$122 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 27, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

4 stars
1800 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
131 reviews
Dad and 2 teenage sons

This was a wonderful experience for my boys and I. We came to Philly for the Eagles vs Seattle... See full review

  • DieHard Seattle Fans
  • Dec 8, 2014
Last minute get away

Second stay at the hotel, everything always clean, staff friendly, great place See full review

  • Jg10025
  • Oct 14, 2014
The Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia makes the most of its Center City location, with a rooftop pool looking out over the skyline. In-room video games, movies and extra considerations like quiet-zone floors for working during the week make it a favorite for those in Philly on business. Funky decor in various shades of red signifies the lounge areas, and cityscape prints adorn the bed-heads in the rooms. Cafe Express is handy for grabbing something on the way out of the lobby, but if you've got more time on your hands, Rittenhouse Square eateries are just beyond the hotel steps, whether you're craving a Philly cheesesteak or some English-style pub grub.
Key facts
  • 445 guestrooms
  • High-speed Internet access (fees may apply)
  • In-room dining
  • 24-hour business center
  • 24-hour fitness center and complimentary passes to Philadelphia Sports Club gym
  • 16 meeting rooms
  • Liberty Ballroom for weddings and social events
  • Rooftop swimming pool, open from June to September
  • On-site ATM
Neighborhood
Situated on Market Street in downtown Philadelphia, the Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia puts guests on the doorstep of monumental US attractions like the Liberty Bell Center, Independence Hall and the National Constitution Center. For family fun, take the kids to Franklin Square for a carousel ride or to the Philadelphia Zoo in Fairmont Park to the north for close encounters with exotic animals. Depending on the season, sports fans can cheer on Philadelphia's football, hockey or baseball teams at venues like Lincoln Financial Field (Philadelphia Eagles) located within a four-mile-radius of the hotel.
Hints and tips
If you need accommodations for disabled travelers, ask about one of the 17 ADA-compliant rooms available in the building.

Consider an Executive Club Floor upgrade if the idea of a private lounge, complimentary breakfast service, and evening refreshments sounds too tempting to ignore.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia Rooms

Club ADA King Pres Ste Comm Sh
1030 SQ FT SUITE
Club Two Queen City View
Club 2 Queen City View - Access to club lounge Various views of Center City
Junior Ste King Sofa City View
Junior Ste King Sofa City View - King Bed- Sofabed - Various Views of Center City
Club One Bedroom Ste King Sofa
One bedroom Suite with connecting King bedroom
Hospitality Ste Sofa Coty View
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA King Bathtub
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA King Communication
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA Queen Communication
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA Two Queen Comm Shwr
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA King Comm Shower
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA Two Queen Bathtub
Description not provided
Club Junior Ste King Sofabed
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA Two Queen Comm
Description not provided
Club Level One Bedroom Suite Kin
ADA MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE RI SHWR COMMUNICATIONS
Deluxe King Hospitality Ste Cn
Option to connect to a Deluxe King Guestroom
Deluxe Queen City View
Deluxe Queen City View 336 Sq Ft - Queen bed Various Views of Center City
Deluxe King City View
Deluxe King City View -336 Sq Ft - King Bed Various views of Center City
Deluxe Two Queen City View
Deluxe Two Queen City View - 336 Sq Ft Various Views of Center City
Club Queen City View
Club Queen City View - access to club lounge Various Views of Center City
Club King City View
Club King City View - Access to club lounge. Various views of Center City

Amenities

  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.3 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.3 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1.1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1.1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.2 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.3 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.4 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.6 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.7 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.7 mi

Dining

Room Service
Available From 6am-1pm and 330pm-11pm- From Full Menu
Public House
Sports Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (131)

Ratings and reviews for Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
131 out of 131
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nonaccidental Tourst
Business
Minneapolis
Sep 9, 2014

Great Hotel, Great Location!!!

This hotel was fresh, clean and had a nice friendly vibe and was not pretentious. Rooms were very comfortable. Location was great and inexpensive to get around. We were there as "dedicated tourists". I don't have anything negative to say. I would come back time and again. Very close to many sights and inexpensive by taxi, train or bus or walking. You can walk to many attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Amazing Food in this City and Art

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BrittanyWhyte003
Business
NY, NY
Sep 2, 2014

Not Impressed by any means

I stood at Sonesta for Labor Day last year and for Labor Day this year. They definitely did renovate but I cannot say there was a huge upgrade or that I was majorly impressed. The lobby is spacious, with two small uncomfortable couch/benches (they do not have backs). There is a bellman desk constantly unattended. There were about 4 front desk associates at the front desk when I arrived. One of the associates, a male, was on the phone with a customer when I arrived. The woman next to him offered to help me but had to work off of the computer that was in front of the male. While she helped me I just watched the guy at the desk make faces indicating his annoyance from the customer on the phone. I asked the woman for a good restaurant nearby. She suggested the Midtown Diner and insisted it was better than the food served at the Hotel's restaurant. The Midtown Diner was horrible. They did not serve bottled water, which I wanted after my meal, for the hotel room and night's sleep, so I figured I would get one from the cafe in the hotel. When I got to the hotel I asked the bartender if they served bottled water, he pointed to the fridge. I asked "are you pointing out my options or do i go get one (they were far in the back, by the service station)"? He told me I could pick. I went to open the fridge and it would not open. He told me to pull harder. I moved the entire fridge completely, it was locked. The bartender could care less. He said " that's strange, you can ask the people at the front desk if they have the key, i don't". I walked a few blocks to the nearest Rite Aid for a bottle of water. A hotel servicing hundreds of people did not have one bottle of water to spare. I asked the bartenders what if I called down from my room. His response "well room service ends at 11PM". When I was checking out, about to get my car from the parking lot, I noticed a kiosk to pay for parking. I used the kiosk and paid $109 for my 3 nights. When I returned home I noticed my card was charged twice for parking, once from the kiosk, and again from the hotel directly. Maybe they should put a sign somewhere? I could go on but I do not have time. I work for the highest grossing hospitality group in the country and Sonesta could use a few pointers. Service is everything, without that, the renovation is irrelevant, and I even have suggestions for that. One should go above and beyond. Kill them with kindness. Not a horrible hotel but not worth the price. It's your average hotel chain wrapped in a pretty bow. I am about to call them to go over the cc charges. Can't wait. I will not be staying there next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A.Kitchen = Delicious! Great Service!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tanmye
Business
Pa
Jul 19, 2014

Loved the hotel and staff !! Would stay there anytime again

Fresh remodeled and AWSOME service. The staff was very helpfull and friendly .. Bed is very comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very good food and not expensive at petros family italien restorant !!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TNK45
Business
pennsylvania
Jul 15, 2014

weekend away

No complaints about the hotel other than the bathroom being a little cramped. The remodeled rooms were very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TNK45
Business
pennsylvania
Jul 14, 2014

Weekend Away

The hotel was being renovated but it did not disrupt us during the weekend. The new rooms are very nice and beds are very comfortable.My only complaint was the bathroom being on the small side. The rooms do not have safes. There is a coffee pot and refrigerator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Care1223
Business
Baltimore, MD
Jun 23, 2014

Awful Customer Service!

I will NEVER stay at this Sonesta again, unless they have a major overhaul in their staff. It will be (it was under construction during my stay) a beautiful hotel. Unfortunately, their staff needs work! Our shower tub was not draining well so we were bathing in our filth. They came to drain it while we were gone, but when I got back, I saw that they've left the PLUNGER ON THE SINK COUNTER! it was inches away from my toothbrush, razor and hairbrush. YUCK! they then try to give me a cheap-o toothbrush, but I asked them to replace all of the items with items that are of the same quality. I then got a late checkout, and was stopped by the cleaning lady to be asked about when I will be checking out. Why are they rushing me?! I then brought my bags to the main desk to to be held for the day. I was waiting there for 15 minutes just because the couldn't find the tags and I had to run after him with other bags. Lastly, the bell men odid not bring out luggage to the main entrance with our cars and have lingered around for a tip. I have not gotten one single point of pleasent customer service during my stay at the Sonesta. It is ashame beucase it was going to be a beautiful hotel with horrible customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spictacular
Business
New Jersey
May 5, 2014

Great hotel

Great hotel... It was under construction but that did not affect anything about the trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
From Another City
Business
Washington, DC
May 5, 2014

Comfortable bed, convenient location but very old interior

The hotel was under construction, which we didn't receive any notice in advance. The room we received had a very old carpet with black marks, and the bathroom reminded me of an old dormitory bathroom. The sink was leaking too. Apparently the hotel needs an entire makeover but didn't want to close down the whole hotel. The door/wall was not soundproof as I woke up in the middle of night because some people were coming in after midnight and getting ice from the ice machine near our room. Also with the amount we paid, we would expect at least complimentary water bottle, toothbrush or a pair of slippers. Other than those, the beds were clean and comfortable, and the staff who got us a taxi and took us downstairs was very kind. The hotel's location was superb. 10-15 min walk to major tourist spots! Once renovation is done in every hotel room, I'll do come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

One-day tour itinerary: Reserve tickets for Independence Hall tour in advance (through website), get breakfast/brunch at Reading Terminal Market, and walk to Independence Hall. Once you are done with tour, get on a bus near Independence Hall visitor center to go to Philadelphia Museum of Art. Get dinner around Rittenhouse Square (18th and Walnut st).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
USA1traveler
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 5, 2014

Unexpected charges

Despite being a 3.5 star hotel in central Philadelphia, this hotel is lacking many amenities. It is undergoing renovation, so you can't even find the hotel easily when driving on Market street. I stayed in a non-smoking room that smells like a smoking room. No flat screen TV, only those old 20 inch big box old TV. Additionally, if you drive, they charge you $42 a day for valet parking that you have to pay because they don't have a regular parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BBurt
Business
New York City
Mar 31, 2014

Really perfect location and a place to call home

This place couldn't be in a better part of Philly. Seriously. Right in the heart of Philly's Center City, it' also not to far from University City is you want to venture that way for a bit. Really incredible restaurants and shops just a couple of short blocks away. And really comfy rooms. Very happy with our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top