$200 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 30, 2015

Sofitel Philadelphia

4 stars
View map of 120 South 17Th Street, PHILADELPHIA, PA 19103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Philadelphia

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
214 out of 214
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Anaheim, CA
Jul 12, 2010

excellent experience for Philly vacation

Prefer washcloths over mits. No icebucket.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maplewood, NJ
Jul 11, 2010

Elegant and great location

The hotel was elegant, yet comfortable. The staff was extremely helpful (providing directions, even loaning us umbrellas during an unexpected summer downpour). The hotel is in a great location, close to shops, restaurants, and public transportation. The coffee at the hotel coffee shop was terrific.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

20 Manning Grill was a short walk away, near Rittenhouse Square, and tucked away near charming rowhouses.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jaxz
Business
New York, NY
Jul 7, 2010

A Good Value

My cousin and I shared a room for 4 nights at this hotel while we were in town for a family reunion. We had a room with 2 double beds which was quite large and also quite attractive. The bathroom was huge with separate tube and shower areas. There was a flat screen tv, a bose radio and the beds were luxuriously appointed. We thought it was a great room and that we had gotten a really good value for our money. Parking was high in my opinion ($36/day), but after the first night my cousin found a lot around the corner for $24. We did not partake of room service or the restaurant but we did enjoy cocktails at the upscale bar. The concierge was very helpful with sightseeing info. The lobby was beautiful and it was kind of sweet how the staff would say "bon jour". That made it a little extra-special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rittenhouse Square is an urban park only a few blocks away. There's a place called Parc right across the street that has vintage cocktails and great food. The inside spills out into the street in the nice weather. Nice restaurant, but not inexpensive. Also try out Monk's Cafe on 16th St. If you are a beer aficionado, they have lots to choose from. They also serve dinner and have wonderful deserts. We had some great breakfasts at both Marathon Grill and Little Pete's Diner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
first-time philly traveler
Business
nashville, tn
Jul 6, 2010

wonderful location with friendly staff

Hotel is in a wonderful location for a first time visitor to Philly, with many sights only a short walk away. The bed is wonderful ! Staff were friendly and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Alma was a wonderful Cuban place with a romantic feel to it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dublin Ireland
Jul 4, 2010

EXCELLENT PHILLY EXPERIENCE

We visited from Ireland to celebrate our 40 th wedding anniversary in the company of US relatives . It had been our first visit to Philadelphia , and for the duration of our stay over a 7 day period we had no bad experiences .We were even able to overlook a few days where Temperatures of 95 F and 80% humidity had the natives complaining ,but fortunately these weather conditions were short lived. An air- conditioned hotel was most welcome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rittenhouse Square restaurants ...all very good , reasonably priced , and very busy .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LittleTwig
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 28, 2010

Good for good kids too

Ours was a combo business and pleasure trip. My husband and I and our three small children were more than comfortable here. Even though it's technically not permitted, we were able to easily fit two travel cribs in the room with us. The housekeeping staff was incredible. They even folded the baby blankets and propped the stuffed animals on the bed. The valets and bellman were also extremely accommodating, helping us with all our extras anytime we needed it. During our stay, the hotel was almost completely booked due to a city-wide convention, and you never EVER noticed that certain kind of stress I've seen from hotel staff during those kinds of events. They handled things like an overflow of checked bags and an influx of valet requests with patience and professionalism. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone considering a stay in downtown Philly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington D.C.
Jun 28, 2010

Urban and Luxurious

Sofitel was perfect - staff went out of their way to ask guests if they needed assistance or had questions. Our group found it to be family friendly (others in our group had a toddler) while still maintaining an urban chic atmosphere. Great location and very reasonable prices for the area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
redmoonmedia
Business
Dublin, Ireland
Jun 24, 2010

Cool, classy center city hotel

Sofitel Philadelphia is a great place. From the front door they treat you rightly - excellent attentive service. Lively bar, tasty eatery, comfortable rooms - and a cool, relaxed ambiance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
redmoonmedia
Business
Dublin, Ireland
Jun 24, 2010

Cool, classy center city hotel

Sofitel Philadelphia is a great place. From the front door they treat you rightly - excellent attentive service. Lively bar, tasty eatery, comfortable rooms - and a cool, relaxed ambiance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 21, 2010

Great location and hotel!!!

Just needed to relax and chill in Philly. This hotel is located in a great location and the rooms were very clean. The staff seemed a little unfriendly down the lobby. I think no one even told us "Good Morning" the entire weekend. Just played tourist and enjoyed the city. Oh, the front desk didn't know of places for good breakfast outside the hotel. I think the staff should know all the hot spots in eating and different things tourist should experience in Philadelphia. It's about the little things that matter to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Learn and take the metro four blocks away. Very cheap and gets you all over the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top