$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 14, 2014 Check-out: Aug 16, 2014

Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

4 stars
1800 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
172 reviews
Loved the hotel and staff !! Would stay there anytime again

Fresh remodeled and AWSOME service. The staff was very helpfull and friendly .. Bed is very... See full review

  • Tanmye
  • Jul 19, 2014
great stay

I stayed at this hotel with my daughter for a college audition. The room was clean and comfortable... See full review

  • Gail T.
  • Dec 9, 2013
The Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia makes the most of its Center City location, with a rooftop pool looking out over the skyline. In-room video games, movies and extra considerations like quiet-zone floors for working during the week make it a favorite for those in Philly on business. Funky decor in various shades of red signifies the lounge areas, and cityscape prints adorn the bed-heads in the rooms. Cafe Express is handy for grabbing something on the way out of the lobby, but if you've got more time on your hands, Rittenhouse Square eateries are just beyond the hotel steps, whether you're craving a Philly cheesesteak or some English-style pub grub.
Key facts
  • 445 guestrooms
  • High-speed Internet access (fees may apply)
  • In-room dining
  • 24-hour business center
  • 24-hour fitness center and complimentary passes to Philadelphia Sports Club gym
  • 16 meeting rooms
  • Liberty Ballroom for weddings and social events
  • Rooftop swimming pool, open from June to September
  • On-site ATM
Neighborhood
Situated on Market Street in downtown Philadelphia, the Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia puts guests on the doorstep of monumental US attractions like the Liberty Bell Center, Independence Hall and the National Constitution Center. For family fun, take the kids to Franklin Square for a carousel ride or to the Philadelphia Zoo in Fairmont Park to the north for close encounters with exotic animals. Depending on the season, sports fans can cheer on Philadelphia's football, hockey or baseball teams at venues like Lincoln Financial Field (Philadelphia Eagles) located within a four-mile-radius of the hotel.
Hints and tips
If you need accommodations for disabled travelers, ask about one of the 17 ADA-compliant rooms available in the building.

Consider an Executive Club Floor upgrade if the idea of a private lounge, complimentary breakfast service, and evening refreshments sounds too tempting to ignore.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.9532 -75.17
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 8.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia Rooms

Deluxe Queen City View
Deluxe Queen City View 336 Sq Ft - Queen bed Various Views of Center City
Deluxe ADA King Bathtub
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA King Communication
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA Queen Communication
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA Two Queen Comm Shwr
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA King Comm Shower
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA Two Queen Bathtub
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA Two Queen Comm
Description not provided
Deluxe King City View
Deluxe King City View -336 Sq Ft - King Bed Various views of Center City
Deluxe Two Queen City View
Deluxe Two Queen City View - 336 Sq Ft Various Views of Center City
Club Queen City View
Club Queen City View - access to club lounge Various Views of Center City
Club King City View
Club King City View - Access to club lounge. Various views of Center City
Club Two Queen City View
Club 2 Queen City View - Access to club lounge Various views of Center City
Junior Ste King Sofa City View
Junior Ste King Sofa City View - King Bed- Sofabed - Various Views of Center City
Club One Bedroom Ste King Sofa
One bedroom Suite with connecting King bedroom
Hospitality Ste Sofa Coty View
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.3 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.3 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1.1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1.1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.2 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.3 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.4 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.6 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.7 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.7 mi

Dining

Room Service
Available From 6am-1pm and 330pm-11pm- From Full Menu
Public House
Sports Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (172)

Ratings and reviews for Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
172 out of 172
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms Nino
New York, NY
Jul 18, 2012

Ms Nino

Great experience, the staff of the hotel very kind and helpful, I call when we were in our way to ask them to have my daughter's crip in the room by the time we would be there, since we were checking in at late night and they did it. Parking lot conveniently located next to the hotel. The hotel is located on Market street so it is very convenient and walking distance from mayor attractions in downtown. Next time we go to Philly we will definitely will stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you travel with kids look for a hotel that is walking distance from main attractions so, if you need to go back for any reason ie, nap, lunch, diaper change you can do it without loose the rest of your day traveling back and forward!

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent Traveler 101
Jersey City, New Jersey
Jun 28, 2012

Great weekend trip

The hotel room were very comfortable, the staff was very helpful and patient and the hotel was situated in a perfect location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

De Nardo's Seafood was the best!! Food was great, great value, staff was excellent!!!

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joweeb
Maryland
Oct 22, 2012

Great Location

Nice hotel, comfy beds, close to everything. Would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andrew Taylor
Seattle, WA
May 17, 2010

Just what you need: nothing more, nothin

Heating in our room didn't work. Called front desk. Engineer came in 5 minutes. Couldn't fix it. Moved us to another room: took another 5 minutes. Speedy & efficient, as was check-in, check-out and maid service. Nothing special, just a good simple, clean, quiet room. Alarmed at first that we were next to the elevator, but there was no noise from it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

YOU NEED A CHECK BOX ON THIS FORM FOR "NOT APPLICABLE" eg How do you rate amenities if you had no need to try any?

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey
Aug 19, 2009

Wonderful hotel

I liked the size of the room. The bathroom was super small, but clean. The bar/restaurant was covered by friendly staff and clean. The only thing that disappointed me was the location was a little farther from the sites I wanted to be close to. The map showing the location was a little misleading. Price was competitive with others of its class.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Ruth Chris's Steakhouse where the steaks are unbelieveable.

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andrew Taylor
Seattle, WA
May 17, 2010

Just what you need: nothing more, nothin

Heating in our room didn't work. Called front desk. Engineer came in 5 minutes. Couldn't fix it. Moved us to another room: took another 5 minutes. Speedy & efficient, as was check-in, check-out and maid service. Nothing special, just a good simple, clean, quiet room. Alarmed at first that we were next to the elevator, but there was no noise from it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

YOU NEED A CHECK BOX ON THIS FORM FOR "NOT APPLICABLE" eg How do you rate amenities if you had no need to try any?

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karma
Business
Arizona, USA
Sep 21, 2011

Came for the run stayed for the fun

I came to town for the Rock n Roll marathon and have never been to philly. The room service was substandard one of the times we ordered it but the staff was very quick to apologize and they comped us that days room service and another days breakfast so overall I was happy. The gym is nice enough and compared to some of the other hotels in the area the interior and rooms are very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karma
Business
Arizona, USA
Sep 21, 2011

Came for the run stayed for the fun

I came to town for the Rock n Roll marathon and have never been to philly. The room service was substandard one of the times we ordered it but the staff was very quick to apologize and they comped us that days room service and another days breakfast so overall I was happy. The gym is nice enough and compared to some of the other hotels in the area the interior and rooms are very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Burbank, CA
Feb 28, 2010

Met my needs

Wished there was a doorman, i got stuck in the rotating door with my luggage, but the front desk ladies were great. very nice and helpful. The bellman was ok, not great. i called for room service at 3ish my 2nd day and they said it wouldnt be available until 5-530. i didnt know what that meant. i was wondering how you can not serve room service... the location was great, 2 blocks from the liberty mall and theres a 24hr diner right next to the hotel which came in handy, since room service ends at 11pm. Also, there is a cafe in the hotel and a restaurant. i liked that a lot. I dont like room service while i stay in hotels, i was there 5-6 days, and housekeeping left a bag of new towels at my door 1/2 way through my trip, NOW THATS SERVICE! i was impressed by that. overall great stay. oh btw, no mini bar nor fridge in the room, BUT they do have snack and soda vending machines!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

24hr diner next to the hotel, nice ladies there!

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brakitman
New Haven, Ct
Dec 29, 2009

A great stop half way to Virginia Beach

Our visit was two days before Christmas and we were able to walk to and shop at the Gallery and holiday craft booths setup around City Hall. The hotel's location made these things possible as well as allowing us to be very rested from sleeping in their comfortable king size bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
May 27, 2009

The right location

Great staff, everyone was very friendly. Room was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top