$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2014 Check-out: Apr 20, 2014

Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

4 stars
1800 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
114 reviews
great stay

I stayed at this hotel with my daughter for a college audition. The room was clean and comfortable... See full review

  • Gail T.
  • Dec 9, 2013
nice hotel

That's nice and a pleasent stay here. While the internet access was not that so good. See full review

  • canguang
  • Nov 30, 2013
Restful Center City location conveniently close to shopping and dining
The Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia in downtown Philadelphia offers a convenient location for business or leisure travel. Just a few blocks north of Rittenhouse Square, shopping and dining options are plentiful. Hotel amenities include free apples and coffee in the spacious new lobby; complimentary high-speed Internet access; an on-site 24-hour fitness center; free access to nearby Philadelphia Sports Club and an outdoor pool. Nonsmoking guest rooms with comfortable bedding and unique amenities make for a restful night.
Highlights:
  • Outdoor pool, on-site 24-hour fitness center, complimentary access to nearby Philadelphia Sports Club
  • Central downtown location close to Rittenhouse Square, City Hall and the Cultural District
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • Floors with quiet-zone rules in place on weeknights from evening through late morning, with no housekeeping during those times unless requested
Rooms:

The completely nonsmoking Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia offers 443 guestrooms and two suites, all decorated in muted tones and dark-wood furniture. Standard amenities include complimentary high-speed Internet access; comfortable beds with pillow-top mattresses and luxury linens; work-station desks with lamps; televisions with premium channels and pay movies; coffeemakers; hairdryers and irons with ironing boards.

Features:

The hotel provides guests with tastefully appointed rooms and suites with modern amenities such as complimentary wireless Internet access, cable/satellite TV with in-room movies and video games, telephone with voice mail, free local calls, desk and chair, iron and ironing board as well as coffee maker. Suites come with separate sitting area.

Dining

Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia does not have an on-site restaurant but diners can sample local and international cuisines at nearby food outlets. Room service is available.

Transportation:
  • SEPTA Subway Suburban Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (9.3 mi/15 km)
Attractions:
  • Rittenhouse Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • City Hall (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Historic District (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
Business:
  • Multiple conference/meeting rooms
  • Dedicated meetings director
  • Business Center
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Catering services
  • Audio/visual equipment
Policies and Fees
  • Room service is available from 6:00 AM to 1:00 PM and 3:30 PM to 11:00 PM.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia Rooms

ADA Hearing Impaired Club Floor
ADA Hearing Impaired Club Floor King - 336 sq ft- ADA Tub - Free Wi Fi
One Bedroom Suite King
One bedroom suite king- 1 king Free internet access
Traditional Guestroom with One Q
Traditional Guestroom with One Queen Bed - 219 Sq Ft - Free Wi Fi - Coffeemaker
Traditional Guestroom with One K
Traditional Guestroom with One King Bed - 336 Sq Ft - Free Wi Fi - Coffeemaker
Traditional Guestroom with 2 Dou
336 sq ft -Two Double Beds - Free Wi Fi - Coffee Maker
Club Level with One Queen Bed
Club Level with One Queen Bed 219 sq ft- Free Wi Fi - Access to Club Lounge - Flat Screen TV
Club Level with One King Bed
Club Level with One King Bed 336 Sq Ft- Free Wi Fi - King bed - Club Lounge Access - Flat Screen TV
Club Level with Two Double Beds
Club Level with Two Double Beds - 336 Sq Ft - Flat Screen TV - Free Wi Fi
ADA King Hearing Impaired Roll-i
ADA King Hearing Impaired Roll-in Shower 336 sq ft - 1 King - Free Wi Fi
ADA King Hearing Impaired with t
ADA King Hearing Impaired with Tub 336 Sq Ft - Removable Tub Seat - TTY Visual Alerts - Free Wi Fi

Amenities

  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.9532 -75.17
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 8.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.3 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.3 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1.1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1.1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.2 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.3 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.4 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.6 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.7 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.7 mi

Dining

Room Service
Available From 6am-1pm and 330pm-11pm- From Full Menu
Public House
Sports Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (114)

Ratings and reviews for Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Overall score

3.6 / 5
114 out of 114
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
PABinMCIN
Business
Michigan City, IN
Jul 26, 2013

Business Stay

Everything went well. Utilized Business Center, which seemed adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
RRempala
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 7, 2013

trip to philly

excellent location right in the city center in close proximity to everything you would ever want to see in philly...a walk away from south philly, the subway if you don't want to walk, just down the street from independence hall and the liberty bell, and of course the beautiful city hall building, has a cool pub in the lobby, close to banks, starbucks, and other restaurants

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Independence Hall

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

2
Sporty Traveler
Business
Chapel Hill
May 26, 2013

Business Trip

Room was very small. Controlling temperature was impossible. Either got too hot or too cold. Not worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
Runner400
PA
May 14, 2013

Saturday Evening in the City

Had a Club room but it was very small, did not even have a lounge chair. Club lounge was just OK. Very pricey room, not good value. Staff was excellent. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

2
The awesomes.
NY
Apr 22, 2013

Can do so much better

I was under the impression that this place is highly rated and expected that when arriving. Well - I don't really know where all the high rates are from. The location is great - I'll give them that. First, they put us an a wheelchair accessible room. Though I am sure is very suited for some - was very uncomfortable to us. We asked to move, and they moved us 2 rooms down. The shower was not working very well and the room looks like it was not updated in many years - It had a TV the belonged in a museum. For the second night, our room was surrounded by some sort of a convention for 13 year old girls. They had all the rooms around us - left right and front and it was load! I would expect the hotel to apply some thinking before arranging the gust room as such. I have no doubt the place was not 100% full and they could have done better. My husband is not one to complain to anyone and did not want to move so we did not say much - but I know one thing - I will not come back to this hotel - unless they cut the rates in half.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Village Whisky - Best burger ever!

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
Bizkid
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Apr 22, 2013

Comfortable, Well-Located, Friendly Staff

Room was very comfortable, with a great mattress and just-right pillows. Water pressure was a little low in the shower, but had plenty of hot water. The room was clean and comfortable, except for a little dust in the corners of the room where it hadn't been completely vacuumed in some time. The only problem I had was with the door lock, where either the tumblers are wearing out or it needs a new battery, but the handle would only open consistently by pulling the handle up, and only sometimes pushing down. I slept very well, the room temperature was just right, and I'd definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Cafe Express shop in the hotel makes a much better breakfast sandwich than the Elephant & Castle, for half the price.

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
EDubb
Baltimore, MD, USA
Apr 13, 2013

Weekend getaway

I came to Philly to visit. The hotel is close to the 30th Street train station. They put me in a room next to construction that was going on and I had to be moved. There's a $50 per night incidental charge when you get to the hotel. They moved me to a new room. Room service was excellent. The breakfast lounge was was a very nice touch. The pub by the lobby can get to be really loud. The bathroom is small and they use dispensers for body wash, shampoo and conditioner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Reading Terminal has some of the BEST and reasonably priced food!

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
NJAdam
Princeton, NJ
Apr 9, 2013

Nice hotel and very friendly, helpful staff!

We were in Philly for a weekend getaway without the kids. We stayed in a room on the 24th floor (yes, do get a room as high up as possible to avoid street noise). Was told the room was "renovated" one, but it didn't look it - it still had the 1980s thermostat (as opposed to newer digital ones), but it was by no means "shabby" or old in quality. But I would be disappointed if this is what they call renovated. In any case, the room was comfortable. My wife liked the shampoo and other toiletries. There was no mini fridge in the room. I think that you can call the front desk and request one, though (not sure as we didn't need one and didn't bother to look into it). Location wise, this is great - it's centrally located between the museums and the constitutional attractions; about 20 minute walk in either direction. It's also convenient to the subway and bus stops. When we checked in, they gave us free access to their "Sonesta Club" which they were promoting heavily. Basically it's their frequent traveler club in which you earn extra amenities and benefits the more you travel. You also have access to the Club Lounge which was actually pretty good. We were told they had various snacks and non-aloholic drinks available throughout the day, but we found it was a bit more! On every occasion we went they had at least 1 hot h'ordeuvres and fresh fruit, plus a good selection of snacks and bottled drinks - they even offered us a complimentary beer or wine on each visit to the lounge. We ended eating breakfast there both mornings and one evening we even had our dinner their because the beef tenderloin wrapped in bacon was pretty filling! So win there in that we saved some good money on at least three meals. A couple things to note: the pool is only outside, so no swimming off season. the gym has a few treadmills and exercise machine, plus weights - standard fare for a hotel. Valet parking is a bit expensive, but you do have in-out privileges and it's a bit more safe than some of the cheaper overnight parking you can find on the street. All in all, we would definitely stay again at this Sonesta, and will most likely check out other Sonestas in other states (after all, we're members of the "club" :) ) Happy Travels!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Sign up for the free Sonesta Club and then have a free breakfast in the morning, and access to snacks throughout the day!

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
Philadelphia Lover
Rockville, MD
Mar 31, 2013

Great hotel in Center City

Close to Rittenhouse Square, within walking distance of tons of stores & restaurants. Cozy room, good parking deal. Would recommend the Sonesta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
YA traveler
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Mar 27, 2013

Trip with friends

The hotel was convenient, well maintained, and the staff was helpful and friendly. A bachelorette party was staying on our floor so it was a little loud and parking was very expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top