$146 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Sofitel Philadelphia

4 stars
120 South 17Th Street, PHILADELPHIA, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
198 reviews
Chic & Comfortable

Gorgeously appointed, extremely spacious room. Most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Staff is... See full review

  • Singular Traveller
  • Jul 13, 2014
Amazing last minute trip

This was our first trip to Philly and our first stay at a Sofitel hotel. What a wonderful city. The... See full review

  • Aspenshuman
  • Jul 4, 2014
A hybrid of American and French design, the Sofitel Hotel Philadelphia is full of unique touches, from the Shaker quilt-inspired patterns in the stone lobby to the Art Deco lines of the suites themselves. Get your Francais fix at the Liberte Urban Chic restaurant, where both the cocktails and the pastries are precision-made, or settle in for some Continental-style brunch at the brasserie Chez Colette. Planet-21 certified for its use of eco-friendly practices and products, the Sofitel also has your personal health covered with an all-day fitness room.
Key facts
  • 306 guestrooms
  • Currency exchange
  • Wi-Fi in rooms and common areas (fees may apply)
  • Business center: copy/print
  • Fitness center
  • 2 restaurants: Liberte Urban Chic Lounge and Chez Colette
  • Valet parking
  • Indoor and outdoor wedding facilities to accommodate up to 300 guests
  • Pets allowed (2 per room, under 30lbs, fees may apply)

Neighborhood
The Sofitel's City Center West location makes it an ideal base for exploring Philadelphia, starting with the French Quarter neighborhood of the hotel itself. A short walk from The Shops at Liberty Place, massive performing arts venue the Kimmel Center, and the Walnut Theatre, visitors can pick and choose both cultural and retail paths. City Hall Metro stop is a few blocks away for roaming the city further, but you can still get to major historic sites like the Liberty Bell and Independence Hall on foot (around a mile away).
Hints and tips
Looking forward to checking out the Philly art scene while you're in town? The Sofitel Philadelphia is right near The Barnes Foundation, where guests can tour Impressionist and Post-Impressionist works, as well as tribal artwork from all over the world.

The Rodin Museum is also well worth visiting, for its 150-plus collection of legendary sculptures.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.9508 -75.1689
Nearby airports
PHL, (PHL), 13.60, KM, N; PNE, (PNE), 32.00, KM, S;
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sofitel Philadelphia also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Sofitel Philadelphia Rooms

2 Db beds Dlx
LUXURY ROOM - 2 double beds, Sunny Exposure. 35 sqm/400 sq. ft.; Sunny Exposure; Marble bathroom w/ Glass enclosed shower and separate tub; Working Desk and Sitting Area w/ Coffee Table; Bathrobe and Slippers with Lanvin Amenities; Complimentary WIFI
1 Kg bed Sup
Superior Room with 1 King Bed. 30 sqm/350 sq.ft.; Marble bathroom w/ separate shower & tub; Work Desk & Sitting Area w/ Coffee Table; Bathrobe and Slippers with Lanvin Amenities; Complimentary WIFI; Rollaway upon request (subject to additional charges a
JrSuite 1 Kg bed
JUNIOR SUITE - 1 King size bed, extra living room. 45 sqm/500 sq. ft.; Separate Living Room and Bedroom with King Bed; Marble bathroom w/ Separate Shower and Tub; Work Desk and Sitting Area w/ Coffee Table; Bathrobe and Slippers with Lanvin amenities; C
1 Kg bed Dlx
LUXURY ROOM - 1 king size bed, Sunny Exposure. 35 sqm/400 sq.ft.; Sunny Exposure; Marble bathroom w/ separate shower & tub; Work Desk & Sitting Area w/ Coffee Table; Robe & Slippers w/ Lanvin Amenities; Complimentary WIFI; Rollaway upon request (subject

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Florist
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Shower
Iron
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.1 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.1 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.5 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.5 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.6 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.2 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.8 mi

Dining

CHEZ COLETTE
Savor an irresistible breakfast or a Sunday brunch in Chez Colette, our charming brasserie, also available for private events.
LIBERTE URBAN CHIC LOUNGE
Discover Liberté Urban Lounge, a chic downtown hot spot serving hand-crafted cocktails and contemporary, French-inspired food in one of the city's loveliest settings.
LIBERTE URBAN CHIC LOUNGE
Liberté chic urban lounge serving cocktails and contemporary French-inspired food in one of the city's loveliest settings.Gather with friends at the bar, Share an intimate moment in the lounge along the fireplace, or enjoy a meal in the dining area.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (198)

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Philadelphia

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
94 out of 198
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Detailed Traveler
Indiana
Dec 27, 2010

Not the Sofitel One Has Come to Expect.

Booked a Junior Suite through [...]. After checking in, we noticed the "suite" didn't quite look like the photos.After calling the front desk and asking them to verify, we were told they "don't guarantee room types". After nicely explaining that our confirmation shows a junior suite and that I understand that most hotels don't do guarantee bed types, etc, but when guest purchase an upgrade and pay for a suite, those guests should expect a suite....After several more rounds of "you need to call [...], sorry no rooms available, your confirmation doesn't show that room type, your printout is incorrect, please hold, etc", they were able to find the correct confirmation number / room type. For nearly 1 hour, we were treated as if we were lying to staff… Not even a single apology, simply, "we found the correct confirmation number and we've sent the bellman up with a new key"Certainly not anywhere near the Sofitel experience we've come to expect. Horrible customer service and horrible (non-existent) follow-up by the hotel management.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location. However, nowhere near the 4 star experience or 5 star of a typical Sofitel. Likely a nice 2 or 3 star hotel with 1 star customer service.

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Hampshire
Nov 23, 2010

Philly Marathon Weekend

My husband and I drove down to run the Philadelphia Half Marathon....it was great! The hotel was very nice and clean, up to date. Nice workout area with treadmills etc. Only problem was we were left early AM for the rum...came back around noon and the room had not been cleaned...in fact, no one came around the rest of the day. Also, the lobby door to the stairwell was locked....so when we walked down the stairs from the 4th floor...we couldn't get out and had to walk back upstairs to an elevator....a REAL safety hazard..I mentioned it to the front desk but didn't receive an explanation. Also runners...be aware...they don't put complimentary coffee out for guests until after 6AM!....I don't know about you, but I can't run 13.1 without my AM coffee!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park your own car in a Public Parking Lot around the corner...MUCH cheaper!

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
West Chester, PA
Oct 25, 2010

Convenient, friendly staff, avg. room

The hotel was very conveniently located to all center city attractions such as Old City, The Franklin Institute, The Art Museum, etc. The staff was friendly and check in and check out were fast and easy. While our room was very clean it was hot and the temperature didn't change no matter what we did to the thermostat. I also found the rooms to be very "average" in decor, appearance and size. Our room didn't have a coffee maker which was a disappointment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Jun 21, 2010

Great location and hotel!!!

Just needed to relax and chill in Philly. This hotel is located in a great location and the rooms were very clean. The staff seemed a little unfriendly down the lobby. I think no one even told us "Good Morning" the entire weekend. Just played tourist and enjoyed the city. Oh, the front desk didn't know of places for good breakfast outside the hotel. I think the staff should know all the hot spots in eating and different things tourist should experience in Philadelphia. It's about the little things that matter to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Learn and take the metro four blocks away. Very cheap and gets you all over the city.

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GiraffeRider
San Francisco
Jul 26, 2010

Not very attractive lobby!

Not very attractive lobby area. No place for guests to seat while waiting for us to come down from our room. Asked for non-smoking room, even after changing room, the 2nd room still smells like smoke as well as the pillows and sheets! Location is not centrally located as Marriott and as grand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
philadelphia, pa
Oct 31, 2009

disappointed

planned a romantic night with my husband. We were disappointed in the bathroom. Finished my shower before water got hot enough to even make steam. Same with trying to fill a bubble bath. Bathroom was pretty, but stone floor also made it cold. Kept looking for a heat light to warm it up. We just expected better for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
charlotte,nc
Jun 3, 2009

Philly Hotel

comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Stow, MA
Jul 28, 2009

Sofitel Philadelphia

Very clean, very comfortable, outstanding location. Front desk staff seemed to be "going through the motions" more than they should at a hotel like this - they seemed either distant or distracted. However, the concierge ([...]) was terrific - knowledgeable, engaged, down-to-earth, and very helpful. The bellman and doorman were good. And the maid service was first-rate. Only other comment: the lobby has no real "vibe" - feels kind of characterless, and not what we had expected of the Sofitel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rouge - excellent bar/restaurant on east side of Rittenhouse Square

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
May 25, 2009

Very nice place to stay

Great location, nice hotel. The bed was very comfortable. I was annoyed that the internet service was not free, and the hotel's restaurant was too expensive for what they gave you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Rittenhouse square, just two blocks south of the hotel.

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
philly stay
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 31, 2009

unbeatable location for the price

The hotel staff, more specifically the cleaning staff, were exceptional and friendly. Bar/lounge area and staff were a bit pretentious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Continental Midtown and Del Friscos were excellent!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search