$120 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 24, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

Sofitel Philadelphia

4 stars
120 South 17Th Street, PHILADELPHIA, PA 19103
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
194 reviews
One night getaway

The Sofitel exceeded our expectations for a small hotel it was elegant with well appointed décor,... See full review

  • Matthew's Mom
  • Oct 17, 2014
perfect in many ways

very very good choice, i was satisfied in many ways. Two small details got bonus points: 1. I... See full review

  • Erich5
  • Sep 21, 2014
A hybrid of American and French design, the Sofitel Hotel Philadelphia is full of unique touches, from the Shaker quilt-inspired patterns in the stone lobby to the Art Deco lines of the suites themselves. Get your Francais fix at the Liberte Urban Chic restaurant, where both the cocktails and the pastries are precision-made, or settle in for some Continental-style brunch at the brasserie Chez Colette. Planet-21 certified for its use of eco-friendly practices and products, the Sofitel also has your personal health covered with an all-day fitness room.
Key facts
  • 306 guestrooms
  • Currency exchange
  • Wi-Fi in rooms and common areas (fees may apply)
  • Business center: copy/print
  • Fitness center
  • 2 restaurants: Liberte Urban Chic Lounge and Chez Colette
  • Valet parking
  • Indoor and outdoor wedding facilities to accommodate up to 300 guests
  • Pets allowed (2 per room, under 30lbs, fees may apply)

Neighborhood
The Sofitel's City Center West location makes it an ideal base for exploring Philadelphia, starting with the French Quarter neighborhood of the hotel itself. A short walk from The Shops at Liberty Place, massive performing arts venue the Kimmel Center, and the Walnut Theatre, visitors can pick and choose both cultural and retail paths. City Hall Metro stop is a few blocks away for roaming the city further, but you can still get to major historic sites like the Liberty Bell and Independence Hall on foot (around a mile away).
Hints and tips
Looking forward to checking out the Philly art scene while you're in town? The Sofitel Philadelphia is right near The Barnes Foundation, where guests can tour Impressionist and Post-Impressionist works, as well as tribal artwork from all over the world.

The Rodin Museum is also well worth visiting, for its 150-plus collection of legendary sculptures.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.9508 -75.1689
Nearby airports
PHL, (PHL), 13.60, KM, N; PNE, (PNE), 32.00, KM, S;
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sofitel Philadelphia also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Sofitel Philadelphia Rooms

2 Db beds Dlx
LUXURY ROOM - 2 double beds, Sunny Exposure. 35 sqm/400 sq. ft.; Sunny Exposure; Marble bathroom w/ Glass enclosed shower and separate tub; Working Desk and Sitting Area w/ Coffee Table; Bathrobe and Slippers with Lanvin Amenities; Complimentary WIFI
1 Kg bed Sup
Superior Room with 1 King Bed. 30 sqm/350 sq.ft.; Marble bathroom w/ separate shower & tub; Work Desk & Sitting Area w/ Coffee Table; Bathrobe and Slippers with Lanvin Amenities; Complimentary WIFI; Rollaway upon request (subject to additional charges a
JrSuite 1 Kg bed
JUNIOR SUITE - 1 King size bed, extra living room. 45 sqm/500 sq. ft.; Separate Living Room and Bedroom with King Bed; Marble bathroom w/ Separate Shower and Tub; Work Desk and Sitting Area w/ Coffee Table; Bathrobe and Slippers with Lanvin amenities; C
1 Kg bed Dlx
LUXURY ROOM - 1 king size bed, Sunny Exposure. 35 sqm/400 sq.ft.; Sunny Exposure; Marble bathroom w/ separate shower & tub; Work Desk & Sitting Area w/ Coffee Table; Robe & Slippers w/ Lanvin Amenities; Complimentary WIFI; Rollaway upon request (subject

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Florist
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Shower
Iron
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.1 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.1 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.5 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.5 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.6 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.2 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.8 mi

Dining

CHEZ COLETTE
Savor an irresistible breakfast or a Sunday brunch in Chez Colette, our charming brasserie, also available for private events.
LIBERTE URBAN CHIC LOUNGE
Discover Liberté Urban Lounge, a chic downtown hot spot serving hand-crafted cocktails and contemporary, French-inspired food in one of the city's loveliest settings.
LIBERTE URBAN CHIC LOUNGE
Liberté chic urban lounge serving cocktails and contemporary French-inspired food in one of the city's loveliest settings.Gather with friends at the bar, Share an intimate moment in the lounge along the fireplace, or enjoy a meal in the dining area.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (194)

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Philadelphia

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
194 out of 194
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
irishbear
silver spring, md
Jan 2, 2013

New Year's Weekend visit

bed was extremely comfortable; gym facility was good, a few more cardio machines would have been nice. bar was very nice. staff at front desk, housekeeping and lobby bar were excellent. great location, easy to get around the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Anaheim, CA
Jul 12, 2010

excellent experience for Philly vacation

Prefer washcloths over mits. No icebucket.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maplewood, NJ
Jul 11, 2010

Elegant and great location

The hotel was elegant, yet comfortable. The staff was extremely helpful (providing directions, even loaning us umbrellas during an unexpected summer downpour). The hotel is in a great location, close to shops, restaurants, and public transportation. The coffee at the hotel coffee shop was terrific.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

20 Manning Grill was a short walk away, near Rittenhouse Square, and tucked away near charming rowhouses.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jaxz
Business
New York, NY
Jul 7, 2010

A Good Value

My cousin and I shared a room for 4 nights at this hotel while we were in town for a family reunion. We had a room with 2 double beds which was quite large and also quite attractive. The bathroom was huge with separate tube and shower areas. There was a flat screen tv, a bose radio and the beds were luxuriously appointed. We thought it was a great room and that we had gotten a really good value for our money. Parking was high in my opinion ($36/day), but after the first night my cousin found a lot around the corner for $24. We did not partake of room service or the restaurant but we did enjoy cocktails at the upscale bar. The concierge was very helpful with sightseeing info. The lobby was beautiful and it was kind of sweet how the staff would say "bon jour". That made it a little extra-special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rittenhouse Square is an urban park only a few blocks away. There's a place called Parc right across the street that has vintage cocktails and great food. The inside spills out into the street in the nice weather. Nice restaurant, but not inexpensive. Also try out Monk's Cafe on 16th St. If you are a beer aficionado, they have lots to choose from. They also serve dinner and have wonderful deserts. We had some great breakfasts at both Marathon Grill and Little Pete's Diner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
first-time philly traveler
Business
nashville, tn
Jul 6, 2010

wonderful location with friendly staff

Hotel is in a wonderful location for a first time visitor to Philly, with many sights only a short walk away. The bed is wonderful ! Staff were friendly and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Alma was a wonderful Cuban place with a romantic feel to it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dublin Ireland
Jul 4, 2010

EXCELLENT PHILLY EXPERIENCE

We visited from Ireland to celebrate our 40 th wedding anniversary in the company of US relatives . It had been our first visit to Philadelphia , and for the duration of our stay over a 7 day period we had no bad experiences .We were even able to overlook a few days where Temperatures of 95 F and 80% humidity had the natives complaining ,but fortunately these weather conditions were short lived. An air- conditioned hotel was most welcome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rittenhouse Square restaurants ...all very good , reasonably priced , and very busy .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LittleTwig
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 28, 2010

Good for good kids too

Ours was a combo business and pleasure trip. My husband and I and our three small children were more than comfortable here. Even though it's technically not permitted, we were able to easily fit two travel cribs in the room with us. The housekeeping staff was incredible. They even folded the baby blankets and propped the stuffed animals on the bed. The valets and bellman were also extremely accommodating, helping us with all our extras anytime we needed it. During our stay, the hotel was almost completely booked due to a city-wide convention, and you never EVER noticed that certain kind of stress I've seen from hotel staff during those kinds of events. They handled things like an overflow of checked bags and an influx of valet requests with patience and professionalism. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone considering a stay in downtown Philly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington D.C.
Jun 28, 2010

Urban and Luxurious

Sofitel was perfect - staff went out of their way to ask guests if they needed assistance or had questions. Our group found it to be family friendly (others in our group had a toddler) while still maintaining an urban chic atmosphere. Great location and very reasonable prices for the area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
redmoonmedia
Business
Dublin, Ireland
Jun 24, 2010

Cool, classy center city hotel

Sofitel Philadelphia is a great place. From the front door they treat you rightly - excellent attentive service. Lively bar, tasty eatery, comfortable rooms - and a cool, relaxed ambiance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 21, 2010

Great location and hotel!!!

Just needed to relax and chill in Philly. This hotel is located in a great location and the rooms were very clean. The staff seemed a little unfriendly down the lobby. I think no one even told us "Good Morning" the entire weekend. Just played tourist and enjoyed the city. Oh, the front desk didn't know of places for good breakfast outside the hotel. I think the staff should know all the hot spots in eating and different things tourist should experience in Philadelphia. It's about the little things that matter to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Learn and take the metro four blocks away. Very cheap and gets you all over the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JonRedWing
Business
Cambridge Ontario
Jun 10, 2010

Sofitel Philadelphia

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Sofitel in Philadelphia. It is well located to restaurants and Citizens Bank Ball Park where the Phillies play. The room was very comfortable but had a couple of issues; no free WiFi, and a very poor TV system. Also, very poor shopping downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the King of Prussia Mall to shop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top