$157 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 23, 2014

Sofitel Philadelphia

4 stars
120 South 17Th Street, PHILADELPHIA, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
331 reviews
Chic & Comfortable

Gorgeously appointed, extremely spacious room. Most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Staff is... See full review

  • Singular Traveller
  • Jul 13, 2014
Amazing last minute trip

This was our first trip to Philly and our first stay at a Sofitel hotel. What a wonderful city. The... See full review

  • Aspenshuman
  • Jul 4, 2014
A hybrid of American and French design, the Sofitel Hotel Philadelphia is full of unique touches, from the Shaker quilt-inspired patterns in the stone lobby to the Art Deco lines of the suites themselves. Get your Francais fix at the Liberte Urban Chic restaurant, where both the cocktails and the pastries are precision-made, or settle in for some Continental-style brunch at the brasserie Chez Colette. Planet-21 certified for its use of eco-friendly practices and products, the Sofitel also has your personal health covered with an all-day fitness room.
Key facts
  • 306 guestrooms
  • Currency exchange
  • Wi-Fi in rooms and common areas (fees may apply)
  • Business center: copy/print
  • Fitness center
  • 2 restaurants: Liberte Urban Chic Lounge and Chez Colette
  • Valet parking
  • Indoor and outdoor wedding facilities to accommodate up to 300 guests
  • Pets allowed (2 per room, under 30lbs, fees may apply)

Neighborhood
The Sofitel's City Center West location makes it an ideal base for exploring Philadelphia, starting with the French Quarter neighborhood of the hotel itself. A short walk from The Shops at Liberty Place, massive performing arts venue the Kimmel Center, and the Walnut Theatre, visitors can pick and choose both cultural and retail paths. City Hall Metro stop is a few blocks away for roaming the city further, but you can still get to major historic sites like the Liberty Bell and Independence Hall on foot (around a mile away).
Hints and tips
Looking forward to checking out the Philly art scene while you're in town? The Sofitel Philadelphia is right near The Barnes Foundation, where guests can tour Impressionist and Post-Impressionist works, as well as tribal artwork from all over the world.

The Rodin Museum is also well worth visiting, for its 150-plus collection of legendary sculptures.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.9508 -75.1689
Nearby airports
PHL, (PHL), 13.60, KM, N; PNE, (PNE), 32.00, KM, S;
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sofitel Philadelphia also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Sofitel Philadelphia Rooms

2 Db beds Dlx
LUXURY ROOM - 2 double beds, Sunny Exposure. 35 sqm/400 sq. ft.; Sunny Exposure; Marble bathroom w/ Glass enclosed shower and separate tub; Working Desk and Sitting Area w/ Coffee Table; Bathrobe and Slippers with Lanvin Amenities; Complimentary WIFI
1 Kg bed Sup
Superior Room with 1 King Bed. 30 sqm/350 sq.ft.; Marble bathroom w/ separate shower & tub; Work Desk & Sitting Area w/ Coffee Table; Bathrobe and Slippers with Lanvin Amenities; Complimentary WIFI; Rollaway upon request (subject to additional charges a
JrSuite 1 Kg bed
JUNIOR SUITE - 1 King size bed, extra living room. 45 sqm/500 sq. ft.; Separate Living Room and Bedroom with King Bed; Marble bathroom w/ Separate Shower and Tub; Work Desk and Sitting Area w/ Coffee Table; Bathrobe and Slippers with Lanvin amenities; C
1 Kg bed Dlx
LUXURY ROOM - 1 king size bed, Sunny Exposure. 35 sqm/400 sq.ft.; Sunny Exposure; Marble bathroom w/ separate shower & tub; Work Desk & Sitting Area w/ Coffee Table; Robe & Slippers w/ Lanvin Amenities; Complimentary WIFI; Rollaway upon request (subject

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Florist
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Shower
Iron
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.1 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.1 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.5 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.5 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.6 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.2 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.8 mi

Dining

CHEZ COLETTE
Savor an irresistible breakfast or a Sunday brunch in Chez Colette, our charming brasserie, also available for private events.
LIBERTE URBAN CHIC LOUNGE
Discover Liberté Urban Lounge, a chic downtown hot spot serving hand-crafted cocktails and contemporary, French-inspired food in one of the city's loveliest settings.
LIBERTE URBAN CHIC LOUNGE
Liberté chic urban lounge serving cocktails and contemporary French-inspired food in one of the city's loveliest settings.Gather with friends at the bar, Share an intimate moment in the lounge along the fireplace, or enjoy a meal in the dining area.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (331)

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Philadelphia

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
331 out of 331
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Horizon407
San Francisco, CA, USA
Jun 25, 2013

Great Hotel in Center City

Probably the most comfortable bed I have slept in. Room was clean, comfortable, and the hotel is located right in center city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bainbridge Is, WA
Dec 20, 2009

great location and comfort

The rooms were very comfortable and spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Alma de cuba was an amazing restaurant a block away.

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Harrisburg, PA
Dec 19, 2009

Very Nice

This trip was part of a Christmas present for my girlfriend. We checked into the hotel quickly via the friendly staff, and were very impressed with the room. We went to the Flyers game later that night, and when we got back to the hotel we decided to get some room service. They were very quick (food arrived in 15 minutes), and the food was delicious. The bed was one of the most comfortable we've ever slept in. We didn't want to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Harrisburg, PA
Dec 19, 2009

Very Nice

This trip was part of a Christmas present for my girlfriend. We checked into the hotel quickly via the friendly staff, and were very impressed with the room. We went to the Flyers game later that night, and when we got back to the hotel we decided to get some room service. They were very quick (food arrived in 15 minutes), and the food was delicious. The bed was one of the most comfortable we've ever slept in. We didn't want to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yoshidax
Bethlehem, PA
Dec 6, 2009

Pleasant and comfortable

Welcoming staff from beginning to end. We drove into the entrance area that was filled with cars. A doorman quickly came up to take our car and direct us into the hotel. The check-in was efficient as was the check-out. At check-out, we were reminded that complementary coffee and tea were available in the hotel restaurant. The coffee was top notch, delicious. The room was spacious with a king along with a working desk and sofa. The flat screen television was at least 42 inches with a reasonable menu of channels. The bathroom had both a tub and shower. L'Occitane products were provided. The towels and bathrobes were nice and fluffy. Everything was clean and orderly. Our only wish was that the hotel had a steam bath or sauna in its fitness room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A full range of dining options are within a 5 minute walk of the hotel from Le Bec Fin to small coffee shops.

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yoshidax
Bethlehem, PA
Dec 6, 2009

Pleasant and comfortable

Welcoming staff from beginning to end. We drove into the entrance area that was filled with cars. A doorman quickly came up to take our car and direct us into the hotel. The check-in was efficient as was the check-out. At check-out, we were reminded that complementary coffee and tea were available in the hotel restaurant. The coffee was top notch, delicious. The room was spacious with a king along with a working desk and sofa. The flat screen television was at least 42 inches with a reasonable menu of channels. The bathroom had both a tub and shower. L'Occitane products were provided. The towels and bathrobes were nice and fluffy. Everything was clean and orderly. Our only wish was that the hotel had a steam bath or sauna in its fitness room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A full range of dining options are within a 5 minute walk of the hotel from Le Bec Fin to small coffee shops.

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MAM
Chicago, IL
Nov 29, 2009

Good Value - not so great service

The rooms are great at the Sofitel - quite large and very comfortable. Unfortunately, on both mornings we attempted to eat at Chez Colette, we were kept waiting despite the obvious availability of many tables. On the first morning, we waited for 15 minutes and left. On the second morning, we were asked if we had a reservation (for breakfast?) and were then told - with a half-empty restaurant - that the wait would be 15 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Butcher & Singer restaurant - excellent!

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MLD
Atlanta, GA
Nov 29, 2009

Spacious Room! Comfy Bed! Great Service

There for the holidays to visit family. The room was very nice and comfortable. French doors added great ambience. Wood finishings a little worn. Great to have two tvs in the suite. Bed was great! Food and service very good! Location spectacular. Only complaint is that a late afternoon shower was delayed as it took 15 minutes for water to get hot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MAM
Chicago, IL
Nov 29, 2009

Good Value - not so great service

The rooms are great at the Sofitel - quite large and very comfortable. Unfortunately, on both mornings we attempted to eat at Chez Colette, we were kept waiting despite the obvious availability of many tables. On the first morning, we waited for 15 minutes and left. On the second morning, we were asked if we had a reservation (for breakfast?) and were then told - with a half-empty restaurant - that the wait would be 15 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Butcher & Singer restaurant - excellent!

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MLD
Atlanta, GA
Nov 29, 2009

Spacious Room! Comfy Bed! Great Service

There for the holidays to visit family. The room was very nice and comfortable. French doors added great ambience. Wood finishings a little worn. Great to have two tvs in the suite. Bed was great! Food and service very good! Location spectacular. Only complaint is that a late afternoon shower was delayed as it took 15 minutes for water to get hot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dog Mom
Oakland CA
Nov 29, 2009

Sofitel Philadelphia

Good location and very nice room. The feather bed takes some getting used to, and the duvet cover was too hot for us. We had a junior suite so our son could come from college (19yo) and spend Thanksgiving weekend with us and see the sights of Philadelphia. Very nice fitness room. They will allow up to 2 dogs per room, if you are traveling with your animals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top