$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Sofitel Philadelphia

4 stars
View map of 120 South 17Th Street, PHILADELPHIA, PA 19103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Philadelphia

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
195 out of 195
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Baltimore, MD
Oct 13, 2010

Great Hotel

Sightseeing and birthday celebration

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chetbest
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Oct 12, 2010

Traveler Beware!

My stay at Sofitel Philadelphia was a very frustrating and unpleasant experience. Immediately upon arriving at the hotel to check in, I overheard a very angry guest from Australia having a heated discussion with the front desk manager about their egregious incidental billing policy. All hotels request a credit or debit card, from guests who have prepaid their stay, to cover incidental room charges. Generally the charge is $25 a day per person. Sofitel authorizes $100 A DAY PER PERSON - no exceptions. This means that if you and your spouse give them a debit card for a weeks stay, that $1400 is deducted from your checking account. The balance, minus room charges, at check-out is returned to your account 10 days later. My husband and I no longer use credit cards, so like the guest from Australia, I had no choice but to give them a debit card and bear the cost. What a hit in the head! You can choose to not give them a card, but then you are on a pay cash as you go for any incurred expenses - they won't even turn your phone on. I was in Philadelphia to attend a training seminar for certification, so prompt attendance was mandatory. I put in a wakeup call for 6:15 A.M. the first morning, but I never got it, and I was late to my first day of training. When I contacted the front desk they said they would look into it. I called them back that evening and they told me that their records showed that the call had been placed, but that I hadn't answered. I gave them the benefit of the doubt, but I didn't believe that I had slept through the call. So, I put in a wakeup call for the second morning, and again I didn't get one. Once again, the front desk said that I just hadn't answered. I told them that I knew that wasn't true, and that they should send someone up to fix the phones. I barely made it to my seminar on time - no shower, no breakfast , NO COFFEE! I had to call the front desk that evening yet again to follow up, and they told me the problem had been fixed - but no real apology. On the third night I ordered breakfast for the next morning so that in case the call didn't come through at least somehow I would wake up on time. I couldn't take any chances, and by this point I didn't trust them. At least I would be using up some of my incidental room charges! It wasn't necessary, because I woke up every hour on the hour because I was so paranoid about oversleeping. I was up and showered by the time the wakeup call was supposed to come in, which it didn't. I told them to send up an engineer that day to check out the phones - but again no real apology. And yet again, I received no follow-up call about the problem from the front desk. I called them and they said again the problem had been fixed, but I had them check the phone system for me and it still wasn't working. So they sent up an engineer again that evening. I told HIM what the problem was - I figured out that one of the phones was not disengaging when the receiver was hung up. Whoever had come that afternoon had merely swapped the phones from one outlet to another. He told me I was right, shook his head that the other engineer had been so incompetent and had made extra work for HIM, replaced the phones and assured me the problem was fixed. I woke up, as usual now, on the fourth morning long before the wakeup call was due. It never came in - for the FOURTH time. In fact, there was no dial tone on the phone at all, and I had to call the front desk using my cell phone. I have a very long fuse, but it had reached the end, and I was NOT nice to the front desk manger. I told him to either buy me an alarm clock, send someone up to knock on my door in the morning, or FINALLY fix the phones. THEN I got the apology I had been waiting for, and assurances that the problem would be resolved. But still I had to call THEM that evening to follow up and to check the phones. Five times the charm! Upon check-out the sixth morning, a front desk manager overheard, came over and said she h...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the restaurant 'Parc' on Rittenhouse Square - excellent French bistro cuisine - always crowded, so make a reservation. Sit in the beautiful park around 5:00 and get a real taste of everyday life in Center City Philadelphia.

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nat King
Couples
Sicklerville, NJ
Oct 12, 2010

Great hotel and great location!

This hotel was a great way to spend my boyfriend's birthday. We had a big party planned in old city and the hotel was a quick/cheap cab ride to the restauarant. The hotel staff was super friendly and helpful with all of our questions. I would definitely stay there again. The bathroom as huge and luxurious; along with the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Connecticut
Oct 5, 2010

Excellent price

We went there for a wedding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ivys
Couples
San Antonio, TX
Oct 4, 2010

Location. Clean. Large Rooms. Quiet.

We were allowed to check in early. Every night our bed was turned down and two bottles of water were left for us. Music was left on for us. No flower. Full size blow dryer, Iron +ironing board. No drawers. We did not use the concierge service and when we tried they were not available, but hotel staff was very professional and very helpful. I wish we would have known there was construction @ the main entrance- somewhat distracting when checking in; however, we did not hear any of it. Lots of restaurants and lots of shopping around the area. About 10-15 blocks from Independence/Olde City- perfect on a good day, just a short cab ride away on not a perfect day. Overall nice hotel, excellent location, plan to stay here the next time we are in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

So many restaurants and bars in the area. We ran out of time. Excellent high-end shopping too. Short cab ride to old city and their vibrant nightlife.

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Lexington, MA
Oct 4, 2010

Great Location

The location of the hotel was excellent. The room was big and facilities very clean. The service was impeccable. Unfortunately the bar was closed for renovation and the makeshift bar had no atmosphere. A coffee maker in the room would have been greatly appreciated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of dining opportunities within a very short walking distance.

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houma, LA
Oct 1, 2010

Fine Hotel in Phila.

Many of the HD-TV channels were not functional! The staffs were very pleasant except the door-men were not very engaged.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Chinatown is within walking distance.

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
long island NY
Sep 27, 2010

great price for location

great price for location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
San Francisco, CA
Aug 29, 2010

Excellent

Great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Wilmington, NC
Aug 26, 2010

great city location

Lovely hotel & very acommodating. I was there to take in several art exhibits & staff was most helpful with info & transportation. A couple of issues with items in room that needed adjustment (TV not plugged in, safe malfunction, no key to the mini bar)but they got solved easily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: In Hotel

Terrific restaurant & they offer excellent morning coffe, tea & croissant gratis...a nice touch!

Back to menu Return to top