$157 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

Sofitel Philadelphia

4 stars
120 South 17Th Street, PHILADELPHIA, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
331 reviews
Chic & Comfortable

Gorgeously appointed, extremely spacious room. Most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Staff is... See full review

  • Singular Traveller
  • Jul 13, 2014
Amazing last minute trip

This was our first trip to Philly and our first stay at a Sofitel hotel. What a wonderful city. The... See full review

  • Aspenshuman
  • Jul 4, 2014
A hybrid of American and French design, the Sofitel Hotel Philadelphia is full of unique touches, from the Shaker quilt-inspired patterns in the stone lobby to the Art Deco lines of the suites themselves. Get your Francais fix at the Liberte Urban Chic restaurant, where both the cocktails and the pastries are precision-made, or settle in for some Continental-style brunch at the brasserie Chez Colette. Planet-21 certified for its use of eco-friendly practices and products, the Sofitel also has your personal health covered with an all-day fitness room.
Key facts
  • 306 guestrooms
  • Currency exchange
  • Wi-Fi in rooms and common areas (fees may apply)
  • Business center: copy/print
  • Fitness center
  • 2 restaurants: Liberte Urban Chic Lounge and Chez Colette
  • Valet parking
  • Indoor and outdoor wedding facilities to accommodate up to 300 guests
  • Pets allowed (2 per room, under 30lbs, fees may apply)

Neighborhood
The Sofitel's City Center West location makes it an ideal base for exploring Philadelphia, starting with the French Quarter neighborhood of the hotel itself. A short walk from The Shops at Liberty Place, massive performing arts venue the Kimmel Center, and the Walnut Theatre, visitors can pick and choose both cultural and retail paths. City Hall Metro stop is a few blocks away for roaming the city further, but you can still get to major historic sites like the Liberty Bell and Independence Hall on foot (around a mile away).
Hints and tips
Looking forward to checking out the Philly art scene while you're in town? The Sofitel Philadelphia is right near The Barnes Foundation, where guests can tour Impressionist and Post-Impressionist works, as well as tribal artwork from all over the world.

The Rodin Museum is also well worth visiting, for its 150-plus collection of legendary sculptures.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Sofitel Philadelphia Rooms

2 Db beds Dlx
LUXURY ROOM - 2 double beds, Sunny Exposure. 35 sqm/400 sq. ft.; Sunny Exposure; Marble bathroom w/ Glass enclosed shower and separate tub; Working Desk and Sitting Area w/ Coffee Table; Bathrobe and Slippers with Lanvin Amenities; Complimentary WIFI
1 Kg bed Sup
Superior Room with 1 King Bed. 30 sqm/350 sq.ft.; Marble bathroom w/ separate shower & tub; Work Desk & Sitting Area w/ Coffee Table; Bathrobe and Slippers with Lanvin Amenities; Complimentary WIFI; Rollaway upon request (subject to additional charges a
JrSuite 1 Kg bed
JUNIOR SUITE - 1 King size bed, extra living room. 45 sqm/500 sq. ft.; Separate Living Room and Bedroom with King Bed; Marble bathroom w/ Separate Shower and Tub; Work Desk and Sitting Area w/ Coffee Table; Bathrobe and Slippers with Lanvin amenities; C
1 Kg bed Dlx
LUXURY ROOM - 1 king size bed, Sunny Exposure. 35 sqm/400 sq.ft.; Sunny Exposure; Marble bathroom w/ separate shower & tub; Work Desk & Sitting Area w/ Coffee Table; Robe & Slippers w/ Lanvin Amenities; Complimentary WIFI; Rollaway upon request (subject

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Florist
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Shower
Iron
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sofitel Philadelphia also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.9508 -75.1689
Nearby airports
PHL, (PHL), 13.60, KM, N; PNE, (PNE), 32.00, KM, S;
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.1 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.1 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.5 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.5 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.6 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.2 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.8 mi

Dining

CHEZ COLETTE
Savor an irresistible breakfast or a Sunday brunch in Chez Colette, our charming brasserie, also available for private events.
LIBERTE URBAN CHIC LOUNGE
Discover Liberté Urban Lounge, a chic downtown hot spot serving hand-crafted cocktails and contemporary, French-inspired food in one of the city's loveliest settings.
LIBERTE URBAN CHIC LOUNGE
Liberté chic urban lounge serving cocktails and contemporary French-inspired food in one of the city's loveliest settings.Gather with friends at the bar, Share an intimate moment in the lounge along the fireplace, or enjoy a meal in the dining area.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (331)

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Philadelphia

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
331 out of 331
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
ny, ny
Aug 31, 2009

perfect locale for a perfect night out

perfect location for a night in philadelphia. we found the staff knowledgable about the area and the reccomended a good restaurant for a fun night out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fremont Calif.
Apr 22, 2010

The Sofitel

Parking was a bit of a problem, everything else okay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baltimore, MD
Sep 20, 2009

Great Hotel!!!

This hotel was great for what I was looking for, a good location to walk around the Rittenhouse square section of the city. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. I was upgraded to a suite upon arrival. The only negatives were that the valet parking was a little overpriced 30 dollars the night (for the 16 hours I stayed there I could have found a lot nearby for cheaper) and the walls were a little thin, as you could hear music coming from another room. Other than that the hotel is great, staff is friendly and the bar is reasonably priced, considering its location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Find a local parking garage to get a cheaper rate.

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Nov 15, 2010

Great hotel!

We have stayed at this hotel several times and it is always a great experience. The rooms are clean and the beds are incredibly comfortable! Perfect for a relaxing weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DaMookR
Brownstown Twp., MI
Dec 13, 2010

Overall Good experience

My wife and I just returned from a 4 day three night trip to Philadelphia to enjoy the Army/Navy game. We stayed at the Sofitel which was well located near public transportation, good restaurants, shopping and within about a one mile walk of many major attractions (Independence Hall, Franklin Institute, Museum of Natural Science, Mutter Museum). Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Sofitel and at $199 per night for a Jr. Suite felt we had decent value for the hotel class and location in a city like Philadelphia. A few things we liked best: The staff was very friendly and professional and made great restaurant recommendations (R2L if you want an upscale dining experience where coat and tie are not required and Pietro's for large portions of affordable casual Italian food - both of which are within 2 blks of the Hotel). The maid service was top notch, and included turn down service and complementary bottles of water. Newer flat screen tvs in both rooms and a bose wave player in the bedroom with great sound quality and a place to plug in your own MP3/IPod. The bath products were good quality and the room included complimentary robes to wear during your stay as well as a complimentary umbrella to use. There was also an in room safe for your personal possessions. The junior suite was neither small nor spacious for the class of room, it was just about what you would expect for a junior suite at a 4star hotel (500-600 sq ft). The bathroom area was nice marble and decent sized with separate shower and tub areas. Small details like loofah pads and wash mittens were included. On the "would like to see improvement side" I would point out the sofa in the sitting room was not a sleeper (I snore some nights loudly enough that my wife may switch rooms) some of the furnishing was starting to show some age, the mattress was a bit on the soft side for my wife and me who are used to sleeping on a firm memory foam bed and the bedding does not include a top sheet. Its just a bottom sheet and a down comforter. All in all the good outweighed the negative and we would consider staying there again for our next visit to Philadelphia.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Dec 21, 2009

Great weekend

This was a lovely hotel. The staff handled the blizzard of '09 with aplomb, and justly earned their 4-star status. I'd stay at the Sofital again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tria, a wine bar on the same block, is a great find. Nice wine list, great beer selection, and a really tasty roasted chicken sandwich with apple mustard.

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lives-Out-Of-Hotels
Business
New Haven, Connecticut
Nov 12, 2010

Awesome.

I stayed at Sofitel for one evening, but I certainly wished I had a few more nights! The bathroom was marvelous and luxurious, as was the bed. Plus, the concierge was very helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

You're close to Rittenhouse Square.

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lexington, MA
Oct 4, 2010

Great Location

The location of the hotel was excellent. The room was big and facilities very clean. The service was impeccable. Unfortunately the bar was closed for renovation and the makeshift bar had no atmosphere. A coffee maker in the room would have been greatly appreciated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of dining opportunities within a very short walking distance.

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lives-Out-Of-Hotels
Business
New Haven, Connecticut
Nov 12, 2010

Awesome.

I stayed at Sofitel for one evening, but I certainly wished I had a few more nights! The bathroom was marvelous and luxurious, as was the bed. Plus, the concierge was very helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

You're close to Rittenhouse Square.

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
milwaukee
Aug 10, 2009

good stay

quiet and well located

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top