$122 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 27, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

4 stars
1800 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
132 reviews
Dad and 2 teenage sons

This was a wonderful experience for my boys and I. We came to Philly for the Eagles vs Seattle... See full review

  • DieHard Seattle Fans
  • Dec 8, 2014
Last minute get away

Second stay at the hotel, everything always clean, staff friendly, great place See full review

  • Jg10025
  • Oct 14, 2014
The Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia offers 445 well-appointed guest rooms- 24-hour fitness center- roof top swimming pool- and 16000 square feet of meeting space. The hotel is a wonderful location from which to explore the nearby historic attractions- professional sporting events and exciting dining and nightlife the city of Philadelphia and the hotels downtown neighborhood have to offer

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia Rooms

Club ADA King Pres Ste Comm Sh
1030 SQ FT SUITE
Club Two Queen City View
Club 2 Queen City View - Access to club lounge Various views of Center City
Junior Ste King Sofa City View
Junior Ste King Sofa City View - King Bed- Sofabed - Various Views of Center City
Club One Bedroom Ste King Sofa
One bedroom Suite with connecting King bedroom
Hospitality Ste Sofa Coty View
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA King Bathtub
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA King Communication
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA Queen Communication
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA Two Queen Comm Shwr
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA King Comm Shower
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA Two Queen Bathtub
Description not provided
Club Junior Ste King Sofabed
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA Two Queen Comm
Description not provided
Club Level One Bedroom Suite Kin
ADA MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE RI SHWR COMMUNICATIONS
Deluxe King Hospitality Ste Cn
Option to connect to a Deluxe King Guestroom
Deluxe Queen City View
Deluxe Queen City View 336 Sq Ft - Queen bed Various Views of Center City
Deluxe King City View
Deluxe King City View -336 Sq Ft - King Bed Various views of Center City
Deluxe Two Queen City View
Deluxe Two Queen City View - 336 Sq Ft Various Views of Center City
Club Queen City View
Club Queen City View - access to club lounge Various Views of Center City
Club King City View
Club King City View - Access to club lounge. Various views of Center City

Amenities

  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.3 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.3 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1.1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1.1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.2 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.3 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.4 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.6 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.7 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.7 mi

Dining

Room Service
Available From 6am-1pm and 330pm-11pm- From Full Menu
Public House
Sports Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (132)

Ratings and reviews for Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
132 out of 132
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
From Another City
Business
Washington, DC
May 5, 2014

Comfortable bed, convenient location but very old interior

The hotel was under construction, which we didn't receive any notice in advance. The room we received had a very old carpet with black marks, and the bathroom reminded me of an old dormitory bathroom. The sink was leaking too. Apparently the hotel needs an entire makeover but didn't want to close down the whole hotel. The door/wall was not soundproof as I woke up in the middle of night because some people were coming in after midnight and getting ice from the ice machine near our room. Also with the amount we paid, we would expect at least complimentary water bottle, toothbrush or a pair of slippers. Other than those, the beds were clean and comfortable, and the staff who got us a taxi and took us downstairs was very kind. The hotel's location was superb. 10-15 min walk to major tourist spots! Once renovation is done in every hotel room, I'll do come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

One-day tour itinerary: Reserve tickets for Independence Hall tour in advance (through website), get breakfast/brunch at Reading Terminal Market, and walk to Independence Hall. Once you are done with tour, get on a bus near Independence Hall visitor center to go to Philadelphia Museum of Art. Get dinner around Rittenhouse Square (18th and Walnut st).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Morel
Business
Miami, Florida
Aug 12, 2009

The good, the bad and the ugly

The hotel was clean, clear, quite. The stuff was friendly, courteos and helpfull. But rooms don't have mini bar and either wi-fi internet. Only on the lobby they have wi-fi. On Hotel television there is not Multi language tv. Nothing in Spanish, French, German, etc., just English. I saw many Germans tourists at the Pub having breakfast and talking in German

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

none

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jun 26, 2011

The good and the bad

The hotel was in a nice location in Philadelphia that is central to all the tourist sites. The amenities are good. The problem with the hotel was the room was too small. The furniture took up the room and there wasn't much room to move around. There was only one chair to sit in the room otherwise, you would need to sit on the bed. I definately would not stay at this crowne plaza.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Apr 11, 2011

Control the noise!

I arrived at the hotel late in the evening -- early morning meeting in Philadelphia brought me to town the night before. Two parties were overflowing, noisily from the bar. I asked the front desk to give me a room far enough away so I could grab a few hours of sleep and be refreshed for my meeting. They put me on the 10th floor, in a room next to the elevator -- on the floor where the hosts of the two parties were staying. The ruckus on the floor when the parties moved upstairs continued throughout the early morning hours. Needless to say, I didn't get much sleep -- the meetings the next day were very difficult!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tinto Restaurant and Wine Bar -- amazing! [@]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greencastle, IN
Apr 6, 2011

All Business

The hotel staff were all very friendly. They were very prompt and did everything they could to make my stay a pleasant one. my last night there the wind was blowing very hard as a storm came through, being on the top floor you could hear it all over. The hotel staff very quickly and pleasantly got me a different room on a lower floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take a cab!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MVikta
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Dec 14, 2011

Basic

This hotel was basic goodness. The location was acceptable and it was clean. I do not have strong feelings about it. On the one hand, it did the job. On the other, it was nothing to write home about. Basic goodness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Aubrey Clairs. Good byob place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ernsty
Business
Schweiz
Jan 15, 2012

Winter Classics stay 2012

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza for the NHL Winter Classics. The Hotel was OK, but we didn't get what we payed for. Compared to what other downton Hotels cost, the Crowne Plaza is to expensive. A big minus is that the breakfast is not includet and there's no complimentary Hotel shuttle to the Airport. The rooms need a renovation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Elephant and Castle Pub in the Hotel. Great food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
College Librarian
Business
Williamsburg, VA, USA
Mar 5, 2012

Location, Location, Location... and that is it!

The hotel room and its bathroom were actually quite small. Especially the bathroom (tiny). TV needs to be updated... Still using a "big tube" set. Valet parking was confusing, especially when retrieving the car. Location can't be beat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's is in a must see building

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jladrae1
Business
Alexandria, VA
Jul 9, 2012

Valet is awful

The pool had a lot of pigeons around it and didn't seem clean. However, the hotel itself was pretty nice. My issue was the valet. There was nobody in line and it takes them a turnaround time of 15-30 minutes to get your car and you cannot call ahead. Secondly, they left my car lights on and my car battery died. Seriously need to re-staff that,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Native Philadelphian
Business
South Carolina
Jun 25, 2012

Sleep Over

I was a little disappointed for the price at this 4star hotel. The room was less than what I'd imagined. The sink was off from the actual bathroom which was a severe waste of space. We could barely turn around in it. We've had regular hotel/motel stays for way less and had the convenience of a microwave and mini refrigerator. This place had neither. Nice, but a little overrated for a one nights stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great food all around you!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top