$186 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 2, 2014 Check-out: Oct 4, 2014

Sofitel Philadelphia

4 stars
120 South 17Th Street, PHILADELPHIA, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
190 reviews
perfect in many ways

very very good choice, i was satisfied in many ways. Two small details got bonus points: 1. I... See full review

  • Erich5
  • Sep 21, 2014
Chic & Comfortable

Gorgeously appointed, extremely spacious room. Most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Staff is... See full review

  • Singular Traveller
  • Jul 13, 2014
A hybrid of American and French design, the Sofitel Hotel Philadelphia is full of unique touches, from the Shaker quilt-inspired patterns in the stone lobby to the Art Deco lines of the suites themselves. Get your Francais fix at the Liberte Urban Chic restaurant, where both the cocktails and the pastries are precision-made, or settle in for some Continental-style brunch at the brasserie Chez Colette. Planet-21 certified for its use of eco-friendly practices and products, the Sofitel also has your personal health covered with an all-day fitness room.
Key facts
  • 306 guestrooms
  • Currency exchange
  • Wi-Fi in rooms and common areas (fees may apply)
  • Business center: copy/print
  • Fitness center
  • 2 restaurants: Liberte Urban Chic Lounge and Chez Colette
  • Valet parking
  • Indoor and outdoor wedding facilities to accommodate up to 300 guests
  • Pets allowed (2 per room, under 30lbs, fees may apply)

Neighborhood
The Sofitel's City Center West location makes it an ideal base for exploring Philadelphia, starting with the French Quarter neighborhood of the hotel itself. A short walk from The Shops at Liberty Place, massive performing arts venue the Kimmel Center, and the Walnut Theatre, visitors can pick and choose both cultural and retail paths. City Hall Metro stop is a few blocks away for roaming the city further, but you can still get to major historic sites like the Liberty Bell and Independence Hall on foot (around a mile away).
Hints and tips
Looking forward to checking out the Philly art scene while you're in town? The Sofitel Philadelphia is right near The Barnes Foundation, where guests can tour Impressionist and Post-Impressionist works, as well as tribal artwork from all over the world.

The Rodin Museum is also well worth visiting, for its 150-plus collection of legendary sculptures.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.9508 -75.1689
Nearby airports
PHL, (PHL), 13.60, KM, N; PNE, (PNE), 32.00, KM, S;
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sofitel Philadelphia also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Sofitel Philadelphia Rooms

2 Db beds Dlx
LUXURY ROOM - 2 double beds, Sunny Exposure. 35 sqm/400 sq. ft.; Sunny Exposure; Marble bathroom w/ Glass enclosed shower and separate tub; Working Desk and Sitting Area w/ Coffee Table; Bathrobe and Slippers with Lanvin Amenities; Complimentary WIFI
1 Kg bed Sup
Superior Room with 1 King Bed. 30 sqm/350 sq.ft.; Marble bathroom w/ separate shower & tub; Work Desk & Sitting Area w/ Coffee Table; Bathrobe and Slippers with Lanvin Amenities; Complimentary WIFI; Rollaway upon request (subject to additional charges a
JrSuite 1 Kg bed
JUNIOR SUITE - 1 King size bed, extra living room. 45 sqm/500 sq. ft.; Separate Living Room and Bedroom with King Bed; Marble bathroom w/ Separate Shower and Tub; Work Desk and Sitting Area w/ Coffee Table; Bathrobe and Slippers with Lanvin amenities; C
1 Kg bed Dlx
LUXURY ROOM - 1 king size bed, Sunny Exposure. 35 sqm/400 sq.ft.; Sunny Exposure; Marble bathroom w/ separate shower & tub; Work Desk & Sitting Area w/ Coffee Table; Robe & Slippers w/ Lanvin Amenities; Complimentary WIFI; Rollaway upon request (subject

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Florist
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Shower
Iron
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.1 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.1 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.5 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.5 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.6 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.2 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.8 mi

Dining

CHEZ COLETTE
Savor an irresistible breakfast or a Sunday brunch in Chez Colette, our charming brasserie, also available for private events.
LIBERTE URBAN CHIC LOUNGE
Discover Liberté Urban Lounge, a chic downtown hot spot serving hand-crafted cocktails and contemporary, French-inspired food in one of the city's loveliest settings.
LIBERTE URBAN CHIC LOUNGE
Liberté chic urban lounge serving cocktails and contemporary French-inspired food in one of the city's loveliest settings.Gather with friends at the bar, Share an intimate moment in the lounge along the fireplace, or enjoy a meal in the dining area.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (190)

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Philadelphia

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
190 out of 190
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Large group
Valley Forge, PA
Aug 15, 2010

Good Hotel, but a little loud

Very nice hotel, probably deserving it's AAA 4-diamond award. However, some of the rooms are noisy because of the lounge across the street that is open all night and plays loud music with heavy base.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lyndarlin
NY, NY
May 21, 2012

outstanding... except for a few little things

I'm a big fan of the Sofitel line so it's probably no surprise that I loved every moment of my stay. Of particular note is the bed. Sofitel beds ruin whole cities for me because I check in, decide to take a nap and the next thing I know I've been in bed for three days. They offer the most comfortable beds I've ever enjoyed. The staff at the Sofitel were, as always, on point. My only quibble was small. I had a couple of friends who had drinks at the hotel's bar. Four drinks, two of which were beers, cost $55. including two dollar charges for ice in the whiskey. That was a little disturbing. I drink in NYC about 4 times a weeka and have never experienced similar. Also, when will multi star hotels work out that hi-speed wifi should be free (god knows we pay enough for our rooms and room service) and outlets should be accessible from the bed and if you offer room service it's a little over the top to charge a 20% gratuity AND a delivery charge. Did I mention that I loved the bed and the service?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Happy Rooster bar that is a block away on 16th is good, easy going fun. The hotel's bars are way too over priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RBlich
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Jun 2, 2009

Splendid Stay Again - As Usual!

I have stayed at the Sofitel Philly multiple multiple times and have never been disappointed. My room as thoroughly clean and the service as flawless as usual. Enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ivys
San Antonio, TX
Oct 4, 2010

Location. Clean. Large Rooms. Quiet.

We were allowed to check in early. Every night our bed was turned down and two bottles of water were left for us. Music was left on for us. No flower. Full size blow dryer, Iron +ironing board. No drawers. We did not use the concierge service and when we tried they were not available, but hotel staff was very professional and very helpful. I wish we would have known there was construction @ the main entrance- somewhat distracting when checking in; however, we did not hear any of it. Lots of restaurants and lots of shopping around the area. About 10-15 blocks from Independence/Olde City- perfect on a good day, just a short cab ride away on not a perfect day. Overall nice hotel, excellent location, plan to stay here the next time we are in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

So many restaurants and bars in the area. We ran out of time. Excellent high-end shopping too. Short cab ride to old city and their vibrant nightlife.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PtrBsh
Cincinnati, OH
Nov 5, 2012

Fun weekend in Philly

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Sofitel. The room was spacious, the bed was very comfortable, and it was quiet despite all the activity all around. Staff were overall very pleasant and accomodating; only down side was the obsequious fawning house manager the morning we checked in, and the fact that the maid - who we asked to come back later around 9am didn;t come back till 5pm (when we were again in the room), so basically the room didnt get cleaned on Saturday till bedtime.That said, we'd stay here again it is well situated and comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
May 25, 2009

Very nice place to stay

Great location, nice hotel. The bed was very comfortable. I was annoyed that the internet service was not free, and the hotel's restaurant was too expensive for what they gave you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Rittenhouse square, just two blocks south of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Quakertown, PA
Jul 18, 2010

Very, very nice

We had dinner at Porcini, which was awesome. We saw Sebastian Maniscalco at Helium and he and the other comics were hilarious. Our stay at the Sofitel was the perfect ending to a perfect date night. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
milwauke
Jun 20, 2009

good hotel

very good all over, but my room smelled like it was a smoking room before and was not cleaned well enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ppppp
Phila
Jul 25, 2010

Great Location

Great location near restaurants, stores, tourist attractions. Room was spacious and very clean. However, we struggled to sleep each night as there was loud music coming from a nearby bar. This was the only downside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chotto
md
Aug 10, 2010

good

attended cme conferencec. it's ok

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search