$156 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2015 Check-out: Aug 10, 2015

Sofitel Philadelphia

4 stars
View map of 120 South 17Th Street, PHILADELPHIA, PA 19103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Philadelphia

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
194 out of 194
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PA
Mar 24, 2011

Convenient and comfortable

No nothing missing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Continental on 18th and Chestnut

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 17, 2011

Philly Trip

This hotel was a great place to stay during my weekend trip to Philadelphia with my boyfriend. It was comfortable and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit The Rum Bar for a fun pre-dinner drink!

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Detailed Traveler
Business
Indiana
Dec 27, 2010

Not the Sofitel One Has Come to Expect.

Booked a Junior Suite through [...]. After checking in, we noticed the "suite" didn't quite look like the photos.After calling the front desk and asking them to verify, we were told they "don't guarantee room types". After nicely explaining that our confirmation shows a junior suite and that I understand that most hotels don't do guarantee bed types, etc, but when guest purchase an upgrade and pay for a suite, those guests should expect a suite....After several more rounds of "you need to call [...], sorry no rooms available, your confirmation doesn't show that room type, your printout is incorrect, please hold, etc", they were able to find the correct confirmation number / room type. For nearly 1 hour, we were treated as if we were lying to staff… Not even a single apology, simply, "we found the correct confirmation number and we've sent the bellman up with a new key"Certainly not anywhere near the Sofitel experience we've come to expect. Horrible customer service and horrible (non-existent) follow-up by the hotel management.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location. However, nowhere near the 4 star experience or 5 star of a typical Sofitel. Likely a nice 2 or 3 star hotel with 1 star customer service.

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Dec 19, 2010

Great hotel with French flair

Was in town for an art opening at a nearby gallery, the hotel was conveniently located to restaurants, shopping, etc. Room was spacious, nice amenities, room service food was good, hotel staff extremely polite and the place had a wonderful continental ambience. My only disappointment was that you have to pay for high speed internet, in a place of this quality, I would have expected it to be included in the room price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out JAG Fine Art at 16th and Pine Streets, wonderful collection of original fine art and photography.

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DaMookR
Business
Brownstown Twp., MI
Dec 13, 2010

Overall Good experience

My wife and I just returned from a 4 day three night trip to Philadelphia to enjoy the Army/Navy game. We stayed at the Sofitel which was well located near public transportation, good restaurants, shopping and within about a one mile walk of many major attractions (Independence Hall, Franklin Institute, Museum of Natural Science, Mutter Museum). Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Sofitel and at $199 per night for a Jr. Suite felt we had decent value for the hotel class and location in a city like Philadelphia. A few things we liked best: The staff was very friendly and professional and made great restaurant recommendations (R2L if you want an upscale dining experience where coat and tie are not required and Pietro's for large portions of affordable casual Italian food - both of which are within 2 blks of the Hotel). The maid service was top notch, and included turn down service and complementary bottles of water. Newer flat screen tvs in both rooms and a bose wave player in the bedroom with great sound quality and a place to plug in your own MP3/IPod. The bath products were good quality and the room included complimentary robes to wear during your stay as well as a complimentary umbrella to use. There was also an in room safe for your personal possessions. The junior suite was neither small nor spacious for the class of room, it was just about what you would expect for a junior suite at a 4star hotel (500-600 sq ft). The bathroom area was nice marble and decent sized with separate shower and tub areas. Small details like loofah pads and wash mittens were included. On the "would like to see improvement side" I would point out the sofa in the sitting room was not a sleeper (I snore some nights loudly enough that my wife may switch rooms) some of the furnishing was starting to show some age, the mattress was a bit on the soft side for my wife and me who are used to sleeping on a firm memory foam bed and the bedding does not include a top sheet. Its just a bottom sheet and a down comforter. All in all the good outweighed the negative and we would consider staying there again for our next visit to Philadelphia.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington Va
Nov 30, 2010

Good Stay

We came up for the holidays to visit family. The staff was friendly. The hotel is in a good location, convenient to many things. The gym is pretty good, though they could use a few more pieces of equipment. Overall a good stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is close to shopping, restaurants, nightlife and museums

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, Ma.
Nov 29, 2010

very nice stay and great value

3 night stay while attending conference at the convention center. I was able to walk to the venue in about 12-15 min. Personnel delightful! Room spacious and comfotable. No coffee pot in the room howevere complimentary on ground floor. Much better value than hotels suggested by the conference planners and much better location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Hampshire
Nov 23, 2010

Philly Marathon Weekend

My husband and I drove down to run the Philadelphia Half Marathon....it was great! The hotel was very nice and clean, up to date. Nice workout area with treadmills etc. Only problem was we were left early AM for the rum...came back around noon and the room had not been cleaned...in fact, no one came around the rest of the day. Also, the lobby door to the stairwell was locked....so when we walked down the stairs from the 4th floor...we couldn't get out and had to walk back upstairs to an elevator....a REAL safety hazard..I mentioned it to the front desk but didn't receive an explanation. Also runners...be aware...they don't put complimentary coffee out for guests until after 6AM!....I don't know about you, but I can't run 13.1 without my AM coffee!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park your own car in a Public Parking Lot around the corner...MUCH cheaper!

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Nov 15, 2010

Great hotel!

We have stayed at this hotel several times and it is always a great experience. The rooms are clean and the beds are incredibly comfortable! Perfect for a relaxing weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lives-Out-Of-Hotels
Business
New Haven, Connecticut
Nov 12, 2010

Awesome.

I stayed at Sofitel for one evening, but I certainly wished I had a few more nights! The bathroom was marvelous and luxurious, as was the bed. Plus, the concierge was very helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

You're close to Rittenhouse Square.

Back to menu Return to top