$112 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Sofitel Philadelphia

4 stars
120 South 17Th Street, PHILADELPHIA, PA 19103
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
196 reviews
One night getaway

The Sofitel exceeded our expectations for a small hotel it was elegant with well appointed décor,... See full review

  • Matthew's Mom
  • Oct 17, 2014
perfect in many ways

very very good choice, i was satisfied in many ways. Two small details got bonus points: 1. I... See full review

  • Erich5
  • Sep 21, 2014
A hybrid of American and French design, the Sofitel Hotel Philadelphia is full of unique touches, from the Shaker quilt-inspired patterns in the stone lobby to the Art Deco lines of the suites themselves. Get your Francais fix at the Liberte Urban Chic restaurant, where both the cocktails and the pastries are precision-made, or settle in for some Continental-style brunch at the brasserie Chez Colette. Planet-21 certified for its use of eco-friendly practices and products, the Sofitel also has your personal health covered with an all-day fitness room.
Key facts
  • 306 guestrooms
  • Currency exchange
  • Wi-Fi in rooms and common areas (fees may apply)
  • Business center: copy/print
  • Fitness center
  • 2 restaurants: Liberte Urban Chic Lounge and Chez Colette
  • Valet parking
  • Indoor and outdoor wedding facilities to accommodate up to 300 guests
  • Pets allowed (2 per room, under 30lbs, fees may apply)

Neighborhood
The Sofitel's City Center West location makes it an ideal base for exploring Philadelphia, starting with the French Quarter neighborhood of the hotel itself. A short walk from The Shops at Liberty Place, massive performing arts venue the Kimmel Center, and the Walnut Theatre, visitors can pick and choose both cultural and retail paths. City Hall Metro stop is a few blocks away for roaming the city further, but you can still get to major historic sites like the Liberty Bell and Independence Hall on foot (around a mile away).
Hints and tips
Looking forward to checking out the Philly art scene while you're in town? The Sofitel Philadelphia is right near The Barnes Foundation, where guests can tour Impressionist and Post-Impressionist works, as well as tribal artwork from all over the world.

The Rodin Museum is also well worth visiting, for its 150-plus collection of legendary sculptures.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sofitel Philadelphia also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Sofitel Philadelphia Rooms

2 Db beds Dlx
LUXURY ROOM - 2 double beds, Sunny Exposure. 35 sqm/400 sq. ft.; Sunny Exposure; Marble bathroom w/ Glass enclosed shower and separate tub; Working Desk and Sitting Area w/ Coffee Table; Bathrobe and Slippers with Lanvin Amenities; Complimentary WIFI
1 Kg bed Sup
Superior Room with 1 King Bed. 30 sqm/350 sq.ft.; Marble bathroom w/ separate shower & tub; Work Desk & Sitting Area w/ Coffee Table; Bathrobe and Slippers with Lanvin Amenities; Complimentary WIFI; Rollaway upon request (subject to additional charges a
JrSuite 1 Kg bed
JUNIOR SUITE - 1 King size bed, extra living room. 45 sqm/500 sq. ft.; Separate Living Room and Bedroom with King Bed; Marble bathroom w/ Separate Shower and Tub; Work Desk and Sitting Area w/ Coffee Table; Bathrobe and Slippers with Lanvin amenities; C
1 Kg bed Dlx
LUXURY ROOM - 1 king size bed, Sunny Exposure. 35 sqm/400 sq.ft.; Sunny Exposure; Marble bathroom w/ separate shower & tub; Work Desk & Sitting Area w/ Coffee Table; Robe & Slippers w/ Lanvin Amenities; Complimentary WIFI; Rollaway upon request (subject

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Florist
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Shower
Iron
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.1 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.1 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.5 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.5 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.6 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.2 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.8 mi

Dining

CHEZ COLETTE
Savor an irresistible breakfast or a Sunday brunch in Chez Colette, our charming brasserie, also available for private events.
LIBERTE URBAN CHIC LOUNGE
Discover Liberté Urban Lounge, a chic downtown hot spot serving hand-crafted cocktails and contemporary, French-inspired food in one of the city's loveliest settings.
LIBERTE URBAN CHIC LOUNGE
Liberté chic urban lounge serving cocktails and contemporary French-inspired food in one of the city's loveliest settings.Gather with friends at the bar, Share an intimate moment in the lounge along the fireplace, or enjoy a meal in the dining area.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (196)

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Philadelphia

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
196 out of 196
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rosiecaposie
Mount Laurel, NJ
Jan 3, 2013

Amazing!

I def consider myself a hotel snob and LOVE staying at this hotel. Location is perfect. Lounge is cozy and romantic, bed is super comfy, amenities are high end.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago IL
May 13, 2011

Everything was perfect!

Sightseeing. Everything about the hotel was perfect - the room was clean and comfortable, the staff was pleasant and very helpful when we requested information about the city. Couldn't ask for a better hotel experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nyc nan
Business
NY, NY
Apr 25, 2011

Highly Recommended

As we are a NYC couple with high standards and have stayed at 5-star properties, we were quite impressed with the Sofitel in the French Section. Overall concierge services were excellent. We were treated as special guests with trays of deserts and fresh fruits as we celebrated our anniversary. Comfortable upgraded suite with a big king bed and bath with L'Occitane products with modern decor. Early checkin and late checkout. State of the art gym with fresh apples. Hope to return and/or stay at other Sofitel properties. Purpose of visit: to tour Barnes Museum, Philadelphia Museum of Art and Independence Park. On a scale of 1 to 10, this was a 10 and probably one of the best weekend trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

SEPTA transit very easy to navigate as it goes to all the cultural attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago
Apr 23, 2011

Comfortable and luxurious

a quick visit. Wonderful room service. Give yourself plenty of time to retrieve your car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
Apr 16, 2011

Philadelphia Sofitel stay

Stayed on the 8th floor....bed was extremely comfortable..good wine selection in the hotel bar....staff was extremely friendly and very helpful....towels and linens were awsome..didn't expect the bathrobe!!!! Hallways were a bit noisy, but I think there were smaller children on my floor. Would definetely stay again when I am in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PA
Mar 24, 2011

Convenient and comfortable

No nothing missing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Continental on 18th and Chestnut

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 17, 2011

Philly Trip

This hotel was a great place to stay during my weekend trip to Philadelphia with my boyfriend. It was comfortable and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit The Rum Bar for a fun pre-dinner drink!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Detailed Traveler
Business
Indiana
Dec 27, 2010

Not the Sofitel One Has Come to Expect.

Booked a Junior Suite through [...]. After checking in, we noticed the "suite" didn't quite look like the photos.After calling the front desk and asking them to verify, we were told they "don't guarantee room types". After nicely explaining that our confirmation shows a junior suite and that I understand that most hotels don't do guarantee bed types, etc, but when guest purchase an upgrade and pay for a suite, those guests should expect a suite....After several more rounds of "you need to call [...], sorry no rooms available, your confirmation doesn't show that room type, your printout is incorrect, please hold, etc", they were able to find the correct confirmation number / room type. For nearly 1 hour, we were treated as if we were lying to staff… Not even a single apology, simply, "we found the correct confirmation number and we've sent the bellman up with a new key"Certainly not anywhere near the Sofitel experience we've come to expect. Horrible customer service and horrible (non-existent) follow-up by the hotel management.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location. However, nowhere near the 4 star experience or 5 star of a typical Sofitel. Likely a nice 2 or 3 star hotel with 1 star customer service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Dec 19, 2010

Great hotel with French flair

Was in town for an art opening at a nearby gallery, the hotel was conveniently located to restaurants, shopping, etc. Room was spacious, nice amenities, room service food was good, hotel staff extremely polite and the place had a wonderful continental ambience. My only disappointment was that you have to pay for high speed internet, in a place of this quality, I would have expected it to be included in the room price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out JAG Fine Art at 16th and Pine Streets, wonderful collection of original fine art and photography.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DaMookR
Business
Brownstown Twp., MI
Dec 13, 2010

Overall Good experience

My wife and I just returned from a 4 day three night trip to Philadelphia to enjoy the Army/Navy game. We stayed at the Sofitel which was well located near public transportation, good restaurants, shopping and within about a one mile walk of many major attractions (Independence Hall, Franklin Institute, Museum of Natural Science, Mutter Museum). Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Sofitel and at $199 per night for a Jr. Suite felt we had decent value for the hotel class and location in a city like Philadelphia. A few things we liked best: The staff was very friendly and professional and made great restaurant recommendations (R2L if you want an upscale dining experience where coat and tie are not required and Pietro's for large portions of affordable casual Italian food - both of which are within 2 blks of the Hotel). The maid service was top notch, and included turn down service and complementary bottles of water. Newer flat screen tvs in both rooms and a bose wave player in the bedroom with great sound quality and a place to plug in your own MP3/IPod. The bath products were good quality and the room included complimentary robes to wear during your stay as well as a complimentary umbrella to use. There was also an in room safe for your personal possessions. The junior suite was neither small nor spacious for the class of room, it was just about what you would expect for a junior suite at a 4star hotel (500-600 sq ft). The bathroom area was nice marble and decent sized with separate shower and tub areas. Small details like loofah pads and wash mittens were included. On the "would like to see improvement side" I would point out the sofa in the sitting room was not a sleeper (I snore some nights loudly enough that my wife may switch rooms) some of the furnishing was starting to show some age, the mattress was a bit on the soft side for my wife and me who are used to sleeping on a firm memory foam bed and the bedding does not include a top sheet. Its just a bottom sheet and a down comforter. All in all the good outweighed the negative and we would consider staying there again for our next visit to Philadelphia.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington Va
Nov 30, 2010

Good Stay

We came up for the holidays to visit family. The staff was friendly. The hotel is in a good location, convenient to many things. The gym is pretty good, though they could use a few more pieces of equipment. Overall a good stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is close to shopping, restaurants, nightlife and museums

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top