$138 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Sofitel Philadelphia

4 stars
View map of 120 South 17Th Street, PHILADELPHIA, PA 19103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Philadelphia

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
203 out of 203
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Janella S.
Business
Harleysville
Feb 9, 2015

Our Pied a terre in Philadelphia

Love staying at this hotel. Comfortable and quiet rooms located in the heart of the Rittenhouse Square area. Great staff and amenities. Super comfortable bed like sleeping in a cotton ball!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to many wonderful restaurants: Le Cheri, Parc, Vernick, a.kitchen, Il Pittore. Also close to shopping! Rittenhouse square is perfect for people watching :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roy H.
Business
Pelham
Feb 27, 2015

great

Great..........................................................................

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jots
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Jan 13, 2014

Wonderful birthday weekend

The staff was friendly and helpful. The beds were very comfortable. Bathrooms were beautiful and everything was perfectly clean. The hotel bar was roomy, had a great fireplace, and nice views of the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 25, 2009

Very nice place to stay

Great location, nice hotel. The bed was very comfortable. I was annoyed that the internet service was not free, and the hotel's restaurant was too expensive for what they gave you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Rittenhouse square, just two blocks south of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Jun 14, 2009

Nice Boutique Hotel With Great Beds

Nice clean hotel; friendly service; excellent room furnishings and bedding; can't think of any complaints other than a slightly malodorous bartop - but then again, it was nearly midnight.... And know the address !! Taxi drivers have no clue how to find this hotel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the restaurants south one block facing Rittenhouse Square - Great food and scenery

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dan The Jet Setter
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 31, 2009

Sofitel Steps It up!

The Sofitel Philadelphia was a great experience. I was not familiar with Philly and the hotel staff was quick to give us directions and a walking map. The room was HUGE and spotless. The beds were very comfortable. I normally have hard time falling asleep in hotels but not this one. Very quiet! The lobby is breathtaking with a concierge desk right as you walk in. The bathroom was top of the line and fully equipped with separate shower and tub with floor to ceiling limestone surround, granite counter top with stainless sink and two frosted glass doors. They even had live Bamboo in the bathroom! Only negative of the bathroom was the unsightly peeling paint on the bathroom ceiling. The hotel has a check in of 3 PM. I would say this was disappointing and not expressed to me before I reserved the room. The only other thing I would warn of is that we checked our bags because we arrived before the 3 PM check in and the concierge was kind enough to hold our bags, however, the bags were left unsecured in the middle of the lobby. Anyone could have walked away with my baggage without someone noticing. The breakfast in the hotel restaurant was delicious by not worth $15 for any omelette! Overall, we had a great experience and if I am ever in Philly again, I will be sure to consider this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the SEPTA to the stadiums.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
philly stay
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 31, 2009

unbeatable location for the price

The hotel staff, more specifically the cleaning staff, were exceptional and friendly. Bar/lounge area and staff were a bit pretentious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Continental Midtown and Del Friscos were excellent!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dog Mom
Business
Oakland CA
Nov 29, 2009

Sofitel Philadelphia

Good location and very nice room. The feather bed takes some getting used to, and the duvet cover was too hot for us. We had a junior suite so our son could come from college (19yo) and spend Thanksgiving weekend with us and see the sights of Philadelphia. Very nice fitness room. They will allow up to 2 dogs per room, if you are traveling with your animals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Milwaukee, WI
May 20, 2010

Great hotel, except the temperature

Stayed for business and through the weekend with my girlfriend. Definitely a bit pricier than normal for business but got a discount through [...]. The room was great, though the bed was a bit too soft for our tastes with the feather bed (so, we took it off!). Unfortunately the temp controls in the room didn't work at all--we had it set at 60 degrees but it got no cooler than 72...complained twice and didn't get anywhere...no complimentary anything either because the knew we got a great deal already. anyway, nice hotel in perfect spot for work and shopping. would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
redmoonmedia
Business
Dublin, Ireland
Jun 24, 2010

Cool, classy center city hotel

Sofitel Philadelphia is a great place. From the front door they treat you rightly - excellent attentive service. Lively bar, tasty eatery, comfortable rooms - and a cool, relaxed ambiance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top