$157 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 29, 2014

Sofitel Philadelphia

4 stars
120 South 17Th Street, PHILADELPHIA, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
330 reviews
Amazing last minute trip

This was our first trip to Philly and our first stay at a Sofitel hotel. What a wonderful city. The... See full review

  • Aspenshuman
  • Jul 4, 2014
Center City Getaway

An elegant yet hip hotel with a great location! Just minutes from all the great shops, restaurants... See full review

  • Kris Andrews
  • Jan 22, 2014
A hybrid of American and French design, the Sofitel Hotel Philadelphia is full of unique touches, from the Shaker quilt-inspired patterns in the stone lobby to the Art Deco lines of the suites themselves. Get your Francais fix at the Liberte Urban Chic restaurant, where both the cocktails and the pastries are precision-made, or settle in for some Continental-style brunch at the brasserie Chez Colette. Planet-21 certified for its use of eco-friendly practices and products, the Sofitel also has your personal health covered with an all-day fitness room.
Key facts
  • 306 guestrooms
  • Currency exchange
  • Wi-Fi in rooms and common areas (fees may apply)
  • Business center: copy/print
  • Fitness center
  • 2 restaurants: Liberte Urban Chic Lounge and Chez Colette
  • Valet parking
  • Indoor and outdoor wedding facilities to accommodate up to 300 guests
  • Pets allowed (2 per room, under 30lbs, fees may apply)

Neighborhood
The Sofitel's City Center West location makes it an ideal base for exploring Philadelphia, starting with the French Quarter neighborhood of the hotel itself. A short walk from The Shops at Liberty Place, massive performing arts venue the Kimmel Center, and the Walnut Theatre, visitors can pick and choose both cultural and retail paths. City Hall Metro stop is a few blocks away for roaming the city further, but you can still get to major historic sites like the Liberty Bell and Independence Hall on foot (around a mile away).
Hints and tips
Looking forward to checking out the Philly art scene while you're in town? The Sofitel Philadelphia is right near The Barnes Foundation, where guests can tour Impressionist and Post-Impressionist works, as well as tribal artwork from all over the world.

The Rodin Museum is also well worth visiting, for its 150-plus collection of legendary sculptures.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Sofitel Philadelphia Rooms

2 Db beds Dlx
LUXURY ROOM - 2 double beds, Sunny Exposure. 35 sqm/400 sq. ft.; Sunny Exposure; Marble bathroom w/ Glass enclosed shower and separate tub; Working Desk and Sitting Area w/ Coffee Table; Bathrobe and Slippers with Lanvin Amenities; Complimentary WIFI
1 Kg bed Sup
Superior Room with 1 King Bed. 30 sqm/350 sq.ft.; Marble bathroom w/ separate shower & tub; Work Desk & Sitting Area w/ Coffee Table; Bathrobe and Slippers with Lanvin Amenities; Complimentary WIFI; Rollaway upon request (subject to additional charges a
JrSuite 1 Kg bed
JUNIOR SUITE - 1 King size bed, extra living room. 45 sqm/500 sq. ft.; Separate Living Room and Bedroom with King Bed; Marble bathroom w/ Separate Shower and Tub; Work Desk and Sitting Area w/ Coffee Table; Bathrobe and Slippers with Lanvin amenities; C
1 Kg bed Dlx
LUXURY ROOM - 1 king size bed, Sunny Exposure. 35 sqm/400 sq.ft.; Sunny Exposure; Marble bathroom w/ separate shower & tub; Work Desk & Sitting Area w/ Coffee Table; Robe & Slippers w/ Lanvin Amenities; Complimentary WIFI; Rollaway upon request (subject

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Florist
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Shower
Iron
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sofitel Philadelphia also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.9508 -75.1689
Nearby airports
PHL, (PHL), 13.60, KM, N; PNE, (PNE), 32.00, KM, S;
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.1 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.1 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.5 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.5 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.6 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.2 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.8 mi

Dining

CHEZ COLETTE
Savor an irresistible breakfast or a Sunday brunch in Chez Colette, our charming brasserie, also available for private events.
LIBERTE URBAN CHIC LOUNGE
Discover Liberté Urban Lounge, a chic downtown hot spot serving hand-crafted cocktails and contemporary, French-inspired food in one of the city's loveliest settings.
LIBERTE URBAN CHIC LOUNGE
Liberté chic urban lounge serving cocktails and contemporary French-inspired food in one of the city's loveliest settings.Gather with friends at the bar, Share an intimate moment in the lounge along the fireplace, or enjoy a meal in the dining area.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (330)

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Philadelphia

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
330 out of 330
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pasadena
Oct 18, 2010

Elegance in Philadelphia

We had a wonderful time doing sister-bonding with leisurely mornings in the room made lovely with the courtesy coffee from downstairs and delectible croisants that could be purchased to go with the coffee . Staff at the hotel was friendly and helpful. Our room was beautifully appointed, light and spacious. The bathroom large with nice finishes and lovely soaps and shampoos. Everything was elegant. The location was perfect - just off Rittenhouse Square with a great shopping area right outside the door, easy walk to U Penn, nice walk to river, nice walk to the south side and the Liberty Bell -

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Lovely French restaurant - 15 minute walk - Zinc - 11th and Locust - well prepared meal in lovely casual/nice atmosphere and informed staff ....divine desserts.

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pasadena
Oct 18, 2010

Elegance in Philadelphia

We had a wonderful time doing sister-bonding with leisurely mornings in the room made lovely with the courtesy coffee from downstairs and delectible croisants that could be purchased to go with the coffee . Staff at the hotel was friendly and helpful. Our room was beautifully appointed, light and spacious. The bathroom large with nice finishes and lovely soaps and shampoos. Everything was elegant. The location was perfect - just off Rittenhouse Square with a great shopping area right outside the door, easy walk to U Penn, nice walk to river, nice walk to the south side and the Liberty Bell -

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Lovely French restaurant - 15 minute walk - Zinc - 11th and Locust - well prepared meal in lovely casual/nice atmosphere and informed staff ....divine desserts.

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Luis Obispo, CA
Oct 17, 2010

Sofitel Philadelphia

Fantastic hotel, in the true Sofitel way. To a person, the staff was helpful, engaging and positive. All of the amenities were as you would expect from Sofitel anywhere else in the world. The location is absolutely perfect. Walking distance to Rittenhouse Square, and everything you want downtown is easily accessible. I had emailed the manager from the airplane asking for late check in and to change my room from a single King to double beds, since my daughter decided to join me at the last minute. When we checked in, the night manager greeted us by name and apoligized for not having a room with double beds, but they had already place a roll-away in our room, waiting for us. Fabulous service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Luis Obispo, CA
Oct 17, 2010

Sofitel Philadelphia

Fantastic hotel, in the true Sofitel way. To a person, the staff was helpful, engaging and positive. All of the amenities were as you would expect from Sofitel anywhere else in the world. The location is absolutely perfect. Walking distance to Rittenhouse Square, and everything you want downtown is easily accessible. I had emailed the manager from the airplane asking for late check in and to change my room from a single King to double beds, since my daughter decided to join me at the last minute. When we checked in, the night manager greeted us by name and apoligized for not having a room with double beds, but they had already place a roll-away in our room, waiting for us. Fabulous service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baltimore, MD
Oct 13, 2010

Great Hotel

Sightseeing and birthday celebration

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baltimore, MD
Oct 13, 2010

Great Hotel

Sightseeing and birthday celebration

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nat King
Sicklerville, NJ
Oct 12, 2010

Great hotel and great location!

This hotel was a great way to spend my boyfriend's birthday. We had a big party planned in old city and the hotel was a quick/cheap cab ride to the restauarant. The hotel staff was super friendly and helpful with all of our questions. I would definitely stay there again. The bathroom as huge and luxurious; along with the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nat King
Sicklerville, NJ
Oct 12, 2010

Great hotel and great location!

This hotel was a great way to spend my boyfriend's birthday. We had a big party planned in old city and the hotel was a quick/cheap cab ride to the restauarant. The hotel staff was super friendly and helpful with all of our questions. I would definitely stay there again. The bathroom as huge and luxurious; along with the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chetbest
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Oct 12, 2010

Traveler Beware!

My stay at Sofitel Philadelphia was a very frustrating and unpleasant experience. Immediately upon arriving at the hotel to check in, I overheard a very angry guest from Australia having a heated discussion with the front desk manager about their egregious incidental billing policy. All hotels request a credit or debit card, from guests who have prepaid their stay, to cover incidental room charges. Generally the charge is $25 a day per person. Sofitel authorizes $100 A DAY PER PERSON - no exceptions. This means that if you and your spouse give them a debit card for a weeks stay, that $1400 is deducted from your checking account. The balance, minus room charges, at check-out is returned to your account 10 days later. My husband and I no longer use credit cards, so like the guest from Australia, I had no choice but to give them a debit card and bear the cost. What a hit in the head! You can choose to not give them a card, but then you are on a pay cash as you go for any incurred expenses - they won't even turn your phone on. I was in Philadelphia to attend a training seminar for certification, so prompt attendance was mandatory. I put in a wakeup call for 6:15 A.M. the first morning, but I never got it, and I was late to my first day of training. When I contacted the front desk they said they would look into it. I called them back that evening and they told me that their records showed that the call had been placed, but that I hadn't answered. I gave them the benefit of the doubt, but I didn't believe that I had slept through the call. So, I put in a wakeup call for the second morning, and again I didn't get one. Once again, the front desk said that I just hadn't answered. I told them that I knew that wasn't true, and that they should send someone up to fix the phones. I barely made it to my seminar on time - no shower, no breakfast , NO COFFEE! I had to call the front desk that evening yet again to follow up, and they told me the problem had been fixed - but no real apology. On the third night I ordered breakfast for the next morning so that in case the call didn't come through at least somehow I would wake up on time. I couldn't take any chances, and by this point I didn't trust them. At least I would be using up some of my incidental room charges! It wasn't necessary, because I woke up every hour on the hour because I was so paranoid about oversleeping. I was up and showered by the time the wakeup call was supposed to come in, which it didn't. I told them to send up an engineer that day to check out the phones - but again no real apology. And yet again, I received no follow-up call about the problem from the front desk. I called them and they said again the problem had been fixed, but I had them check the phone system for me and it still wasn't working. So they sent up an engineer again that evening. I told HIM what the problem was - I figured out that one of the phones was not disengaging when the receiver was hung up. Whoever had come that afternoon had merely swapped the phones from one outlet to another. He told me I was right, shook his head that the other engineer had been so incompetent and had made extra work for HIM, replaced the phones and assured me the problem was fixed. I woke up, as usual now, on the fourth morning long before the wakeup call was due. It never came in - for the FOURTH time. In fact, there was no dial tone on the phone at all, and I had to call the front desk using my cell phone. I have a very long fuse, but it had reached the end, and I was NOT nice to the front desk manger. I told him to either buy me an alarm clock, send someone up to knock on my door in the morning, or FINALLY fix the phones. THEN I got the apology I had been waiting for, and assurances that the problem would be resolved. But still I had to call THEM that evening to follow up and to check the phones. Five times the charm! Upon check-out the sixth morning, a front desk manager overheard, came over and said she h...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the restaurant 'Parc' on Rittenhouse Square - excellent French bistro cuisine - always crowded, so make a reservation. Sit in the beautiful park around 5:00 and get a real taste of everyday life in Center City Philadelphia.

Review of Sofitel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chetbest
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Oct 12, 2010

Traveler Beware!

My stay at Sofitel Philadelphia was a very frustrating and unpleasant experience. Immediately upon arriving at the hotel to check in, I overheard a very angry guest from Australia having a heated discussion with the front desk manager about their egregious incidental billing policy. All hotels request a credit or debit card, from guests who have prepaid their stay, to cover incidental room charges. Generally the charge is $25 a day per person. Sofitel authorizes $100 A DAY PER PERSON - no exceptions. This means that if you and your spouse give them a debit card for a weeks stay, that $1400 is deducted from your checking account. The balance, minus room charges, at check-out is returned to your account 10 days later. My husband and I no longer use credit cards, so like the guest from Australia, I had no choice but to give them a debit card and bear the cost. What a hit in the head! You can choose to not give them a card, but then you are on a pay cash as you go for any incurred expenses - they won't even turn your phone on. I was in Philadelphia to attend a training seminar for certification, so prompt attendance was mandatory. I put in a wakeup call for 6:15 A.M. the first morning, but I never got it, and I was late to my first day of training. When I contacted the front desk they said they would look into it. I called them back that evening and they told me that their records showed that the call had been placed, but that I hadn't answered. I gave them the benefit of the doubt, but I didn't believe that I had slept through the call. So, I put in a wakeup call for the second morning, and again I didn't get one. Once again, the front desk said that I just hadn't answered. I told them that I knew that wasn't true, and that they should send someone up to fix the phones. I barely made it to my seminar on time - no shower, no breakfast , NO COFFEE! I had to call the front desk that evening yet again to follow up, and they told me the problem had been fixed - but no real apology. On the third night I ordered breakfast for the next morning so that in case the call didn't come through at least somehow I would wake up on time. I couldn't take any chances, and by this point I didn't trust them. At least I would be using up some of my incidental room charges! It wasn't necessary, because I woke up every hour on the hour because I was so paranoid about oversleeping. I was up and showered by the time the wakeup call was supposed to come in, which it didn't. I told them to send up an engineer that day to check out the phones - but again no real apology. And yet again, I received no follow-up call about the problem from the front desk. I called them and they said again the problem had been fixed, but I had them check the phone system for me and it still wasn't working. So they sent up an engineer again that evening. I told HIM what the problem was - I figured out that one of the phones was not disengaging when the receiver was hung up. Whoever had come that afternoon had merely swapped the phones from one outlet to another. He told me I was right, shook his head that the other engineer had been so incompetent and had made extra work for HIM, replaced the phones and assured me the problem was fixed. I woke up, as usual now, on the fourth morning long before the wakeup call was due. It never came in - for the FOURTH time. In fact, there was no dial tone on the phone at all, and I had to call the front desk using my cell phone. I have a very long fuse, but it had reached the end, and I was NOT nice to the front desk manger. I told him to either buy me an alarm clock, send someone up to knock on my door in the morning, or FINALLY fix the phones. THEN I got the apology I had been waiting for, and assurances that the problem would be resolved. But still I had to call THEM that evening to follow up and to check the phones. Five times the charm! Upon check-out the sixth morning, a front desk manager overheard, came over and said she h...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the restaurant 'Parc' on Rittenhouse Square - excellent French bistro cuisine - always crowded, so make a reservation. Sit in the beautiful park around 5:00 and get a real taste of everyday life in Center City Philadelphia.

Back to menu Return to top