$180 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2014 Check-out: Sep 27, 2014

Sofitel Philadelphia

4 stars
120 South 17Th Street, PHILADELPHIA, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
190 reviews
Chic & Comfortable

Gorgeously appointed, extremely spacious room. Most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Staff is... See full review

  • Singular Traveller
  • Jul 13, 2014
Amazing last minute trip

This was our first trip to Philly and our first stay at a Sofitel hotel. What a wonderful city. The... See full review

  • Aspenshuman
  • Jul 4, 2014
A hybrid of American and French design, the Sofitel Hotel Philadelphia is full of unique touches, from the Shaker quilt-inspired patterns in the stone lobby to the Art Deco lines of the suites themselves. Get your Francais fix at the Liberte Urban Chic restaurant, where both the cocktails and the pastries are precision-made, or settle in for some Continental-style brunch at the brasserie Chez Colette. Planet-21 certified for its use of eco-friendly practices and products, the Sofitel also has your personal health covered with an all-day fitness room.
Key facts
  • 306 guestrooms
  • Currency exchange
  • Wi-Fi in rooms and common areas (fees may apply)
  • Business center: copy/print
  • Fitness center
  • 2 restaurants: Liberte Urban Chic Lounge and Chez Colette
  • Valet parking
  • Indoor and outdoor wedding facilities to accommodate up to 300 guests
  • Pets allowed (2 per room, under 30lbs, fees may apply)

Neighborhood
The Sofitel's City Center West location makes it an ideal base for exploring Philadelphia, starting with the French Quarter neighborhood of the hotel itself. A short walk from The Shops at Liberty Place, massive performing arts venue the Kimmel Center, and the Walnut Theatre, visitors can pick and choose both cultural and retail paths. City Hall Metro stop is a few blocks away for roaming the city further, but you can still get to major historic sites like the Liberty Bell and Independence Hall on foot (around a mile away).
Hints and tips
Looking forward to checking out the Philly art scene while you're in town? The Sofitel Philadelphia is right near The Barnes Foundation, where guests can tour Impressionist and Post-Impressionist works, as well as tribal artwork from all over the world.

The Rodin Museum is also well worth visiting, for its 150-plus collection of legendary sculptures.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.9508 -75.1689
Nearby airports
PHL, (PHL), 13.60, KM, N; PNE, (PNE), 32.00, KM, S;
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sofitel Philadelphia also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Sofitel Philadelphia Rooms

2 Db beds Dlx
LUXURY ROOM - 2 double beds, Sunny Exposure. 35 sqm/400 sq. ft.; Sunny Exposure; Marble bathroom w/ Glass enclosed shower and separate tub; Working Desk and Sitting Area w/ Coffee Table; Bathrobe and Slippers with Lanvin Amenities; Complimentary WIFI
1 Kg bed Sup
Superior Room with 1 King Bed. 30 sqm/350 sq.ft.; Marble bathroom w/ separate shower & tub; Work Desk & Sitting Area w/ Coffee Table; Bathrobe and Slippers with Lanvin Amenities; Complimentary WIFI; Rollaway upon request (subject to additional charges a
JrSuite 1 Kg bed
JUNIOR SUITE - 1 King size bed, extra living room. 45 sqm/500 sq. ft.; Separate Living Room and Bedroom with King Bed; Marble bathroom w/ Separate Shower and Tub; Work Desk and Sitting Area w/ Coffee Table; Bathrobe and Slippers with Lanvin amenities; C
1 Kg bed Dlx
LUXURY ROOM - 1 king size bed, Sunny Exposure. 35 sqm/400 sq.ft.; Sunny Exposure; Marble bathroom w/ separate shower & tub; Work Desk & Sitting Area w/ Coffee Table; Robe & Slippers w/ Lanvin Amenities; Complimentary WIFI; Rollaway upon request (subject

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Florist
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Shower
Iron
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.1 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.1 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.5 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.5 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.6 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.2 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.8 mi

Dining

CHEZ COLETTE
Savor an irresistible breakfast or a Sunday brunch in Chez Colette, our charming brasserie, also available for private events.
LIBERTE URBAN CHIC LOUNGE
Discover Liberté Urban Lounge, a chic downtown hot spot serving hand-crafted cocktails and contemporary, French-inspired food in one of the city's loveliest settings.
LIBERTE URBAN CHIC LOUNGE
Liberté chic urban lounge serving cocktails and contemporary French-inspired food in one of the city's loveliest settings.Gather with friends at the bar, Share an intimate moment in the lounge along the fireplace, or enjoy a meal in the dining area.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (190)

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Philadelphia

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
190 out of 190
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GinaDaz
West Chester
Apr 15, 2013

Best Anniversary EVER... Thanks to the Sofitel!!!

I can honestly say that I can't think of one negative thing here. The staff was so incredibly nice - they altered my original opinion of Philadelphia customer service. We will definitely be back!!! Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Davio's Italian restaurant right across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey
Dec 19, 2010

Great hotel with French flair

Was in town for an art opening at a nearby gallery, the hotel was conveniently located to restaurants, shopping, etc. Room was spacious, nice amenities, room service food was good, hotel staff extremely polite and the place had a wonderful continental ambience. My only disappointment was that you have to pay for high speed internet, in a place of this quality, I would have expected it to be included in the room price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out JAG Fine Art at 16th and Pine Streets, wonderful collection of original fine art and photography.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DaMookR
Brownstown Twp., MI
Dec 13, 2010

Overall Good experience

My wife and I just returned from a 4 day three night trip to Philadelphia to enjoy the Army/Navy game. We stayed at the Sofitel which was well located near public transportation, good restaurants, shopping and within about a one mile walk of many major attractions (Independence Hall, Franklin Institute, Museum of Natural Science, Mutter Museum). Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Sofitel and at $199 per night for a Jr. Suite felt we had decent value for the hotel class and location in a city like Philadelphia. A few things we liked best: The staff was very friendly and professional and made great restaurant recommendations (R2L if you want an upscale dining experience where coat and tie are not required and Pietro's for large portions of affordable casual Italian food - both of which are within 2 blks of the Hotel). The maid service was top notch, and included turn down service and complementary bottles of water. Newer flat screen tvs in both rooms and a bose wave player in the bedroom with great sound quality and a place to plug in your own MP3/IPod. The bath products were good quality and the room included complimentary robes to wear during your stay as well as a complimentary umbrella to use. There was also an in room safe for your personal possessions. The junior suite was neither small nor spacious for the class of room, it was just about what you would expect for a junior suite at a 4star hotel (500-600 sq ft). The bathroom area was nice marble and decent sized with separate shower and tub areas. Small details like loofah pads and wash mittens were included. On the "would like to see improvement side" I would point out the sofa in the sitting room was not a sleeper (I snore some nights loudly enough that my wife may switch rooms) some of the furnishing was starting to show some age, the mattress was a bit on the soft side for my wife and me who are used to sleeping on a firm memory foam bed and the bedding does not include a top sheet. Its just a bottom sheet and a down comforter. All in all the good outweighed the negative and we would consider staying there again for our next visit to Philadelphia.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Arlington Va
Nov 30, 2010

Good Stay

We came up for the holidays to visit family. The staff was friendly. The hotel is in a good location, convenient to many things. The gym is pretty good, though they could use a few more pieces of equipment. Overall a good stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is close to shopping, restaurants, nightlife and museums

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, Ma.
Nov 29, 2010

very nice stay and great value

3 night stay while attending conference at the convention center. I was able to walk to the venue in about 12-15 min. Personnel delightful! Room spacious and comfotable. No coffee pot in the room howevere complimentary on ground floor. Much better value than hotels suggested by the conference planners and much better location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Hampshire
Nov 23, 2010

Philly Marathon Weekend

My husband and I drove down to run the Philadelphia Half Marathon....it was great! The hotel was very nice and clean, up to date. Nice workout area with treadmills etc. Only problem was we were left early AM for the rum...came back around noon and the room had not been cleaned...in fact, no one came around the rest of the day. Also, the lobby door to the stairwell was locked....so when we walked down the stairs from the 4th floor...we couldn't get out and had to walk back upstairs to an elevator....a REAL safety hazard..I mentioned it to the front desk but didn't receive an explanation. Also runners...be aware...they don't put complimentary coffee out for guests until after 6AM!....I don't know about you, but I can't run 13.1 without my AM coffee!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park your own car in a Public Parking Lot around the corner...MUCH cheaper!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SLP Shopper
Ithaca, NY
Nov 22, 2010

Nice and comfortable

Staff was great. Bed was fantastic. Shower was snazzy. The only complaint I have is that a security guard was quite abrupt with me when I stepped out of my room for a phone call in the early evening - I suppose he was just making sure the halls and rooms were safe, but I was a paying guest! I would stay again. I went with friends, but it would be a great place for a couple to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Nov 15, 2010

Great hotel!

We have stayed at this hotel several times and it is always a great experience. The rooms are clean and the beds are incredibly comfortable! Perfect for a relaxing weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lives-Out-Of-Hotels
Business
New Haven, Connecticut
Nov 12, 2010

Awesome.

I stayed at Sofitel for one evening, but I certainly wished I had a few more nights! The bathroom was marvelous and luxurious, as was the bed. Plus, the concierge was very helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

You're close to Rittenhouse Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Scarsdale, NY
Nov 9, 2010

Fantastic

The Hotel was clean- well located- the staff were professional and it was a pleasure staying there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Colorado
Nov 9, 2010

Easy access to cool stuff and comfort

The hotel is on a corner of Sansome street which has everything you could possibly need on it. There's just a ton of great stuff in a couple of blocks walk. So, we were very pleased with the location. The hotel was very nice. Fantastic amazing bed. I think they actually need the location and great stuff nearby to lure you out of the comfortable bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great Anthropologie store just around the corner. Awesome!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search