$151 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 1, 2014 Check-out: Nov 4, 2014

Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

4 stars
1800 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
125 reviews
Last minute get away

Second stay at the hotel, everything always clean, staff friendly, great place See full review

  • Jg10025
  • Oct 14, 2014
Great Hotel, Great Location!!!

This hotel was fresh, clean and had a nice friendly vibe and was not pretentious. Rooms were very... See full review

  • Nonaccidental Tourst
  • Sep 9, 2014
The Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia makes the most of its Center City location, with a rooftop pool looking out over the skyline. In-room video games, movies and extra considerations like quiet-zone floors for working during the week make it a favorite for those in Philly on business. Funky decor in various shades of red signifies the lounge areas, and cityscape prints adorn the bed-heads in the rooms. Cafe Express is handy for grabbing something on the way out of the lobby, but if you've got more time on your hands, Rittenhouse Square eateries are just beyond the hotel steps, whether you're craving a Philly cheesesteak or some English-style pub grub.
Key facts
  • 445 guestrooms
  • High-speed Internet access (fees may apply)
  • In-room dining
  • 24-hour business center
  • 24-hour fitness center and complimentary passes to Philadelphia Sports Club gym
  • 16 meeting rooms
  • Liberty Ballroom for weddings and social events
  • Rooftop swimming pool, open from June to September
  • On-site ATM
Neighborhood
Situated on Market Street in downtown Philadelphia, the Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia puts guests on the doorstep of monumental US attractions like the Liberty Bell Center, Independence Hall and the National Constitution Center. For family fun, take the kids to Franklin Square for a carousel ride or to the Philadelphia Zoo in Fairmont Park to the north for close encounters with exotic animals. Depending on the season, sports fans can cheer on Philadelphia's football, hockey or baseball teams at venues like Lincoln Financial Field (Philadelphia Eagles) located within a four-mile-radius of the hotel.
Hints and tips
If you need accommodations for disabled travelers, ask about one of the 17 ADA-compliant rooms available in the building.

Consider an Executive Club Floor upgrade if the idea of a private lounge, complimentary breakfast service, and evening refreshments sounds too tempting to ignore.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.9532 -75.17
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 8.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia Rooms

Deluxe Queen City View
Deluxe Queen City View 336 Sq Ft - Queen bed Various Views of Center City
Deluxe ADA King Bathtub
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA King Communication
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA Queen Communication
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA Two Queen Comm Shwr
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA King Comm Shower
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA Two Queen Bathtub
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA Two Queen Comm
Description not provided
Deluxe King City View
Deluxe King City View -336 Sq Ft - King Bed Various views of Center City
Deluxe Two Queen City View
Deluxe Two Queen City View - 336 Sq Ft Various Views of Center City
Club Queen City View
Club Queen City View - access to club lounge Various Views of Center City
Club King City View
Club King City View - Access to club lounge. Various views of Center City
Club Two Queen City View
Club 2 Queen City View - Access to club lounge Various views of Center City
Junior Ste King Sofa City View
Junior Ste King Sofa City View - King Bed- Sofabed - Various Views of Center City
Club One Bedroom Ste King Sofa
One bedroom Suite with connecting King bedroom
Hospitality Ste Sofa Coty View
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.3 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.3 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1.1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1.1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.2 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.3 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.4 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.6 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.7 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.7 mi

Dining

Room Service
Available From 6am-1pm and 330pm-11pm- From Full Menu
Public House
Sports Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (125)

Ratings and reviews for Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms Nino
New York, NY
Jul 18, 2012

Ms Nino

Great experience, the staff of the hotel very kind and helpful, I call when we were in our way to ask them to have my daughter's crip in the room by the time we would be there, since we were checking in at late night and they did it. Parking lot conveniently located next to the hotel. The hotel is located on Market street so it is very convenient and walking distance from mayor attractions in downtown. Next time we go to Philly we will definitely will stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you travel with kids look for a hotel that is walking distance from main attractions so, if you need to go back for any reason ie, nap, lunch, diaper change you can do it without loose the rest of your day traveling back and forward!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ivy love
Business
Bethlehem pa
Mar 11, 2013

Great value great price awesome hotel

The staff was great willing to help in all my needs even directing me to good places to go eat,shop and relaxation . They definitely went the extra mile . The hotel itself was very nice I was sure for the price that I wouldn't like it but I was wrong ... Decent place to stay will stay again ....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Philadelphia Lover
Business
Rockville, MD
Mar 31, 2013

Great hotel in Center City

Close to Rittenhouse Square, within walking distance of tons of stores & restaurants. Cozy room, good parking deal. Would recommend the Sonesta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NJAdam
Business
Princeton, NJ
Apr 9, 2013

Nice hotel and very friendly, helpful staff!

We were in Philly for a weekend getaway without the kids. We stayed in a room on the 24th floor (yes, do get a room as high up as possible to avoid street noise). Was told the room was "renovated" one, but it didn't look it - it still had the 1980s thermostat (as opposed to newer digital ones), but it was by no means "shabby" or old in quality. But I would be disappointed if this is what they call renovated. In any case, the room was comfortable. My wife liked the shampoo and other toiletries. There was no mini fridge in the room. I think that you can call the front desk and request one, though (not sure as we didn't need one and didn't bother to look into it). Location wise, this is great - it's centrally located between the museums and the constitutional attractions; about 20 minute walk in either direction. It's also convenient to the subway and bus stops. When we checked in, they gave us free access to their "Sonesta Club" which they were promoting heavily. Basically it's their frequent traveler club in which you earn extra amenities and benefits the more you travel. You also have access to the Club Lounge which was actually pretty good. We were told they had various snacks and non-aloholic drinks available throughout the day, but we found it was a bit more! On every occasion we went they had at least 1 hot h'ordeuvres and fresh fruit, plus a good selection of snacks and bottled drinks - they even offered us a complimentary beer or wine on each visit to the lounge. We ended eating breakfast there both mornings and one evening we even had our dinner their because the beef tenderloin wrapped in bacon was pretty filling! So win there in that we saved some good money on at least three meals. A couple things to note: the pool is only outside, so no swimming off season. the gym has a few treadmills and exercise machine, plus weights - standard fare for a hotel. Valet parking is a bit expensive, but you do have in-out privileges and it's a bit more safe than some of the cheaper overnight parking you can find on the street. All in all, we would definitely stay again at this Sonesta, and will most likely check out other Sonestas in other states (after all, we're members of the "club" :) ) Happy Travels!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Sign up for the free Sonesta Club and then have a free breakfast in the morning, and access to snacks throughout the day!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EDubb
Business
Baltimore, MD, USA
Apr 13, 2013

Weekend getaway

I came to Philly to visit. The hotel is close to the 30th Street train station. They put me in a room next to construction that was going on and I had to be moved. There's a $50 per night incidental charge when you get to the hotel. They moved me to a new room. Room service was excellent. The breakfast lounge was was a very nice touch. The pub by the lobby can get to be really loud. The bathroom is small and they use dispensers for body wash, shampoo and conditioner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Reading Terminal has some of the BEST and reasonably priced food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bizkid
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Apr 22, 2013

Comfortable, Well-Located, Friendly Staff

Room was very comfortable, with a great mattress and just-right pillows. Water pressure was a little low in the shower, but had plenty of hot water. The room was clean and comfortable, except for a little dust in the corners of the room where it hadn't been completely vacuumed in some time. The only problem I had was with the door lock, where either the tumblers are wearing out or it needs a new battery, but the handle would only open consistently by pulling the handle up, and only sometimes pushing down. I slept very well, the room temperature was just right, and I'd definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Cafe Express shop in the hotel makes a much better breakfast sandwich than the Elephant & Castle, for half the price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RRempala
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 7, 2013

trip to philly

excellent location right in the city center in close proximity to everything you would ever want to see in philly...a walk away from south philly, the subway if you don't want to walk, just down the street from independence hall and the liberty bell, and of course the beautiful city hall building, has a cool pub in the lobby, close to banks, starbucks, and other restaurants

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Independence Hall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PABinMCIN
Business
Michigan City, IN
Jul 26, 2013

Business Stay

Everything went well. Utilized Business Center, which seemed adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The chef
Business
Los Angeles,ca
Oct 19, 2013

Privacy problems with housekeeping

Love the location, but had some problems with housekeeping. Had my privacy sign hanging on my door and housekeeping knocked anyway.....having working in the hospitality business in past that one of the ultimate no.no......then she reported to security that I was smoking in the room......which I did outside............next thing I know the security is at my door stating that I was smoking in the room......ironically I had seen the security outside when I was smoking so.....he knew the truth.........thank god.....cause this housekeeper was trying to get me a 250 fine for smoking in the room.......she should be fired.......thank god I had seen the security outside......he was really cool and made sure that all this would be resolved.......thanks Troy...........for doing your job correctly.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Love buddakan.......on chestnut........

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DanielleLRNY
Business
New York, NY
Nov 4, 2013

Sonesta Experience

Basic hotel, clean rooms, friendly staff. Nice downtown location close to transportation and the city center

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Angie Jill Jackie Cath
Business
Edinburgh, Scotland
Dec 4, 2013

Girls shopping weekend

The staff were so friendly & couldn't do anymore for us, the hotel was clean, comfortable & very central.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

King of Prussia Mall, every shop you could think off is in this mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top