$156 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2015 Check-out: Aug 10, 2015

Sofitel Philadelphia

4 stars
View map of 120 South 17Th Street, PHILADELPHIA, PA 19103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Philadelphia

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
194 out of 194
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rosiecaposie
Mount Laurel, NJ
Jan 3, 2013

Amazing!

I def consider myself a hotel snob and LOVE staying at this hotel. Location is perfect. Lounge is cozy and romantic, bed is super comfy, amenities are high end.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hockey Dog
Business
Crossroads of America
Aug 21, 2010

Almost 100%

Overall everything was excellent. Did not care for the coffee in the restaurant. Service was excellent as was the cleanliness of the room. Very attentive staff. Nitpicking about the coffee, but that's me because I am a huge coffee connoisseur. Also would have like to see a coffee maker in the room. However, who picked out the carpet for the hallways (at least for the 7th floor?) Does the term "vertigo" Come to mind. I know it was not only me because a conversation between two other guests in the elevator indicated they would not want to navigate the hallway while drunk! Anyway, I would not hesitate to return. Good central location in center city Philly. Keep up the good work (but change the coffee).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

See the Phillies, Eagles, Flyers and (well maybe) the Sixers - whoever is playing. All the sports venues are worth the money and time.

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Large group
Business
Valley Forge, PA
Aug 15, 2010

Good Hotel, but a little loud

Very nice hotel, probably deserving it's AAA 4-diamond award. However, some of the rooms are noisy because of the lounge across the street that is open all night and plays loud music with heavy base.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chotto
Business
md
Aug 10, 2010

good

attended cme conferencec. it's ok

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gogo Traveler
Business
New York, New York
Aug 8, 2010

Great location & room; so-so lobby

Toured the city during the day, dined at 10 Arts in the Ritz-Carlton at night. The Sofitel was our home base, and it was ideally located for our walking throughout the city. The bed is extremely comfortable, and the bathroom was spacious and luxurious. No view, however. We didn't mind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GiraffeRider
Business
San Francisco
Jul 26, 2010

Not very attractive lobby!

Not very attractive lobby area. No place for guests to seat while waiting for us to come down from our room. Asked for non-smoking room, even after changing room, the 2nd room still smells like smoke as well as the pillows and sheets! Location is not centrally located as Marriott and as grand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ppppp
Business
Phila
Jul 25, 2010

Great Location

Great location near restaurants, stores, tourist attractions. Room was spacious and very clean. However, we struggled to sleep each night as there was loud music coming from a nearby bar. This was the only downside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Young family from NY
Business
Queens, NY
Jul 19, 2010

Great and Accommodating stay

The two greatest assets that Hotel Sofitel can showcase are the location of the hotel and it's service. The hotel is located 2 blocks away from Rittenhouse Square which is the center of shopping as well as outdoor restaurants on the park. Everyday we walked around the Rittenhouse square and enjoyed it's ambiance. The nightlife around the hotel is also phenomenal as there are a number of lounges around the hotel as well as the hotel lobby. The hotel service was impeccable. From the moment we arrived at the hotel, the staff took care of everything we needed/requested in a timely and warm manner. We requested a few things for our room (i.e. refrigerator, extra pillows, extra water) and the staff came within minutes of the request. The concierge and front desk people were also very informative and amiable in all answering all our questions. We also requested a later check out and the hotel was more then willing to accommodate us as well. Valet attendants were helpful and friendly as well. Great service! The only slightly area which the hotel could improve upon is the room décor as we were expecting a little more from a "chic French" hotel. The hotel lobby is beautiful but the room colors were a slightly drab. However, the size of the room was great (we had a jr. 1 br suite and had ample space) and the cleanliness of the room was wonderful. We would definitely recommend Hotel Sofitel and come back to the hotel during future stays in Philadelphia.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Quakertown, PA
Jul 18, 2010

Very, very nice

We had dinner at Porcini, which was awesome. We saw Sebastian Maniscalco at Helium and he and the other comics were hilarious. Our stay at the Sofitel was the perfect ending to a perfect date night. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Anaheim, CA
Jul 12, 2010

excellent experience for Philly vacation

Prefer washcloths over mits. No icebucket.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maplewood, NJ
Jul 11, 2010

Elegant and great location

The hotel was elegant, yet comfortable. The staff was extremely helpful (providing directions, even loaning us umbrellas during an unexpected summer downpour). The hotel is in a great location, close to shops, restaurants, and public transportation. The coffee at the hotel coffee shop was terrific.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

20 Manning Grill was a short walk away, near Rittenhouse Square, and tucked away near charming rowhouses.

Back to menu Return to top