$160 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Sofitel Philadelphia

4 stars
View map of 120 South 17Th Street, PHILADELPHIA, PA 19103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Philadelphia

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
214 out of 214
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Aug 9, 2008

Room

The room was great. Had a great HD TV and the bed was very comfortable. Had a nice desk for me to work from as well. Bathroom was large and had a great shower. Very close to everything in Philadelphia.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything in downtown Philadelphia.

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 13, 2008

Great Hotel!

While waiting to check in, I heard one staff member remark to a fellow guest that the beds in the rooms were so comfortable they were like sleeping on a cloud. Needless to say, my inner skeptic thought it was going to be all downhill from there. After an extremely smooth, quick and easy check-in, I rode the beautiful elevator to my floor and walked down the immaculately clean hallway to my room. Upon entering the room, I was instantly impressed with the cleanliness and the size of the room. I was very impressed, until I opened the bathroom door....and then I was EXTREMELY impressed! Normally, I view a bathroom, especially in a hotel, purely for its function, but this was no ordinary bathroom. Beautiful marble sink, separate shower and bath.....it was immaculate. My only regret about the hotel is that I did not stay longer, I highly recommend the Sofitel to ANYONE! Oh, and the bed? Comparing it to sleeping on a cloud doesn't do it any justice. I almost slept through checkout!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Whether you are looking for fine dining, small cafe's, the theater, bars or just a nice walk through a busy city, the hotel is in a prime location for all of those options. If you don't feel like leaving, the hotel bar is magnificent as well!

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Connecticut
Oct 5, 2010

Excellent price

We went there for a wedding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aspenshuman
Business
Ft Walton Bch, FL
Jul 4, 2014

Amazing last minute trip

This was our first trip to Philly and our first stay at a Sofitel hotel. What a wonderful city. The hotel was amazing! Staff were super friendly; I still hear them greeting me in the morning, "Bonjour Ms...” So polite. The linens were amazingly soft. The pillows were to die for. You have complimentary coffee (t-cups), bottled water, the usual shampoo, conditioner, lotion, including additional bathroom items (i.e., Q-tips, shower cap, nail files, make-up sponges). The room also provides bath robes and complimentary slippers, items for tailoring (needles, tread, yarn, & buttons). The room had a safe and mini bar (if you desire). The location was perfect! A Starbucks was right around the corner, extremely convenient. The historical sites were not too far, definitely walking distance (< mile). Bus stops right around the corner if you want to go to Eastern State Penitentiary. On the way home, we took a taxi to the airport. You simply step outside of the hotel and staff call for a taxi, which arrives in < a minute and < $30 to the airport. Philly is a great city & I highly recommend the Sofitel. I definitely would stay with them again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Central location if you want to experience the history of our Nation.

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Singular Traveller
Business
New York
Jul 13, 2014

Chic & Comfortable

Gorgeously appointed, extremely spacious room. Most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Staff is on point. Location is perfect. This has been my favourite stay in Philadelphia, and I definitely will be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Luke's Lobster is almost literally next door. Grab some lunch!

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Erich5
Business
overseas
Sep 21, 2014

perfect in many ways

very very good choice, i was satisfied in many ways. Two small details got bonus points: 1. I checked in a bit earlier, the hotel didn't prepare my room yet. So the front desk stuff invited me to the bar for a drink for free :). 2.Dude, all the soaps, shampoo, and lotions are LANVINE! + big washroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hip City Veg, very healthy and taste good.

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Matthew's Mom
Business
Newburgh, NY
Oct 17, 2014

One night getaway

The Sofitel exceeded our expectations for a small hotel it was elegant with well appointed décor, our room was spacious and clean,in the perfect city location for our stay and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend and definitely stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants and shops all within walking distance

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Liubei
Business
Ithaca
Dec 16, 2014

Great value

We stayed during the Thanksgiving break. Great value for the price and great location. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Liubei
Business
Ithaca
Dec 29, 2014

Great value

We stayed during the Thanksgiving break. Great value for the price and great location. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Windermere
Dec 29, 2014

Fun girls trip

My friend and I travel to Philly a few times a year for a shopping trip. This is the first time we've stayed at the Sofitel and thoroughly enjoyed it. Location was awesome, front desk staff was incredibly helpful and sent up champagne and treats, and helped us at every turn they could. The only thing that we found very frustrating was the bathroom lighting...yellow is not a good color. But will definitely go back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Century 21 department store just opened and is chock full of great priced designer finds!

Back to menu Return to top