$122 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

4 stars
1800 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
129 reviews
Dad and 2 teenage sons

This was a wonderful experience for my boys and I. We came to Philly for the Eagles vs Seattle... See full review

  • DieHard Seattle Fans
  • Dec 8, 2014
Last minute get away

Second stay at the hotel, everything always clean, staff friendly, great place See full review

  • Jg10025
  • Oct 14, 2014
The Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia makes the most of its Center City location, with a rooftop pool looking out over the skyline. In-room video games, movies and extra considerations like quiet-zone floors for working during the week make it a favorite for those in Philly on business. Funky decor in various shades of red signifies the lounge areas, and cityscape prints adorn the bed-heads in the rooms. Cafe Express is handy for grabbing something on the way out of the lobby, but if you've got more time on your hands, Rittenhouse Square eateries are just beyond the hotel steps, whether you're craving a Philly cheesesteak or some English-style pub grub.
Key facts
  • 445 guestrooms
  • High-speed Internet access (fees may apply)
  • In-room dining
  • 24-hour business center
  • 24-hour fitness center and complimentary passes to Philadelphia Sports Club gym
  • 16 meeting rooms
  • Liberty Ballroom for weddings and social events
  • Rooftop swimming pool, open from June to September
  • On-site ATM
Neighborhood
Situated on Market Street in downtown Philadelphia, the Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia puts guests on the doorstep of monumental US attractions like the Liberty Bell Center, Independence Hall and the National Constitution Center. For family fun, take the kids to Franklin Square for a carousel ride or to the Philadelphia Zoo in Fairmont Park to the north for close encounters with exotic animals. Depending on the season, sports fans can cheer on Philadelphia's football, hockey or baseball teams at venues like Lincoln Financial Field (Philadelphia Eagles) located within a four-mile-radius of the hotel.
Hints and tips
If you need accommodations for disabled travelers, ask about one of the 17 ADA-compliant rooms available in the building.

Consider an Executive Club Floor upgrade if the idea of a private lounge, complimentary breakfast service, and evening refreshments sounds too tempting to ignore.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia Rooms

Club ADA King Pres Ste Comm Sh
1030 SQ FT SUITE
Club Two Queen City View
Club 2 Queen City View - Access to club lounge Various views of Center City
Junior Ste King Sofa City View
Junior Ste King Sofa City View - King Bed- Sofabed - Various Views of Center City
Club One Bedroom Ste King Sofa
One bedroom Suite with connecting King bedroom
Hospitality Ste Sofa Coty View
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA King Bathtub
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA King Communication
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA Queen Communication
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA Two Queen Comm Shwr
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA King Comm Shower
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA Two Queen Bathtub
Description not provided
Club Junior Ste King Sofabed
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA Two Queen Comm
Description not provided
Club Level One Bedroom Suite Kin
ADA MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE RI SHWR COMMUNICATIONS
Deluxe King Hospitality Ste Cn
Option to connect to a Deluxe King Guestroom
Deluxe Queen City View
Deluxe Queen City View 336 Sq Ft - Queen bed Various Views of Center City
Deluxe King City View
Deluxe King City View -336 Sq Ft - King Bed Various views of Center City
Deluxe Two Queen City View
Deluxe Two Queen City View - 336 Sq Ft Various Views of Center City
Club Queen City View
Club Queen City View - access to club lounge Various Views of Center City
Club King City View
Club King City View - Access to club lounge. Various views of Center City

Amenities

  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.3 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.3 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1.1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1.1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.2 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.3 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.4 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.6 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.7 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.7 mi

Dining

Room Service
Available From 6am-1pm and 330pm-11pm- From Full Menu
Public House
Sports Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (129)

Ratings and reviews for Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms Nino
New York, NY
Jul 18, 2012

Ms Nino

Great experience, the staff of the hotel very kind and helpful, I call when we were in our way to ask them to have my daughter's crip in the room by the time we would be there, since we were checking in at late night and they did it. Parking lot conveniently located next to the hotel. The hotel is located on Market street so it is very convenient and walking distance from mayor attractions in downtown. Next time we go to Philly we will definitely will stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you travel with kids look for a hotel that is walking distance from main attractions so, if you need to go back for any reason ie, nap, lunch, diaper change you can do it without loose the rest of your day traveling back and forward!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sleepless in Phillie
Business
New York, NY
Mar 28, 2011

Sleepless in Philadelphia

Clean, attractive, comfortable room. Nice to arrive and feel like we booked the right hotel. Excellent location. Courteous staff. Unfortunately, a party of women was partying from 10pm-3:30am. Hotel staff repeatedly responded to our requests (and those of other guests on the floor) to ask the women to stop screaming and slamming doors. To our regret, the drunken group was out of control and would not shut up or slow down. No RIM sleep in our perfectly comfortable bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dine in the Rittenhouse neighborhood - numerous choices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LFM
Business
Allentown, PA
Mar 28, 2011

eh

room was nice, clean, and comfy however it took over 30 minutes to bring our car down from the parking garage. way too long for $36 a night for valet parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Lauderdale
Apr 18, 2011

Showing its age.

This hotel is in a great business location and is a bit less expensive than surrounding hotels, however, the rooms are small and the entire place can use a renovation. No one likes to look up from his bed and see multiple water stains on the ceiling. There is a musty smell in the hallways and the rooms. The on-site restaurant is mediocre. Positives: Very professional and helpful staff. Free access to a health club across the stress is a bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, NY
May 16, 2011

Quick getaway

Great location to walk to any of historic Philly. Room was very small. Restaurant ran out of food. Maid walked in despite the do not disturb sign on door. Parking is $36 a day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Liberty Bell

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Jul 21, 2009

Time to repair

The shower handle fell off several times and every time we turned it on it made a very loud noise. We couldn't regulate the water flow well when the handle kept falling off. Fortunately we were only there one night. The room was small for three adult family members but we made it work. We have never stayed in Philadelphia previously because we have family and friends in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

You can walk to the historic area from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
3rd time traveler
Business
Washington dc
Aug 3, 2009

OKAY but didn't fit to review's standard

they were in midst of doing construction in the hotel so there were many times when we had to wait for ONE elevator to transport the entire hotel. Valet parking was the worst. we were given an hour and half wait just to get our car out. no hotel should expect their customers to wait that long esp. when you're paying over 30 dollars to get it parked and returned to you. i could not sleep at night. the walls were so thin i could hear EVERYTHING that was going on in the hallways. it's probably not the hotel's fault for having unrespectable, noisy customers. otherwise, the hotel was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Macy May
Business
New York, NY
Oct 12, 2009

Decent - but nothing more

The first room we were assigned was requested for non-smoking. We walked in and the smoke smell was overpowering. Ick! I called down to the front desk and they very nicely put us in a new room. Got to the new room and the TV made an annoying buzzing sound the whole time it was on and the remote didn't work. I asked for a new remote, which was brought up fairly quickly - the second remote did not work either. Tried to call down to room service at 10:30pm at night and kept being put through to the hotel's main reservation line. There is very limited dining. Even the vending machines only had soda. The room was clean, but very small, right next to the elevator. The staff was helpful and accommodating, but do not expect luxury (like a working TV). Location is okay and a reasonable walk from Amtrak station. The hotel is farther west, but Philadelphia is a very walkable city. Oh, and there is karaoke on Saturday nights...beware...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RockyFlats
Business
Milwaukee, WI
May 20, 2010

Nice location, needs some updating

Nice hotel in great business location. BONUS is that they have relationship with a gym so you can go there rather than their fitness center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Suburban visitor
Business
Exton, PA
Mar 21, 2010

older and dusty

Stayed one night because family came into town and the room was older and dusty with atiny bathroom which isn't a surprise in center city. Paid a high price and didn't expect anything spectacular but I stayed in a much nicer Embassy suites the next night for cheaper. Bottom line it is in a noisy part of the city and if you are just looking for a place to crash then try and get a cheap price for this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BrittanyWhyte003
Business
NY, NY
Sep 2, 2014

Not Impressed by any means

I stood at Sonesta for Labor Day last year and for Labor Day this year. They definitely did renovate but I cannot say there was a huge upgrade or that I was majorly impressed. The lobby is spacious, with two small uncomfortable couch/benches (they do not have backs). There is a bellman desk constantly unattended. There were about 4 front desk associates at the front desk when I arrived. One of the associates, a male, was on the phone with a customer when I arrived. The woman next to him offered to help me but had to work off of the computer that was in front of the male. While she helped me I just watched the guy at the desk make faces indicating his annoyance from the customer on the phone. I asked the woman for a good restaurant nearby. She suggested the Midtown Diner and insisted it was better than the food served at the Hotel's restaurant. The Midtown Diner was horrible. They did not serve bottled water, which I wanted after my meal, for the hotel room and night's sleep, so I figured I would get one from the cafe in the hotel. When I got to the hotel I asked the bartender if they served bottled water, he pointed to the fridge. I asked "are you pointing out my options or do i go get one (they were far in the back, by the service station)"? He told me I could pick. I went to open the fridge and it would not open. He told me to pull harder. I moved the entire fridge completely, it was locked. The bartender could care less. He said " that's strange, you can ask the people at the front desk if they have the key, i don't". I walked a few blocks to the nearest Rite Aid for a bottle of water. A hotel servicing hundreds of people did not have one bottle of water to spare. I asked the bartenders what if I called down from my room. His response "well room service ends at 11PM". When I was checking out, about to get my car from the parking lot, I noticed a kiosk to pay for parking. I used the kiosk and paid $109 for my 3 nights. When I returned home I noticed my card was charged twice for parking, once from the kiosk, and again from the hotel directly. Maybe they should put a sign somewhere? I could go on but I do not have time. I work for the highest grossing hospitality group in the country and Sonesta could use a few pointers. Service is everything, without that, the renovation is irrelevant, and I even have suggestions for that. One should go above and beyond. Kill them with kindness. Not a horrible hotel but not worth the price. It's your average hotel chain wrapped in a pretty bow. I am about to call them to go over the cc charges. Can't wait. I will not be staying there next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A.Kitchen = Delicious! Great Service!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top