$157 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

Sofitel Philadelphia

4 stars
120 South 17Th Street, PHILADELPHIA, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
331 reviews
Chic & Comfortable

Gorgeously appointed, extremely spacious room. Most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Staff is... See full review

  • Singular Traveller
  • Jul 13, 2014
Amazing last minute trip

This was our first trip to Philly and our first stay at a Sofitel hotel. What a wonderful city. The... See full review

  • Aspenshuman
  • Jul 4, 2014
A hybrid of American and French design, the Sofitel Hotel Philadelphia is full of unique touches, from the Shaker quilt-inspired patterns in the stone lobby to the Art Deco lines of the suites themselves. Get your Francais fix at the Liberte Urban Chic restaurant, where both the cocktails and the pastries are precision-made, or settle in for some Continental-style brunch at the brasserie Chez Colette. Planet-21 certified for its use of eco-friendly practices and products, the Sofitel also has your personal health covered with an all-day fitness room.
Key facts
  • 306 guestrooms
  • Currency exchange
  • Wi-Fi in rooms and common areas (fees may apply)
  • Business center: copy/print
  • Fitness center
  • 2 restaurants: Liberte Urban Chic Lounge and Chez Colette
  • Valet parking
  • Indoor and outdoor wedding facilities to accommodate up to 300 guests
  • Pets allowed (2 per room, under 30lbs, fees may apply)

Neighborhood
The Sofitel's City Center West location makes it an ideal base for exploring Philadelphia, starting with the French Quarter neighborhood of the hotel itself. A short walk from The Shops at Liberty Place, massive performing arts venue the Kimmel Center, and the Walnut Theatre, visitors can pick and choose both cultural and retail paths. City Hall Metro stop is a few blocks away for roaming the city further, but you can still get to major historic sites like the Liberty Bell and Independence Hall on foot (around a mile away).
Hints and tips
Looking forward to checking out the Philly art scene while you're in town? The Sofitel Philadelphia is right near The Barnes Foundation, where guests can tour Impressionist and Post-Impressionist works, as well as tribal artwork from all over the world.

The Rodin Museum is also well worth visiting, for its 150-plus collection of legendary sculptures.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.9508 -75.1689
Nearby airports
PHL, (PHL), 13.60, KM, N; PNE, (PNE), 32.00, KM, S;
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sofitel Philadelphia also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Sofitel Philadelphia Rooms

2 Db beds Dlx
LUXURY ROOM - 2 double beds, Sunny Exposure. 35 sqm/400 sq. ft.; Sunny Exposure; Marble bathroom w/ Glass enclosed shower and separate tub; Working Desk and Sitting Area w/ Coffee Table; Bathrobe and Slippers with Lanvin Amenities; Complimentary WIFI
1 Kg bed Sup
Superior Room with 1 King Bed. 30 sqm/350 sq.ft.; Marble bathroom w/ separate shower & tub; Work Desk & Sitting Area w/ Coffee Table; Bathrobe and Slippers with Lanvin Amenities; Complimentary WIFI; Rollaway upon request (subject to additional charges a
JrSuite 1 Kg bed
JUNIOR SUITE - 1 King size bed, extra living room. 45 sqm/500 sq. ft.; Separate Living Room and Bedroom with King Bed; Marble bathroom w/ Separate Shower and Tub; Work Desk and Sitting Area w/ Coffee Table; Bathrobe and Slippers with Lanvin amenities; C
1 Kg bed Dlx
LUXURY ROOM - 1 king size bed, Sunny Exposure. 35 sqm/400 sq.ft.; Sunny Exposure; Marble bathroom w/ separate shower & tub; Work Desk & Sitting Area w/ Coffee Table; Robe & Slippers w/ Lanvin Amenities; Complimentary WIFI; Rollaway upon request (subject

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Florist
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Shower
Iron
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.1 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.1 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.5 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.5 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.6 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.2 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.8 mi

Dining

CHEZ COLETTE
Savor an irresistible breakfast or a Sunday brunch in Chez Colette, our charming brasserie, also available for private events.
LIBERTE URBAN CHIC LOUNGE
Discover Liberté Urban Lounge, a chic downtown hot spot serving hand-crafted cocktails and contemporary, French-inspired food in one of the city's loveliest settings.
LIBERTE URBAN CHIC LOUNGE
Liberté chic urban lounge serving cocktails and contemporary French-inspired food in one of the city's loveliest settings.Gather with friends at the bar, Share an intimate moment in the lounge along the fireplace, or enjoy a meal in the dining area.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (331)

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Philadelphia

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
331 out of 331
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Jun 22, 2009

Pleasant Surprise

Beautiful hotel in a great location. Within easy walking distance to any number of destinations in the downtown area. Will definitely stay here again next time my travels take me back to Philadelphia.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
grostord
Business
Swanton, Vermont
Sep 20, 2009

was great but saturday music to loud

I was there for work The hotel is great and well located. However I was located in a room just above the wedding on saturday and the music was very loud until 23:30hres. I did inquire to change room and no other room according to them. I could not sleep. I think they or should not have me pay the room or at least make sure they do not offer these rooms that are there to work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DaMookR
Brownstown Twp., MI
Dec 13, 2010

Overall Good experience

My wife and I just returned from a 4 day three night trip to Philadelphia to enjoy the Army/Navy game. We stayed at the Sofitel which was well located near public transportation, good restaurants, shopping and within about a one mile walk of many major attractions (Independence Hall, Franklin Institute, Museum of Natural Science, Mutter Museum). Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Sofitel and at $199 per night for a Jr. Suite felt we had decent value for the hotel class and location in a city like Philadelphia. A few things we liked best: The staff was very friendly and professional and made great restaurant recommendations (R2L if you want an upscale dining experience where coat and tie are not required and Pietro's for large portions of affordable casual Italian food - both of which are within 2 blks of the Hotel). The maid service was top notch, and included turn down service and complementary bottles of water. Newer flat screen tvs in both rooms and a bose wave player in the bedroom with great sound quality and a place to plug in your own MP3/IPod. The bath products were good quality and the room included complimentary robes to wear during your stay as well as a complimentary umbrella to use. There was also an in room safe for your personal possessions. The junior suite was neither small nor spacious for the class of room, it was just about what you would expect for a junior suite at a 4star hotel (500-600 sq ft). The bathroom area was nice marble and decent sized with separate shower and tub areas. Small details like loofah pads and wash mittens were included. On the "would like to see improvement side" I would point out the sofa in the sitting room was not a sleeper (I snore some nights loudly enough that my wife may switch rooms) some of the furnishing was starting to show some age, the mattress was a bit on the soft side for my wife and me who are used to sleeping on a firm memory foam bed and the bedding does not include a top sheet. Its just a bottom sheet and a down comforter. All in all the good outweighed the negative and we would consider staying there again for our next visit to Philadelphia.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RBlich
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Jun 2, 2009

Splendid Stay Again - As Usual!

I have stayed at the Sofitel Philly multiple multiple times and have never been disappointed. My room as thoroughly clean and the service as flawless as usual. Enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
megabride
NJ
Oct 13, 2009

Very nice!

My fiancee and I stayed at the hotel because it was right across the street from where we attended a wedding at Davio's. The room could have been cleaned better but the bed was very comfy. The bathroom was ok but it too could have been cleaned a little bit better for a luxury hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nat King
Sicklerville, NJ
Oct 12, 2010

Great hotel and great location!

This hotel was a great way to spend my boyfriend's birthday. We had a big party planned in old city and the hotel was a quick/cheap cab ride to the restauarant. The hotel staff was super friendly and helpful with all of our questions. I would definitely stay there again. The bathroom as huge and luxurious; along with the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JonRedWing
Cambridge Ontario
Jun 10, 2010

Sofitel Philadelphia

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Sofitel in Philadelphia. It is well located to restaurants and Citizens Bank Ball Park where the Phillies play. The room was very comfortable but had a couple of issues; no free WiFi, and a very poor TV system. Also, very poor shopping downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the King of Prussia Mall to shop.

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Colorado
Nov 9, 2010

Easy access to cool stuff and comfort

The hotel is on a corner of Sansome street which has everything you could possibly need on it. There's just a ton of great stuff in a couple of blocks walk. So, we were very pleased with the location. The hotel was very nice. Fantastic amazing bed. I think they actually need the location and great stuff nearby to lure you out of the comfortable bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great Anthropologie store just around the corner. Awesome!

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mason, Ohio
Sep 21, 2009

Bumpy Start, but ended Fabulous

Our husbands had a conference at another hotel a couple of blocks away, so we chose Sofitel for location to their conference, shopping and dining. However, upon arrival on a late Tuesday night, front staff informed us our rooms were taken (this was prepaid rooms from 4 weeks ago!) They gave us a free night at the Sheraton and a cab ride. Sheraton is obviously not the same as the luxury-Sofitel. I had to get on the phone with Orbitz and ask for a room comp (since deal was stay 3 nights; get one free at Sofitel). It took half a day, but [...] at Orbitz customer service was extremely helpful in negotiating with Sofitel's reservations manager, so we will get a credit for an additional night.We ended up with 2 larger Suites for our troubles and some pastries and bottled water. After our room issues were resolved, Sofitel proved to be a nice, quiet hotel and has a fabulous locaton for the theatre, fine shopping and great local food!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

During the month of September, lots of restaurants are offering 3-4 course meals for as low as $30 !

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 17, 2011

Philly Trip

This hotel was a great place to stay during my weekend trip to Philadelphia with my boyfriend. It was comfortable and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit The Rum Bar for a fun pre-dinner drink!

Back to menu Return to top