$156 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2015 Check-out: Aug 10, 2015

Sofitel Philadelphia

4 stars
View map of 120 South 17Th Street, PHILADELPHIA, PA 19103

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
194 reviews
Great weekend stay

The hotel was clean and well-refined. They allowed us to check in prior to the posted check-in date... See full review

  • Michael M.
  • Jul 14, 2015
great

Great.......................................................................... See full review

  • Roy H.
  • Feb 27, 2015
Looking forward to checking out the Philly art scene while you're in town? The Sofitel Philadelphia is right near The Barnes Foundation, where guests can tour Impressionist and Post-Impressionist works, as well as tribal artwork from all over the world.

The Rodin Museum is also well worth visiting, for its 150-plus collection of legendary sculptures.
General
Sofitel Philadelphia


Location
A hybrid of American and French design, the Sofitel Hotel Philadelphia is full of unique touches, from the Shaker quilt-inspired patterns in the stone lobby to the Art Deco lines of the suites themselves. Get your Francais fix at the Liberte Urban Chic restaurant, where both the cocktails and the pastries are precision-made, or settle in for some Continental-style brunch at the brasserie Chez Colette. Planet-21 certified for its use of eco-friendly practices and products, the Sofitel also has your personal health covered with an all-day fitness room.
Dining
  • 306 guestrooms
  • Currency exchange
  • Wi-Fi in rooms and common areas (fees may apply)
  • Business center: copy/print
  • Fitness center
  • 2 restaurants: Liberte Urban Chic Lounge and Chez Colette
  • Valet parking
  • Indoor and outdoor wedding facilities to accommodate up to 300 guests
  • Pets allowed (2 per room, under 30lbs, fees may apply)

Rooms
The Sofitel's City Center West location makes it an ideal base for exploring Philadelphia, starting with the French Quarter neighborhood of the hotel itself. A short walk from The Shops at Liberty Place, massive performing arts venue the Kimmel Center, and the Walnut Theatre, visitors can pick and choose both cultural and retail paths. City Hall Metro stop is a few blocks away for roaming the city further, but you can still get to major historic sites like the Liberty Bell and Independence Hall on foot (around a mile away).
Highlights
  • 306 guestrooms
  • Currency exchange
  • Wi-Fi in rooms and common areas (fees may apply)
  • Business center: copy/print
  • Fitness center
  • 2 restaurants: Liberte Urban Chic Lounge and Chez Colette
  • Valet parking
  • Indoor and outdoor wedding facilities to accommodate up to 300 guests
  • Pets allowed (2 per room, under 30lbs, fees may apply)

Policies
Looking forward to checking out the Philly art scene while you're in town? The Sofitel Philadelphia is right near The Barnes Foundation, where guests can tour Impressionist and Post-Impressionist works, as well as tribal artwork from all over the world.

The Rodin Museum is also well worth visiting, for its 150-plus collection of legendary sculptures.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sofitel Philadelphia also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Sofitel Philadelphia Rooms

2 Db beds Dlx
LUXURY ROOM - 2 double beds, Sunny Exposure. 35 sqm/400 sq. ft.; Sunny Exposure; Marble bathroom w/ Glass enclosed shower and separate tub; Working Desk and Sitting Area w/ Coffee Table; Bathrobe and Slippers with Lanvin Amenities; Complimentary WIFI
1 Kg bed Sup
Superior Room with 1 King Bed. 30 sqm/350 sq.ft.; Marble bathroom w/ separate shower & tub; Work Desk & Sitting Area w/ Coffee Table; Bathrobe and Slippers with Lanvin Amenities; Complimentary WIFI; Rollaway upon request (subject to additional charges a
JrSuite 1 Kg bed
JUNIOR SUITE - 1 King size bed, extra living room. 45 sqm/500 sq. ft.; Separate Living Room and Bedroom with King Bed; Marble bathroom w/ Separate Shower and Tub; Work Desk and Sitting Area w/ Coffee Table; Bathrobe and Slippers with Lanvin amenities; C
1 Kg bed Dlx
LUXURY ROOM - 1 king size bed, Sunny Exposure. 35 sqm/400 sq.ft.; Sunny Exposure; Marble bathroom w/ separate shower & tub; Work Desk & Sitting Area w/ Coffee Table; Robe & Slippers w/ Lanvin Amenities; Complimentary WIFI; Rollaway upon request (subject

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Florist
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Shower
Iron
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.1 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.1 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.5 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.5 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.6 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.2 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.8 mi

Dining

CHEZ COLETTE
Savor an irresistible breakfast or a Sunday brunch in Chez Colette, our charming brasserie, also available for private events.
LIBERTE URBAN CHIC LOUNGE
Discover Liberté Urban Lounge, a chic downtown hot spot serving hand-crafted cocktails and contemporary, French-inspired food in one of the city's loveliest settings.
LIBERTE URBAN CHIC LOUNGE
Liberté chic urban lounge serving cocktails and contemporary French-inspired food in one of the city's loveliest settings.Gather with friends at the bar, Share an intimate moment in the lounge along the fireplace, or enjoy a meal in the dining area.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Philadelphia

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 194
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Windermere
Dec 29, 2014

Fun girls trip

My friend and I travel to Philly a few times a year for a shopping trip. This is the first time we've stayed at the Sofitel and thoroughly enjoyed it. Location was awesome, front desk staff was incredibly helpful and sent up champagne and treats, and helped us at every turn they could. The only thing that we found very frustrating was the bathroom lighting...yellow is not a good color. But will definitely go back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Century 21 department store just opened and is chock full of great priced designer finds!

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jennifer c.
Business
Windermere
Dec 29, 2014

Fun girls trip

This hotel is a gem. I normally stay at another local hotel, and have for several years, but this far exceeded my expectations. The location is perfect for the city. The room was very clean. And the staff was friendly and amazingly helpful. The only complaint I have is the lighting in the bathroom. It was impossible to get ready in there with the yellow lights. It made it very difficult. I actually had to take a mirror down from the changing room and put it out in our sitting room to get ready. Other than that, everything was absolutely perfect. I definitely will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Matthew's Mom
Business
Newburgh, NY
Oct 17, 2014

One night getaway

The Sofitel exceeded our expectations for a small hotel it was elegant with well appointed décor, our room was spacious and clean,in the perfect city location for our stay and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend and definitely stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants and shops all within walking distance

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mimima
Business
PA
Sep 21, 2014

Beautiful hotel

We were greeted by pleasant bellmen and valet parking attendants before we even made it to the front door. The reception staff explained all charges, including parking and the duration of parking for each night's charge. We found a great rate on this travel site, making this luxury hotel quite affordable.The parking, however, is expensive. The room was large, the bathroom easy to navigate, with beautiful marble and tile floors. The entire room was spotless. The best part, though, was the pillow top mattress and down pillows, which felt more like a cozy nest than a bed. The hotel is located on a busy corner in center city, but the small semicircular drive makes it as easy as reasonably possible to get in and out. It's an easy walk to Rittenhouse square and a variety of restaurants and coffee shops for all budgets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Erich5
Business
overseas
Sep 21, 2014

perfect in many ways

very very good choice, i was satisfied in many ways. Two small details got bonus points: 1. I checked in a bit earlier, the hotel didn't prepare my room yet. So the front desk stuff invited me to the bar for a drink for free :). 2.Dude, all the soaps, shampoo, and lotions are LANVINE! + big washroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hip City Veg, very healthy and taste good.

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lyndarlin
Business
NY, NY
May 21, 2012

outstanding... except for a few little things

I'm a big fan of the Sofitel line so it's probably no surprise that I loved every moment of my stay. Of particular note is the bed. Sofitel beds ruin whole cities for me because I check in, decide to take a nap and the next thing I know I've been in bed for three days. They offer the most comfortable beds I've ever enjoyed. The staff at the Sofitel were, as always, on point. My only quibble was small. I had a couple of friends who had drinks at the hotel's bar. Four drinks, two of which were beers, cost $55. including two dollar charges for ice in the whiskey. That was a little disturbing. I drink in NYC about 4 times a weeka and have never experienced similar. Also, when will multi star hotels work out that hi-speed wifi should be free (god knows we pay enough for our rooms and room service) and outlets should be accessible from the bed and if you offer room service it's a little over the top to charge a 20% gratuity AND a delivery charge. Did I mention that I loved the bed and the service?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Happy Rooster bar that is a block away on 16th is good, easy going fun. The hotel's bars are way too over priced.

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ksam
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Feb 15, 2012

For comfort after an entire day of eating and shopping..

Great hotel! Fantastic location, THE most comfortable beds ever! the rooms were so pretty & the bar/lounge area was fantastic too :) It is a wee bit overpriced, but I can see why. I would definitely choose to live there again if I got a good deal ($) on the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Monk's Cafe for the best mussels, chicken wings & beer. La Colombe for a great cup of coffee!

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Firmo
Business
philadelphia , PA
Jun 26, 2011

Sofitel

I stayed with friends to enjoy the night life . It was wonderful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago IL
May 13, 2011

Everything was perfect!

Sightseeing. Everything about the hotel was perfect - the room was clean and comfortable, the staff was pleasant and very helpful when we requested information about the city. Couldn't ask for a better hotel experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pasadena
Oct 18, 2010

Elegance in Philadelphia

We had a wonderful time doing sister-bonding with leisurely mornings in the room made lovely with the courtesy coffee from downstairs and delectible croisants that could be purchased to go with the coffee . Staff at the hotel was friendly and helpful. Our room was beautifully appointed, light and spacious. The bathroom large with nice finishes and lovely soaps and shampoos. Everything was elegant. The location was perfect - just off Rittenhouse Square with a great shopping area right outside the door, easy walk to U Penn, nice walk to river, nice walk to the south side and the Liberty Bell -

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Lovely French restaurant - 15 minute walk - Zinc - 11th and Locust - well prepared meal in lovely casual/nice atmosphere and informed staff ....divine desserts.

Back to menu Return to top