$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 10, 2015 Check-out: Apr 13, 2015

Sofitel Philadelphia

4 stars
View map of 120 South 17Th Street, PHILADELPHIA, PA 19103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Philadelphia

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
203 out of 203
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brendan from Chinatown
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 22, 2013

Would recommend to anyone

This was my first stay at Sofitel. From the get go I knew it would be excellent. The valet insisted on carrying my one bag in for me, the concierge was very friendly, and the room was huge. The bed, the most important part of the room, was incredible. I am not a soft mattress kind of guy by any means, but tt was so good that I am considering calling them to ask what pillow-top padding they use. The WiFi was excellent compared to some other hotels spotty service. The room service is very good and very reasonably priced. My one gripe was the I was next to the gym and could hear people on the treadmill late in to the night. I would also like to call out poor gym etiquette guy (you know who you are) for DROPPING YOUR WEIGHTS. Put them down next time, don't just drop them. You'll damage the floor. It's also a very loud thing to do at 5am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wife of a history nut
Business
Sharon Grove, KY
Apr 22, 2009

"Something out of the Movies"

The location of the hotel was great. It was right in the middle of town, we were able to walk to everything we wanted to see, Independence Hall, Museum of Arts, shopping, resturants. If we didn't want to walk we were able to use the city bus system or the subway. It was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Farm traveler
Business
Southern California
Mar 3, 2009

Sofiteln Philadelphia

Very comfortable room. Location was great. We only stayed one night, but we would definately go back in a heartbeat. Since this was a business trip and only lasted 24 hours, we didn't tour the city at all. But, we did notice all of the nearby attractions. This hotel had the best restaurant. At first glance we didn't think much of it becuase of the decor, but when we ate there, it was amazing. Great food. Valet parking could use a weaking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PA
Mar 3, 2009

Great Staff and Service

Excellent staff, nice room, good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Resturant was unexpectedly very very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cape Cod, Ma
Mar 3, 2009

Great Hotel and Great Price

Very professional and very satisfied

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El Dorado Hills
Dec 19, 2008

Comfortable, quiet, and good service.

I enjoyed my stay at the Sofitel. The bed was very comfortable. My room was very quiet and I got a good night's sleep. The room service was quick and the food was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Schaumburg, IL
Oct 1, 2008

Construction

Overall the hotel was very nice - however, It was my misfortune to have a room that overlooked an alley. Around 4:30/5:00 each morning, garbage trucks went down the alley lifting and slamming the huge dumpsters for about 30 minutes. It sounded like they were literally right outside my window. There was also quite a bit of construction of various kinds around the hotel which contributed to the noise level as well as made it a bit difficult to get around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Alma de Cuba - is a fantastic cuban/latin restaurant within about a $5.00 cab drive from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 21, 2008

great getaway weekend.

This was a great getaway weekend hotel. Great location, close to everything. Staff was very helpful if you needed it. Great suggestions by the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Movies, history ect.....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 12, 2008

Great Room!

We had a suite and it was so nice! After a red-eye flight, the bed was perfection. Big, spacious room. Comfy couch, huge bathroom. I was disappointed that there wasn't a view but it was such a great room that I would stay there again in a heartbeat. And I would highly recommend it to friends/family!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Aug 9, 2008

Room

The room was great. Had a great HD TV and the bed was very comfortable. Had a nice desk for me to work from as well. Bathroom was large and had a great shower. Very close to everything in Philadelphia.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything in downtown Philadelphia.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 13, 2008

Great Hotel!

While waiting to check in, I heard one staff member remark to a fellow guest that the beds in the rooms were so comfortable they were like sleeping on a cloud. Needless to say, my inner skeptic thought it was going to be all downhill from there. After an extremely smooth, quick and easy check-in, I rode the beautiful elevator to my floor and walked down the immaculately clean hallway to my room. Upon entering the room, I was instantly impressed with the cleanliness and the size of the room. I was very impressed, until I opened the bathroom door....and then I was EXTREMELY impressed! Normally, I view a bathroom, especially in a hotel, purely for its function, but this was no ordinary bathroom. Beautiful marble sink, separate shower and bath.....it was immaculate. My only regret about the hotel is that I did not stay longer, I highly recommend the Sofitel to ANYONE! Oh, and the bed? Comparing it to sleeping on a cloud doesn't do it any justice. I almost slept through checkout!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Whether you are looking for fine dining, small cafe's, the theater, bars or just a nice walk through a busy city, the hotel is in a prime location for all of those options. If you don't feel like leaving, the hotel bar is magnificent as well!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top