse Square, shopping and dining options are plentiful. Hotel amenities include free apples and coffee in the spacious new lobby; complimentary high-speed Internet access; an on-site 24-hour fitness center; free access to nearby Philadelphia Sports Club and an outdoor pool. Nonsmoking guest rooms with comfortable bedding and unique amenities make for a restful night.
Highlights:
  • Outdoor pool, on-site 24-hour fitness center, complimentary access to nearby Philadelphia Sports Club
  • Central downtown location close to Rittenhouse Square, City Hall and the Cultural District
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • Floors with quiet-zone rules in place on weeknights from evening through late morning, with no housekeeping during those times unless requested
Rooms:

The completely nonsmoking Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia offers 443 guestrooms and two suites, all decorated in muted tones and dark-wood furniture. Standard amenities include complimentary high-speed Internet access; comfortable beds with pillow-top mattresses and luxury linens; work-station desks with lamps; televisions with premium channels and pay movies; coffeemakers; hairdryers and irons with ironing boards.

Features:

The hotel provides guests with tastefully appointed rooms and suites with modern amenities such as complimentary wireless Internet access, cable/satellite TV with in-room movies and video games, telephone with voice mail, free local calls, desk and chair, iron and ironing board as well as coffee maker. Suites come with separate sitting area.

Dining

Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia does not have an on-site restaurant but diners can sample local and international cuisines at nearby food outlets. Room service is available.

Transportation:
  • SEPTA Subway Suburban Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (9.3 mi/15 km)
Attractions:
  • Rittenhouse Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • City Hall (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Historic District (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
Business:
  • Multiple conference/meeting rooms
  • Dedicated meetings director
  • Business Center
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Catering services
  • Audio/visual equipment
Policies and Fees
  • Room service is available from 6:00 AM to 1:00 PM and 3:30 PM to 11:00 PM.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia Rooms

ADA Hearing Impaired Club Floor
ADA Hearing Impaired Club Floor King - 336 sq ft- ADA Tub - Free Wi Fi
One Bedroom Suite King
One bedroom suite king- 1 king Free internet access
Traditional Guestroom with One Q
Traditional Guestroom with One Queen Bed - 219 Sq Ft - Free Wi Fi - Coffeemaker
Traditional Guestroom with One K
Traditional Guestroom with One King Bed - 336 Sq Ft - Free Wi Fi - Coffeemaker
Traditional Guestroom with 2 Dou
336 sq ft -Two Double Beds - Free Wi Fi - Coffee Maker
Club Level with One Queen Bed
Club Level with One Queen Bed 219 sq ft- Free Wi Fi - Access to Club Lounge - Flat Screen TV
Club Level with One King Bed
Club Level with One King Bed 336 Sq Ft- Free Wi Fi - King bed - Club Lounge Access - Flat Screen TV
Club Level with Two Double Beds
Club Level with Two Double Beds - 336 Sq Ft - Flat Screen TV - Free Wi Fi
ADA King Hearing Impaired Roll-i
ADA King Hearing Impaired Roll-in Shower 336 sq ft - 1 King - Free Wi Fi
ADA King Hearing Impaired with t
ADA King Hearing Impaired with Tub 336 Sq Ft - Removable Tub Seat - TTY Visual Alerts - Free Wi Fi

Amenities

  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.9532 -75.17
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 8.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.3 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.3 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1.1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1.1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.2 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.3 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.4 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.6 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.7 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.7 mi

Dining

Room Service
Available From 6am-1pm and 330pm-11pm- From Full Menu
Public House
Sports Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (114)

Ratings and reviews for Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Overall score

3.6 / 5
114 out of 114
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
Sbgwmp
Kentucky
Jun 24, 2012

Too many slip ups

The hotel was a nice, slightly luxurious experience, worth what I paid for it if all went well. However, the parking was way overpriced at $42 overnight for valet, so I tried to park on my own the second night. When I asked them to take off the charges, instead they doubled them! We left our room at 2 PM one day, and we had already received a note that they tried to make it up, so I called down to arrange it. They said they would but they didn't do it. The hotel did compensate us with two room service breakfasts, which were excellent, so I suppose it was worthwhile. I'd probably give them another try if I was flying in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
alex the traveler
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Dec 1, 2011

excellent place to stay

I enjoyed very much my short stay in this place although I had a little incident during the early morning hours caused by a false fire alarm that didn't allow me to rest as I wanted. The rest is fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
PABinMCIN
Business
Michigan City, IN
Jul 26, 2013

Business Stay

Everything went well. Utilized Business Center, which seemed adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Philadelphia
Apr 9, 2011

Nice little weekender

The restaurant downstairs was a great pub atmosphere. Loved the idea of operating the elevators with your room card! Checking in however, I was told my room was in "cleaning status" and wasn't ready yet; problem was, I checked in at 5:30 and check-in time starts at 4pm, so I was upset that 1.5 hrs after check-in time, my room still wasn't ready!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There are at least 10 dance clubs within walking distance from the hotel, something for everyone no matter your tastes.

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
Brakitman
New Haven, Ct
Dec 29, 2009

A great stop half way to Virginia Beach

Our visit was two days before Christmas and we were able to walk to and shop at the Gallery and holiday craft booths setup around City Hall. The hotel's location made these things possible as well as allowing us to be very rested from sleeping in their comfortable king size bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
DanielleLRNY
New York, NY
Nov 4, 2013

Sonesta Experience

Basic hotel, clean rooms, friendly staff. Nice downtown location close to transportation and the city center

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
SF Bay Area
May 26, 2009

Great location, nice room

Sightseeing of historical sights. It would have been nice if the concierge service was open until midnight for people who check in later and need help with tours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Do the research on tours you plan to take before you go to Philadelphia. In general, people at the Visitor Center and at the hotel know about the tours within Philly but not outside. There are no tours to Gettysburg that anyone knows of.

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
Bizkid
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Apr 22, 2013

Comfortable, Well-Located, Friendly Staff

Room was very comfortable, with a great mattress and just-right pillows. Water pressure was a little low in the shower, but had plenty of hot water. The room was clean and comfortable, except for a little dust in the corners of the room where it hadn't been completely vacuumed in some time. The only problem I had was with the door lock, where either the tumblers are wearing out or it needs a new battery, but the handle would only open consistently by pulling the handle up, and only sometimes pushing down. I slept very well, the room temperature was just right, and I'd definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Cafe Express shop in the hotel makes a much better breakfast sandwich than the Elephant & Castle, for half the price.

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
Boxed Wine
Philadelphia PA
May 9, 2011

Great room, rate, and service

The room was not ready when we arrived at 5pm, but they resolved issue within minutes. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Wisconsin
Jun 7, 2009

Nice weekend

It was a really nice weekend on downtown Philly. Very friendly staff and beautiful rooms. The only downside is the price of the parking attached to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top