$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

4 stars
1800 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
169 reviews
great stay

I stayed at this hotel with my daughter for a college audition. The room was clean and comfortable... See full review

  • Gail T.
  • Dec 9, 2013
nice hotel

That's nice and a pleasent stay here. While the internet access was not that so good. See full review

  • canguang
  • Nov 30, 2013
The Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia makes the most of its Center City location, with a rooftop pool looking out over the skyline. In-room video games, movies and extra considerations like quiet-zone floors for working during the week make it a favorite for those in Philly on business. Funky decor in various shades of red signifies the lounge areas, and cityscape prints adorn the bed-heads in the rooms. Cafe Express is handy for grabbing something on the way out of the lobby, but if you've got more time on your hands, Rittenhouse Square eateries are just beyond the hotel steps, whether you're craving a Philly cheesesteak or some English-style pub grub.
Key facts
  • 445 guestrooms
  • High-speed Internet access (fees may apply)
  • In-room dining
  • 24-hour business center
  • 24-hour fitness center and complimentary passes to Philadelphia Sports Club gym
  • 16 meeting rooms
  • Liberty Ballroom for weddings and social events
  • Rooftop swimming pool, open from June to September
  • On-site ATM
Neighborhood
Situated on Market Street in downtown Philadelphia, the Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia puts guests on the doorstep of monumental US attractions like the Liberty Bell Center, Independence Hall and the National Constitution Center. For family fun, take the kids to Franklin Square for a carousel ride or to the Philadelphia Zoo in Fairmont Park to the north for close encounters with exotic animals. Depending on the season, sports fans can cheer on Philadelphia's football, hockey or baseball teams at venues like Lincoln Financial Field (Philadelphia Eagles) located within a four-mile-radius of the hotel.
Hints and tips
If you need accommodations for disabled travelers, ask about one of the 17 ADA-compliant rooms available in the building.

Consider an Executive Club Floor upgrade if the idea of a private lounge, complimentary breakfast service, and evening refreshments sounds too tempting to ignore.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.9532 -75.17
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 8.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia Rooms

Deluxe Queen City View
Deluxe Queen City View 336 Sq Ft - Queen bed Various Views of Center City
Deluxe ADA King Bathtub
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA King Communication
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA Queen Communication
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA Two Queen Comm Shwr
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA King Comm Shower
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA Two Queen Bathtub
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA Two Queen Comm
Description not provided
Deluxe King City View
Deluxe King City View -336 Sq Ft - King Bed Various views of Center City
Deluxe Two Queen City View
Deluxe Two Queen City View - 336 Sq Ft Various Views of Center City
Club Queen City View
Club Queen City View - access to club lounge Various Views of Center City
Club King City View
Club King City View - Access to club lounge. Various views of Center City
Club Two Queen City View
Club 2 Queen City View - Access to club lounge Various views of Center City
Junior Ste King Sofa City View
Junior Ste King Sofa City View - King Bed- Sofabed - Various Views of Center City
Club One Bedroom Ste King Sofa
Description not provided
Hospitality Ste Sofa Coty View
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.3 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.3 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1.1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1.1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.2 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.3 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.4 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.6 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.7 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.7 mi

Dining

Room Service
Available From 6am-1pm and 330pm-11pm- From Full Menu
Public House
Sports Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (169)

Ratings and reviews for Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
169 out of 169
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
berean86wp
washington, dc
Jun 25, 2012

It's not true that you get what you pay for! I got better

My stay was so over the top in terms of my contentment with my stay that I almost feel like I stole something. The room was comfortable, clean, packed with amenities, and the staff to a person was pleasant. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

beautiful outdoor bar half a block away. Septa 1/2 a block away.

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Harrisburg
Apr 8, 2011

Girls weekend in Philly

The location was great. Only 2 miles from the train station and walking distance to most attractions. The staff was awesome. The beds we had were older box springs and mattresses comfy but not plush. The room was very clean. I do not recommend eating at the hotel pub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The casino at the waterfront.

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boppyjo
Avondale AZ
Jun 7, 2010

great hotel

The hotel was great and the staff was very pleasant and helpful. The only downside was the parking fee. This was not made known to me before I arrived. I wish i had known i may have picked a different hotel as it was $33 for 24 hours and i was there for 3 days so that did add up. The parking staff was great..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JKSV
New York City
Jun 30, 2012

College Trip

Central location, easy to explore the city on foot. Close to train stations making it easy to get to and from the hotel by train quickly. Rooftop pool was lots of fun. Rooms are on the small side and could use some updating. Lobby cafe was convenient for a quick breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NJAdam
Princeton, NJ
Apr 9, 2013

Nice hotel and very friendly, helpful staff!

We were in Philly for a weekend getaway without the kids. We stayed in a room on the 24th floor (yes, do get a room as high up as possible to avoid street noise). Was told the room was "renovated" one, but it didn't look it - it still had the 1980s thermostat (as opposed to newer digital ones), but it was by no means "shabby" or old in quality. But I would be disappointed if this is what they call renovated. In any case, the room was comfortable. My wife liked the shampoo and other toiletries. There was no mini fridge in the room. I think that you can call the front desk and request one, though (not sure as we didn't need one and didn't bother to look into it). Location wise, this is great - it's centrally located between the museums and the constitutional attractions; about 20 minute walk in either direction. It's also convenient to the subway and bus stops. When we checked in, they gave us free access to their "Sonesta Club" which they were promoting heavily. Basically it's their frequent traveler club in which you earn extra amenities and benefits the more you travel. You also have access to the Club Lounge which was actually pretty good. We were told they had various snacks and non-aloholic drinks available throughout the day, but we found it was a bit more! On every occasion we went they had at least 1 hot h'ordeuvres and fresh fruit, plus a good selection of snacks and bottled drinks - they even offered us a complimentary beer or wine on each visit to the lounge. We ended eating breakfast there both mornings and one evening we even had our dinner their because the beef tenderloin wrapped in bacon was pretty filling! So win there in that we saved some good money on at least three meals. A couple things to note: the pool is only outside, so no swimming off season. the gym has a few treadmills and exercise machine, plus weights - standard fare for a hotel. Valet parking is a bit expensive, but you do have in-out privileges and it's a bit more safe than some of the cheaper overnight parking you can find on the street. All in all, we would definitely stay again at this Sonesta, and will most likely check out other Sonestas in other states (after all, we're members of the "club" :) ) Happy Travels!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Sign up for the free Sonesta Club and then have a free breakfast in the morning, and access to snacks throughout the day!

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BBurt
New York City
Mar 31, 2014

Really perfect location and a place to call home

This place couldn't be in a better part of Philly. Seriously. Right in the heart of Philly's Center City, it' also not to far from University City is you want to venture that way for a bit. Really incredible restaurants and shops just a couple of short blocks away. And really comfy rooms. Very happy with our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JA2013
Business
Sydney, Australia
Dec 15, 2013

Great hotel right in the heart of Philly

I stayed for two nights. The hotel was great and it was close to everything - easy walk from the station if you are travelling on the Amtrak, and walking distance to shops, restaurants and bars. Awesome, would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mexico
Jan 4, 2010

Crowne Plaza Philadelphia

very pleasant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Philadelphia Lover
Rockville, MD
Mar 31, 2013

Great hotel in Center City

Close to Rittenhouse Square, within walking distance of tons of stores & restaurants. Cozy room, good parking deal. Would recommend the Sonesta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
marine4life
Business
Tennessee
Dec 23, 2010

Great Location

Over all the hotel experience was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent Traveler 101
Jersey City, New Jersey
Jun 28, 2012

Great weekend trip

The hotel room were very comfortable, the staff was very helpful and patient and the hotel was situated in a perfect location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

De Nardo's Seafood was the best!! Food was great, great value, staff was excellent!!!

Back to menu Return to top