$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2014 Check-out: Sep 6, 2014

Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

4 stars
1800 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
120 reviews
Loved the hotel and staff !! Would stay there anytime again

Fresh remodeled and AWSOME service. The staff was very helpfull and friendly .. Bed is very... See full review

  • Tanmye
  • Jul 19, 2014
great stay

I stayed at this hotel with my daughter for a college audition. The room was clean and comfortable... See full review

  • Gail T.
  • Dec 9, 2013
The Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia makes the most of its Center City location, with a rooftop pool looking out over the skyline. In-room video games, movies and extra considerations like quiet-zone floors for working during the week make it a favorite for those in Philly on business. Funky decor in various shades of red signifies the lounge areas, and cityscape prints adorn the bed-heads in the rooms. Cafe Express is handy for grabbing something on the way out of the lobby, but if you've got more time on your hands, Rittenhouse Square eateries are just beyond the hotel steps, whether you're craving a Philly cheesesteak or some English-style pub grub.
Key facts
  • 445 guestrooms
  • High-speed Internet access (fees may apply)
  • In-room dining
  • 24-hour business center
  • 24-hour fitness center and complimentary passes to Philadelphia Sports Club gym
  • 16 meeting rooms
  • Liberty Ballroom for weddings and social events
  • Rooftop swimming pool, open from June to September
  • On-site ATM
Neighborhood
Situated on Market Street in downtown Philadelphia, the Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia puts guests on the doorstep of monumental US attractions like the Liberty Bell Center, Independence Hall and the National Constitution Center. For family fun, take the kids to Franklin Square for a carousel ride or to the Philadelphia Zoo in Fairmont Park to the north for close encounters with exotic animals. Depending on the season, sports fans can cheer on Philadelphia's football, hockey or baseball teams at venues like Lincoln Financial Field (Philadelphia Eagles) located within a four-mile-radius of the hotel.
Hints and tips
If you need accommodations for disabled travelers, ask about one of the 17 ADA-compliant rooms available in the building.

Consider an Executive Club Floor upgrade if the idea of a private lounge, complimentary breakfast service, and evening refreshments sounds too tempting to ignore.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.9532 -75.17
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 8.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia Rooms

Deluxe Queen City View
Deluxe Queen City View 336 Sq Ft - Queen bed Various Views of Center City
Deluxe ADA King Bathtub
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA King Communication
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA Queen Communication
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA Two Queen Comm Shwr
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA King Comm Shower
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA Two Queen Bathtub
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA Two Queen Comm
Description not provided
Deluxe King City View
Deluxe King City View -336 Sq Ft - King Bed Various views of Center City
Deluxe Two Queen City View
Deluxe Two Queen City View - 336 Sq Ft Various Views of Center City
Club Queen City View
Club Queen City View - access to club lounge Various Views of Center City
Club King City View
Club King City View - Access to club lounge. Various views of Center City
Club Two Queen City View
Club 2 Queen City View - Access to club lounge Various views of Center City
Junior Ste King Sofa City View
Junior Ste King Sofa City View - King Bed- Sofabed - Various Views of Center City
Club One Bedroom Ste King Sofa
One bedroom Suite with connecting King bedroom
Hospitality Ste Sofa Coty View
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.3 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.3 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1.1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1.1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.2 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.3 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.4 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.6 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.7 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.7 mi

Dining

Room Service
Available From 6am-1pm and 330pm-11pm- From Full Menu
Public House
Sports Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (120)

Ratings and reviews for Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
120 out of 120
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bizkid
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Apr 22, 2013

Comfortable, Well-Located, Friendly Staff

Room was very comfortable, with a great mattress and just-right pillows. Water pressure was a little low in the shower, but had plenty of hot water. The room was clean and comfortable, except for a little dust in the corners of the room where it hadn't been completely vacuumed in some time. The only problem I had was with the door lock, where either the tumblers are wearing out or it needs a new battery, but the handle would only open consistently by pulling the handle up, and only sometimes pushing down. I slept very well, the room temperature was just right, and I'd definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Cafe Express shop in the hotel makes a much better breakfast sandwich than the Elephant & Castle, for half the price.

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The awesomes.
NY
Apr 22, 2013

Can do so much better

I was under the impression that this place is highly rated and expected that when arriving. Well - I don't really know where all the high rates are from. The location is great - I'll give them that. First, they put us an a wheelchair accessible room. Though I am sure is very suited for some - was very uncomfortable to us. We asked to move, and they moved us 2 rooms down. The shower was not working very well and the room looks like it was not updated in many years - It had a TV the belonged in a museum. For the second night, our room was surrounded by some sort of a convention for 13 year old girls. They had all the rooms around us - left right and front and it was load! I would expect the hotel to apply some thinking before arranging the gust room as such. I have no doubt the place was not 100% full and they could have done better. My husband is not one to complain to anyone and did not want to move so we did not say much - but I know one thing - I will not come back to this hotel - unless they cut the rates in half.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Village Whisky - Best burger ever!

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EDubb
Baltimore, MD, USA
Apr 13, 2013

Weekend getaway

I came to Philly to visit. The hotel is close to the 30th Street train station. They put me in a room next to construction that was going on and I had to be moved. There's a $50 per night incidental charge when you get to the hotel. They moved me to a new room. Room service was excellent. The breakfast lounge was was a very nice touch. The pub by the lobby can get to be really loud. The bathroom is small and they use dispensers for body wash, shampoo and conditioner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Reading Terminal has some of the BEST and reasonably priced food!

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NJAdam
Princeton, NJ
Apr 9, 2013

Nice hotel and very friendly, helpful staff!

We were in Philly for a weekend getaway without the kids. We stayed in a room on the 24th floor (yes, do get a room as high up as possible to avoid street noise). Was told the room was "renovated" one, but it didn't look it - it still had the 1980s thermostat (as opposed to newer digital ones), but it was by no means "shabby" or old in quality. But I would be disappointed if this is what they call renovated. In any case, the room was comfortable. My wife liked the shampoo and other toiletries. There was no mini fridge in the room. I think that you can call the front desk and request one, though (not sure as we didn't need one and didn't bother to look into it). Location wise, this is great - it's centrally located between the museums and the constitutional attractions; about 20 minute walk in either direction. It's also convenient to the subway and bus stops. When we checked in, they gave us free access to their "Sonesta Club" which they were promoting heavily. Basically it's their frequent traveler club in which you earn extra amenities and benefits the more you travel. You also have access to the Club Lounge which was actually pretty good. We were told they had various snacks and non-aloholic drinks available throughout the day, but we found it was a bit more! On every occasion we went they had at least 1 hot h'ordeuvres and fresh fruit, plus a good selection of snacks and bottled drinks - they even offered us a complimentary beer or wine on each visit to the lounge. We ended eating breakfast there both mornings and one evening we even had our dinner their because the beef tenderloin wrapped in bacon was pretty filling! So win there in that we saved some good money on at least three meals. A couple things to note: the pool is only outside, so no swimming off season. the gym has a few treadmills and exercise machine, plus weights - standard fare for a hotel. Valet parking is a bit expensive, but you do have in-out privileges and it's a bit more safe than some of the cheaper overnight parking you can find on the street. All in all, we would definitely stay again at this Sonesta, and will most likely check out other Sonestas in other states (after all, we're members of the "club" :) ) Happy Travels!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Sign up for the free Sonesta Club and then have a free breakfast in the morning, and access to snacks throughout the day!

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Philadelphia Lover
Rockville, MD
Mar 31, 2013

Great hotel in Center City

Close to Rittenhouse Square, within walking distance of tons of stores & restaurants. Cozy room, good parking deal. Would recommend the Sonesta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
YA traveler
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Mar 27, 2013

Trip with friends

The hotel was convenient, well maintained, and the staff was helpful and friendly. A bachelorette party was staying on our floor so it was a little loud and parking was very expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Erri
long island, ny
Mar 14, 2013

ehh

the tv was older than my grandma's! the bed was uncomfortable. the rug did not feel like it was vacuumed, for the whole week we were there. when we asked for towels to be brought up the staff member that brought them up had an attitude. when i called and asked about parking i was told by a staff member when i called that it would be one flat rate for the valet for those who stayed at the hotel, but then when we arrived we were told that it wasn't and they didn't even offer a discount or anything. i liked the location of the hotel and just wished we had a better room and more accommodating staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gosh333
Business
Illinois
Mar 13, 2013

Fell through the cracks

I arrived before the room was ready. There was no quiet place to work while waiting. Then after I checked in, I got stuck in an elevator for 30 minutes and had to be rescued. Then after checking in I found that Internet wasn't available in the room, so the hotel moved me to another room. Just after moving into that room, another guest arrived saying it was their room - they had just checked in and had a key. I was given a breakfast voucher for my trouble. I couldn't stay for breakfast next morning and asked if I could use it for dinner instead. The answer was no.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ivy love
Bethlehem pa
Mar 11, 2013

Great value great price awesome hotel

The staff was great willing to help in all my needs even directing me to good places to go eat,shop and relaxation . They definitely went the extra mile . The hotel itself was very nice I was sure for the price that I wouldn't like it but I was wrong ... Decent place to stay will stay again ....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gergg
Business
Connecticut
Jan 18, 2013

Pretty Ordinary

Very ordinary. Just missing something if you're looking for a nice place. Fine for a quick over night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search