$138 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Sofitel Philadelphia

4 stars
View map of 120 South 17Th Street, PHILADELPHIA, PA 19103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Philadelphia

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
214 out of 214
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 19, 2009

Great hotel, great location

The hotel was located in a great area in Center City that was still lively at night. There were a lot of great restaurants close by, shopping as well, yet still close to the train station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
S. Brunswick NJ
Nov 17, 2009

Ultimate comfort and convienece

The location,in the heart of Rittenhouse Square, was perfect. convienent to great restaurants and shopping. Rooms were nicely appointed and spacious. The staff and services were top notch. Best of all was the Down comforter and pillows, COMFORTABLE!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cuban Restaurant, Alma de Cuba, is a must. only half block away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
D&J
Business
Boca Raton, FL
Nov 15, 2009

Great hotel!

Great room, nice closets, great room service, great location! Lots of shopping, cafes, etc. in the blocks surrounding the hotel. Staff was friendly and the beds were comfortable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

18th St. has a great chocolate cafe - Naked Chocolate Cafe. A must try!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
K&V
Business
Palm Beach, FL
Nov 2, 2009

Good Value

very nice spot. walking distance to most restaurants and attractions in center city and close to rittenhouse square

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Monk's Cafe for the best beers, burgers, belgian fries, mussels and wonderful desserts and coffee

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
philadelphia, pa
Oct 31, 2009

disappointed

planned a romantic night with my husband. We were disappointed in the bathroom. Finished my shower before water got hot enough to even make steam. Same with trying to fill a bubble bath. Bathroom was pretty, but stone floor also made it cold. Kept looking for a heat light to warm it up. We just expected better for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Burbank, CA
Oct 29, 2009

My Go To Hotel In Philly!!

Came here in July and i loved it, came back in Oct and i still love it! i came to philly to visit my bf and wanted to stay somewhere that was near food, shopping, the city and tourist stuff. this place is perfect. its a little upscale, which i like. shopping was the next street down (2 H&M's!) China Town/ Redding Market is a brisk 15min walk away. The airport is about 15-20mins away with no traffic, and the concierge guys are AMAZING. they will help you with any question you have (help get concert tickets, reccomend a place to eat, get you a shuttle to the airport, etc) room service is a bit pricey and when i came in july valet was a bit of a pain, but i would def come again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Oct 26, 2009

Autumn in Philly

During our stay in Philadelphia we toured all the museums, historical sights and unique areas, as well as the University of Pennsylvania campus. This hotel was in a great central location, with access to the subways for far off destinations but also within walking distance of many destinations. There was great shopping and dining within close proximity of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
megabride
Business
NJ
Oct 13, 2009

Very nice!

My fiancee and I stayed at the hotel because it was right across the street from where we attended a wedding at Davio's. The room could have been cleaned better but the bed was very comfy. The bathroom was ok but it too could have been cleaned a little bit better for a luxury hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Round Rock, Texas
Sep 22, 2009

Great accomodations

Ran the 1/2 marathon and did sight seeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mason, Ohio
Sep 21, 2009

Bumpy Start, but ended Fabulous

Our husbands had a conference at another hotel a couple of blocks away, so we chose Sofitel for location to their conference, shopping and dining. However, upon arrival on a late Tuesday night, front staff informed us our rooms were taken (this was prepaid rooms from 4 weeks ago!) They gave us a free night at the Sheraton and a cab ride. Sheraton is obviously not the same as the luxury-Sofitel. I had to get on the phone with Orbitz and ask for a room comp (since deal was stay 3 nights; get one free at Sofitel). It took half a day, but [...] at Orbitz customer service was extremely helpful in negotiating with Sofitel's reservations manager, so we will get a credit for an additional night.We ended up with 2 larger Suites for our troubles and some pastries and bottled water. After our room issues were resolved, Sofitel proved to be a nice, quiet hotel and has a fabulous locaton for the theatre, fine shopping and great local food!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

During the month of September, lots of restaurants are offering 3-4 course meals for as low as $30 !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top