Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

4 stars
1800 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
172 reviews
Loved the hotel and staff !! Would stay there anytime again

Fresh remodeled and AWSOME service. The staff was very helpfull and friendly .. Bed is very... See full review

  • Tanmye
  • Jul 19, 2014
great stay

I stayed at this hotel with my daughter for a college audition. The room was clean and comfortable... See full review

  • Gail T.
  • Dec 9, 2013
The Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia makes the most of its Center City location, with a rooftop pool looking out over the skyline. In-room video games, movies and extra considerations like quiet-zone floors for working during the week make it a favorite for those in Philly on business. Funky decor in various shades of red signifies the lounge areas, and cityscape prints adorn the bed-heads in the rooms. Cafe Express is handy for grabbing something on the way out of the lobby, but if you've got more time on your hands, Rittenhouse Square eateries are just beyond the hotel steps, whether you're craving a Philly cheesesteak or some English-style pub grub.
Key facts
  • 445 guestrooms
  • High-speed Internet access (fees may apply)
  • In-room dining
  • 24-hour business center
  • 24-hour fitness center and complimentary passes to Philadelphia Sports Club gym
  • 16 meeting rooms
  • Liberty Ballroom for weddings and social events
  • Rooftop swimming pool, open from June to September
  • On-site ATM
Neighborhood
Situated on Market Street in downtown Philadelphia, the Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia puts guests on the doorstep of monumental US attractions like the Liberty Bell Center, Independence Hall and the National Constitution Center. For family fun, take the kids to Franklin Square for a carousel ride or to the Philadelphia Zoo in Fairmont Park to the north for close encounters with exotic animals. Depending on the season, sports fans can cheer on Philadelphia's football, hockey or baseball teams at venues like Lincoln Financial Field (Philadelphia Eagles) located within a four-mile-radius of the hotel.
Hints and tips
If you need accommodations for disabled travelers, ask about one of the 17 ADA-compliant rooms available in the building.

Consider an Executive Club Floor upgrade if the idea of a private lounge, complimentary breakfast service, and evening refreshments sounds too tempting to ignore.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia Rooms

Deluxe Queen City View
Deluxe Queen City View 336 Sq Ft - Queen bed Various Views of Center City
Deluxe ADA King Bathtub
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA King Communication
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA Queen Communication
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA Two Queen Comm Shwr
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA King Comm Shower
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA Two Queen Bathtub
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA Two Queen Comm
Description not provided
Deluxe King City View
Deluxe King City View -336 Sq Ft - King Bed Various views of Center City
Deluxe Two Queen City View
Deluxe Two Queen City View - 336 Sq Ft Various Views of Center City
Club Queen City View
Club Queen City View - access to club lounge Various Views of Center City
Club King City View
Club King City View - Access to club lounge. Various views of Center City
Club Two Queen City View
Club 2 Queen City View - Access to club lounge Various views of Center City
Junior Ste King Sofa City View
Junior Ste King Sofa City View - King Bed- Sofabed - Various Views of Center City
Club One Bedroom Ste King Sofa
One bedroom Suite with connecting King bedroom
Hospitality Ste Sofa Coty View
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Hotel Map

39.9532 -75.17
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 8.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.3 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.3 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1.1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1.1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.2 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.3 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.4 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.6 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.7 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.7 mi

Dining

Room Service
Available From 6am-1pm and 330pm-11pm- From Full Menu
Public House
Sports Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (172)

Ratings and reviews for Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
172 out of 172
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The awesomes.
NY
Apr 22, 2013

Can do so much better

I was under the impression that this place is highly rated and expected that when arriving. Well - I don't really know where all the high rates are from. The location is great - I'll give them that. First, they put us an a wheelchair accessible room. Though I am sure is very suited for some - was very uncomfortable to us. We asked to move, and they moved us 2 rooms down. The shower was not working very well and the room looks like it was not updated in many years - It had a TV the belonged in a museum. For the second night, our room was surrounded by some sort of a convention for 13 year old girls. They had all the rooms around us - left right and front and it was load! I would expect the hotel to apply some thinking before arranging the gust room as such. I have no doubt the place was not 100% full and they could have done better. My husband is not one to complain to anyone and did not want to move so we did not say much - but I know one thing - I will not come back to this hotel - unless they cut the rates in half.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Village Whisky - Best burger ever!

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Apr 11, 2011

Control the noise!

I arrived at the hotel late in the evening -- early morning meeting in Philadelphia brought me to town the night before. Two parties were overflowing, noisily from the bar. I asked the front desk to give me a room far enough away so I could grab a few hours of sleep and be refreshed for my meeting. They put me on the 10th floor, in a room next to the elevator -- on the floor where the hosts of the two parties were staying. The ruckus on the floor when the parties moved upstairs continued throughout the early morning hours. Needless to say, I didn't get much sleep -- the meetings the next day were very difficult!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tinto Restaurant and Wine Bar -- amazing! [@]

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Morel
Business
Miami, Florida
Aug 12, 2009

The good, the bad and the ugly

The hotel was clean, clear, quite. The stuff was friendly, courteos and helpfull. But rooms don't have mini bar and either wi-fi internet. Only on the lobby they have wi-fi. On Hotel television there is not Multi language tv. Nothing in Spanish, French, German, etc., just English. I saw many Germans tourists at the Pub having breakfast and talking in German

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

none

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Jun 26, 2011

The good and the bad

The hotel was in a nice location in Philadelphia that is central to all the tourist sites. The amenities are good. The problem with the hotel was the room was too small. The furniture took up the room and there wasn't much room to move around. There was only one chair to sit in the room otherwise, you would need to sit on the bed. I definately would not stay at this crowne plaza.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JG Hugo
New Haven, CT
Oct 24, 2011

It sounded good in the reviews

We skipped our usual Philly hotel for this and we regretted it. Lobby and receptionist lacked charm or interest; room was not as clean as you'd like, but upholstered furniture was the worst; lighting was bad and air was stale.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Daffy's in Philadelphia is their best store!

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nicccccc
New Jersey
Feb 18, 2014

OKAY

There is some constrauction going on in the hotel which made the stay uncomfortably annoying to say the least, expect construction noise from 8 am-5pm, what seems like one working elevator, no lobby, and staff with a nasty attitude at the front desk. In no way was it a 4 star experience.. will not be staying again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Apr 11, 2011

Control the noise!

I arrived at the hotel late in the evening -- early morning meeting in Philadelphia brought me to town the night before. Two parties were overflowing, noisily from the bar. I asked the front desk to give me a room far enough away so I could grab a few hours of sleep and be refreshed for my meeting. They put me on the 10th floor, in a room next to the elevator -- on the floor where the hosts of the two parties were staying. The ruckus on the floor when the parties moved upstairs continued throughout the early morning hours. Needless to say, I didn't get much sleep -- the meetings the next day were very difficult!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tinto Restaurant and Wine Bar -- amazing! [@]

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
From Another City
Washington, DC
May 5, 2014

Comfortable bed, convenient location but very old interior

The hotel was under construction, which we didn't receive any notice in advance. The room we received had a very old carpet with black marks, and the bathroom reminded me of an old dormitory bathroom. The sink was leaking too. Apparently the hotel needs an entire makeover but didn't want to close down the whole hotel. The door/wall was not soundproof as I woke up in the middle of night because some people were coming in after midnight and getting ice from the ice machine near our room. Also with the amount we paid, we would expect at least complimentary water bottle, toothbrush or a pair of slippers. Other than those, the beds were clean and comfortable, and the staff who got us a taxi and took us downstairs was very kind. The hotel's location was superb. 10-15 min walk to major tourist spots! Once renovation is done in every hotel room, I'll do come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

One-day tour itinerary: Reserve tickets for Independence Hall tour in advance (through website), get breakfast/brunch at Reading Terminal Market, and walk to Independence Hall. Once you are done with tour, get on a bus near Independence Hall visitor center to go to Philadelphia Museum of Art. Get dinner around Rittenhouse Square (18th and Walnut st).

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Lauderdale
Apr 18, 2011

Showing its age.

This hotel is in a great business location and is a bit less expensive than surrounding hotels, however, the rooms are small and the entire place can use a renovation. No one likes to look up from his bed and see multiple water stains on the ceiling. There is a musty smell in the hallways and the rooms. The on-site restaurant is mediocre. Positives: Very professional and helpful staff. Free access to a health club across the stress is a bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MVikta
Washington, DC, USA
Dec 14, 2011

Basic

This hotel was basic goodness. The location was acceptable and it was clean. I do not have strong feelings about it. On the one hand, it did the job. On the other, it was nothing to write home about. Basic goodness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Aubrey Clairs. Good byob place.

Back to menu Return to top