$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 27, 2014

Sofitel Philadelphia

4 stars
120 South 17Th Street, PHILADELPHIA, PA 19103
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
194 reviews
One night getaway

The Sofitel exceeded our expectations for a small hotel it was elegant with well appointed décor,... See full review

  • Matthew's Mom
  • Oct 17, 2014
perfect in many ways

very very good choice, i was satisfied in many ways. Two small details got bonus points: 1. I... See full review

  • Erich5
  • Sep 21, 2014
A hybrid of American and French design, the Sofitel Hotel Philadelphia is full of unique touches, from the Shaker quilt-inspired patterns in the stone lobby to the Art Deco lines of the suites themselves. Get your Francais fix at the Liberte Urban Chic restaurant, where both the cocktails and the pastries are precision-made, or settle in for some Continental-style brunch at the brasserie Chez Colette. Planet-21 certified for its use of eco-friendly practices and products, the Sofitel also has your personal health covered with an all-day fitness room.
Key facts
  • 306 guestrooms
  • Currency exchange
  • Wi-Fi in rooms and common areas (fees may apply)
  • Business center: copy/print
  • Fitness center
  • 2 restaurants: Liberte Urban Chic Lounge and Chez Colette
  • Valet parking
  • Indoor and outdoor wedding facilities to accommodate up to 300 guests
  • Pets allowed (2 per room, under 30lbs, fees may apply)

Neighborhood
The Sofitel's City Center West location makes it an ideal base for exploring Philadelphia, starting with the French Quarter neighborhood of the hotel itself. A short walk from The Shops at Liberty Place, massive performing arts venue the Kimmel Center, and the Walnut Theatre, visitors can pick and choose both cultural and retail paths. City Hall Metro stop is a few blocks away for roaming the city further, but you can still get to major historic sites like the Liberty Bell and Independence Hall on foot (around a mile away).
Hints and tips
Looking forward to checking out the Philly art scene while you're in town? The Sofitel Philadelphia is right near The Barnes Foundation, where guests can tour Impressionist and Post-Impressionist works, as well as tribal artwork from all over the world.

The Rodin Museum is also well worth visiting, for its 150-plus collection of legendary sculptures.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sofitel Philadelphia also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Sofitel Philadelphia Rooms

2 Db beds Dlx
LUXURY ROOM - 2 double beds, Sunny Exposure. 35 sqm/400 sq. ft.; Sunny Exposure; Marble bathroom w/ Glass enclosed shower and separate tub; Working Desk and Sitting Area w/ Coffee Table; Bathrobe and Slippers with Lanvin Amenities; Complimentary WIFI
1 Kg bed Sup
Superior Room with 1 King Bed. 30 sqm/350 sq.ft.; Marble bathroom w/ separate shower & tub; Work Desk & Sitting Area w/ Coffee Table; Bathrobe and Slippers with Lanvin Amenities; Complimentary WIFI; Rollaway upon request (subject to additional charges a
JrSuite 1 Kg bed
JUNIOR SUITE - 1 King size bed, extra living room. 45 sqm/500 sq. ft.; Separate Living Room and Bedroom with King Bed; Marble bathroom w/ Separate Shower and Tub; Work Desk and Sitting Area w/ Coffee Table; Bathrobe and Slippers with Lanvin amenities; C
1 Kg bed Dlx
LUXURY ROOM - 1 king size bed, Sunny Exposure. 35 sqm/400 sq.ft.; Sunny Exposure; Marble bathroom w/ separate shower & tub; Work Desk & Sitting Area w/ Coffee Table; Robe & Slippers w/ Lanvin Amenities; Complimentary WIFI; Rollaway upon request (subject

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Florist
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Shower
Iron
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.1 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.1 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.5 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.5 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.6 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.2 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.8 mi

Dining

CHEZ COLETTE
Savor an irresistible breakfast or a Sunday brunch in Chez Colette, our charming brasserie, also available for private events.
LIBERTE URBAN CHIC LOUNGE
Discover Liberté Urban Lounge, a chic downtown hot spot serving hand-crafted cocktails and contemporary, French-inspired food in one of the city's loveliest settings.
LIBERTE URBAN CHIC LOUNGE
Liberté chic urban lounge serving cocktails and contemporary French-inspired food in one of the city's loveliest settings.Gather with friends at the bar, Share an intimate moment in the lounge along the fireplace, or enjoy a meal in the dining area.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (194)

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Philadelphia

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
194 out of 194
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fair Oaks
Jun 27, 2008

Impressed

Super plush beds and large plasma TV's in large rooms. Very high end furnishings and design. I'll stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy walk to lots of shopping, restaurant and business's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El Dorado Hills
Dec 19, 2008

Comfortable, quiet, and good service.

I enjoyed my stay at the Sofitel. The bed was very comfortable. My room was very quiet and I got a good night's sleep. The room service was quick and the food was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 9, 2008

Great location....

Great location right in the middle of the Rittenhouse Square area. Easy walk to dozens of restaurants and bars, but a pretty quiet street at night. Good bar downstairs though among the priciest in the city. The beds in Sofitel are ridiculously comfortable. Did not really have a comfortable sitting area in this room, but most of my stays I have had good daytime seating in the room. I didn't make it to the gym. Customer service was good. The valets and door men are always very courteous and helpful and professional. Can be a bit of a wait to get your car back as it is a very crowded hotel so I'd recommend calling 20 mins ahead to get your car. This room had no drawer space! Which was weird. Usually they do. I had to put my undies on a shelf in the closet. So that was odd. But the big comfy bed more than makes up for it. I might actually buy the bedding the sell in their catalog. It's that comfortable!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

TONS of shopping and dining and bars nearby, as well as a lovely park and museums and galleries.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Farm traveler
Business
Southern California
Mar 3, 2009

Sofiteln Philadelphia

Very comfortable room. Location was great. We only stayed one night, but we would definately go back in a heartbeat. Since this was a business trip and only lasted 24 hours, we didn't tour the city at all. But, we did notice all of the nearby attractions. This hotel had the best restaurant. At first glance we didn't think much of it becuase of the decor, but when we ate there, it was amazing. Great food. Valet parking could use a weaking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PA
Mar 3, 2009

Great Staff and Service

Excellent staff, nice room, good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Resturant was unexpectedly very very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wife of a history nut
Business
Sharon Grove, KY
Apr 22, 2009

"Something out of the Movies"

The location of the hotel was great. It was right in the middle of town, we were able to walk to everything we wanted to see, Independence Hall, Museum of Arts, shopping, resturants. If we didn't want to walk we were able to use the city bus system or the subway. It was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cape Cod, Ma
Mar 3, 2009

Great Hotel and Great Price

Very professional and very satisfied

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 12, 2008

Great Room!

We had a suite and it was so nice! After a red-eye flight, the bed was perfection. Big, spacious room. Comfy couch, huge bathroom. I was disappointed that there wasn't a view but it was such a great room that I would stay there again in a heartbeat. And I would highly recommend it to friends/family!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 21, 2008

great getaway weekend.

This was a great getaway weekend hotel. Great location, close to everything. Staff was very helpful if you needed it. Great suggestions by the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Movies, history ect.....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richardson
Jun 21, 2008

Very Pleasant Experience

Sofitel Philadelphia was everything I expected and more. The rooms were clean, very confortable, and quiet. The dining staff and food were well above average, and the pricing was within market expectations. I have already recomended this facility to others I know who travel to the Philly area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The immediate area is loaded with attractions as well as shopping and dining options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top