$150 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

Sofitel Philadelphia

4 stars
120 South 17Th Street, PHILADELPHIA, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
187 reviews
Center City Getaway

An elegant yet hip hotel with a great location! Just minutes from all the great shops, restaurants... See full review

  • Kris Andrews
  • Jan 22, 2014
Great Hotel in Center City

Probably the most comfortable bed I have slept in. Room was clean, comfortable, and the hotel is... See full review

  • Horizon407
  • Jun 25, 2013
French elegance and Philadelphia hospitality at this Center City hotel
The Sofitel Philadelphia is elegant and refined and well suited for business and leisure travelers. The Sofitel is located steps from Rittenhouse Square's shops and restaurants and serves as the cornerstone of Philadelphia's new French Quarter. Rooms emphasize comfort and convenience. Each offers a fully stocked mini-bar and luxurious French bath amenities. Chez Colette, the hotel's chic French-style cafe, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner in an atmosphere that evokes Paris in the 1920s. A morning coffee station on site with espresso machine and espresso pods, a fresh whole fruit, pastries (until 8:00 am) and add-ons like vanilla, cinnamon, syrup is available for free.
Highlights
  • Excellent Center City location, built on the site of the former Philadelphia Stock Exchange
  • Listed as one of the year's best hotels in the 2009 Travel + Leisure 500
  • Lobby lounge/bar with floor-to-ceiling windows


Location

The Sofitel Philadelphia is in the middle of the city's French Quarter, steps from the Walnut Street shopping corridor and Rittenhouse Square, and a mile from the convention center.

Rooms
Accommodations at the Sofitel are warm and inviting and reflect a contemporary French and American style. Each of the 306 guestrooms and suites in the 14-story hotel includes goose down duvets, a 37-inch flat screen TV, sitting area, marble bathroom with glass-enclosed shower and separate tub, L'Occitane bath amenities, high-speed Internet access, a Bose sound system and nightly turndown service.

Features
The staff includes a doorman and concierge who can arrange tour and ticket assistance, wedding services, event catering and dry cleaning/laundry services. A state-of-the-art fitness center is open 24 hours. Pets are allowed (call for details).


Transportation
  • SEPTA Subway Walnut-Locust Station (3 minutes)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (5 minutes)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (7 minutes)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (19 minutes)
Attractions
  • Rittenhouse Square (0.2 mi/ 0.32 km)  
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • City Hall (0.9 mi/ 1.45 km)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Independence Hall (1.2 mi/ 2 km)
  • University of Pennsylvania (1.5 mi/ 2.4 km)
  • Professional Sports/Concert Venues (4 mi/ 6.4 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (6.4 mi/ 10.2 km)
  • Sesame Place (27 mi/ 43 km)
Business

  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Audio-visual equipment
  • Banquet facilities
  • Event catering
  • Exhibit space
  • Multiple conference/meeting rooms
  • Dry cleaning/laundry service

Policies and Fees
Free accomodation and breakfast for one child under 12 years old sharing parents' room (with space for a crib, rollaway bed or by using existing bedding) having breakfast as a family. No club access.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Sofitel Philadelphia Rooms

2 Db beds Dlx
LUXURY ROOM - 2 double beds, Sunny Exposure. 35 sqm/400 sq. ft.; Sunny Exposure; Marble bathroom w/ Glass enclosed shower and separate tub; Working Desk and Sitting Area w/ Coffee Table; Bathrobe and Slippers with Lanvin Amenities; Complimentary WIFI
1 Kg bed Sup
Superior Room with 1 King Bed. 30 sqm/350 sq.ft.; Marble bathroom w/ separate shower & tub; Work Desk & Sitting Area w/ Coffee Table; Bathrobe and Slippers with Lanvin Amenities; Complimentary WIFI; Rollaway upon request (subject to additional charges a
JrSuite 1 Kg bed
JUNIOR SUITE - 1 King size bed, extra living room. 45 sqm/500 sq. ft.; Separate Living Room and Bedroom with King Bed; Marble bathroom w/ Separate Shower and Tub; Work Desk and Sitting Area w/ Coffee Table; Bathrobe and Slippers with Lanvin amenities; C
1 Kg bed Dlx
LUXURY ROOM - 1 king size bed, Sunny Exposure. 35 sqm/400 sq.ft.; Sunny Exposure; Marble bathroom w/ separate shower & tub; Work Desk & Sitting Area w/ Coffee Table; Robe & Slippers w/ Lanvin Amenities; Complimentary WIFI; Rollaway upon request (subject

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Florist
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Shower
Iron
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sofitel Philadelphia also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.9508 -75.1689
Nearby airports
PHL, (PHL), 13.60, KM, N; PNE, (PNE), 32.00, KM, S;
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.1 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.1 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.5 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.5 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.6 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.2 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.8 mi

Dining

CHEZ COLETTE
Savor an irresistible breakfast or a Sunday brunch in Chez Colette, our charming brasserie, also available for private events.
LIBERTE URBAN CHIC LOUNGE
Discover Liberté Urban Lounge, a chic downtown hot spot serving hand-crafted cocktails and contemporary, French-inspired food in one of the city's loveliest settings.
LIBERTE URBAN CHIC LOUNGE
Liberté chic urban lounge serving cocktails and contemporary French-inspired food in one of the city's loveliest settings.Gather with friends at the bar, Share an intimate moment in the lounge along the fireplace, or enjoy a meal in the dining area.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (187)

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Philadelphia

Overall score

4.3 / 5
187 out of 187
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Burbank, CA
Jul 30, 2009

Great Service!

The Sofitel was located near 2 blocks of great shopping which was great for me, since i love to shop! (2 H&M's in walking distance!) Their concierge was very very helpful, letting us know the best street to shop on, suggesting resturants and offering front of the line passes to the hip club across the street. Room service was fast too. However, the only prob we had was with the valet. You are told to call 20mins ahead of time for your car, which is fine, however when we got to the lobby, our car was likely not there, and had to wait another 20 mins. That happened often, even the morning i checked out (6am)! Other than that, i will def want to go to the hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Stow, MA
Jul 28, 2009

Sofitel Philadelphia

Very clean, very comfortable, outstanding location. Front desk staff seemed to be "going through the motions" more than they should at a hotel like this - they seemed either distant or distracted. However, the concierge ([...]) was terrific - knowledgeable, engaged, down-to-earth, and very helpful. The bellman and doorman were good. And the maid service was first-rate. Only other comment: the lobby has no real "vibe" - feels kind of characterless, and not what we had expected of the Sofitel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rouge - excellent bar/restaurant on east side of Rittenhouse Square

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
miami, florida
Jul 27, 2009

Excellent Hotel in Center City.

Great Hotel. Reserved a junior suite on 6th Floor. Absolutely beautiful. Only minor problem was that we couldn't get the minibar open one night but hotel maintenance fixed it. Parking was $46/night which is expensive but not unheard of in Philly or NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
Coach Siebert
Peru, IL
Jul 26, 2009

the perfect spot

the sofitel staff was outstanding - from the valets to the maids to everything in between - I will look for sofitels whenever I travel from now on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Denver, CO
Jul 20, 2009

Sofitel Philadelphia

Wow, they even let me check in an hour or so early...because I happened to be there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring your dress-up clothes to enjoy great dining and great nightlife for the younger (20s, 30s) crowd.

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
Vagabonds from FL
Minneola, FL
Jul 13, 2009

Stunning Stay @ Sofitel

everyone was very helpful and such great service!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

2
La Osa
Business
San Diego, CA
Jul 13, 2009

Broke the bank parking my rental.

Fantastic hotel, super clean and friendly. However, for the price of staying, it definitely should have been mentioned that it cost an ungodly $36 per night to park your vehicle. Had then been mentioned in the listing, I most definitely would have stayed somewhere else. It made more sense to me to rent a car, rather than cab around, and this parking fee for two nights was almost like me renting two cars. Also had I known, I would have definitely saved a lot of money cabbing around the city. Also, they ask that you give them 20 minutes to bring up the car via valet, I gave the 20 minute warning upon checkout while I found some coffee, and when I asked for the car, they didn't even know I needed it, regardless of my baggage sitting on a cart right next to them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
TEB
Charlotte NC
Jul 9, 2009

Good value but dog friendly

Beds are extremely comfortable, nice bathrooms, big LCD TV. Recently renovated ina first class way. We were surprised by the number of people with dogs staying there. Any/all rooms could have had a dog in it and this will present problems for people with allergies.They should restrict dogs to just certain rooms, like smoking rooms and not put them in any/all rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Happy Rooster....publike environment and good food. Marathon Grill is also a moderate priced choice.

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
Mrs. G
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 6, 2009

Great Experience! Would stay again.

Overall we loved it. The location was great. The staff was excellent, friendly and knowledgeable. Everyone was so polite... a big plus since it was my husband's first trip to Philadelphia and I wanted him to like it. The Bed's are unbelievably comfortable and honestly more comfortable even than the Westin where we usually stay... even our bed at home didn't feel that good. The location couldn't be better. Less than a mile from everywhere we wanted to go so we could walk pretty much everywhere. And subway stops are close enough to take us everywhere else. The only minor negatives really were not the hotel's fault. 1) Other guests were slamming their doors all night during our last night there (but it was a holiday so I suspect they were inebriated) 2) The bathroom was a little smelly but my husband said it was probably from the drains and just part of the overall sewage system in the city. I would definitely stay there again in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do have dinner and/or drinks at Tria; a cozy Wine, Beer, Cheese bar just a block away at Sansom and 18th. You won't regret it. So good we ate there twice in four days.

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Arlington, MA
Jul 6, 2009

Great hotel

We stayed two nights while in town for a wedding. The front desk was very friendly, offering to hold our bags since we arrived a little before checkin time, and were equally courteous when we returned. The room (regular, 1 King) was quite spacious even with the king size bed. It had a small sitting area with a coffee table, as well as a desk on a different wall (and a large flat screen TV). The closest was also spacious and felt like the kind of closet you'd want in your house rather than the typical hotel closet. French doors led to the bathroom that had a reasonably sized (glass) shower stall and separate tub. All in all, an elegant place to stay in a good location. We had dinner around the corner at Alma de Cuba - great ambience and delicious food! We didn't try the restaurant in the hotel, and lacking other options went to Dunkin Donuts for a quick breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top