$185 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

3 stars
View map of 3549 Chestnut Street, 3549 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Penn Dad
Business
New York
Apr 16, 2013

Well located, but older style property.

Really well located in close proximity to University of Pennsylvania and Drexel. But the rooms are small and the common areas and parking lot are old style and outdated, even though the rooms are renovated. Rooms were small. But flat screen TV was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Destrito Mexican Tapas restaurant nearby. Loved it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bensage
Business
NYC
May 16, 2010

Great location for Penn events, not a gr

Staff was great. Quick check in and check out. For $250/night I expect nicer towels and internet speed faster than dial-up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr. & Mrs. D
Business
Washington, D.C.
May 31, 2010

Good last minute weekend getaway

The hotel was average. The location was decent, the room was standard, and the staff was friendly. I did like the free Internet and wifi though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Stop by Butcher & Singer in Center City. The food, ambiance, and staff are topnotch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hcatts
Business
Texas
Jul 16, 2010

Decent stay

Staff was very helpful with directions, recommendations for restaurants, etc. Overall a very nice place and a great locations - easy to get to train, trolley, bus, etc. We didn't realize that we would have to pay for parking ($20/night) - that wasn't on the website! Double beds were VERY uncomfortable for two people - sloping down in the center and we felt that we were sleeping on a hill. We each had to sleep in our own bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 9, 2010

24 hours of fun

I came to Philadelphia to watch the Mets play the Phillies and at the same time, give my son a taste of one of the oldest cities in the country. I chose the Sheraton Philadelphia Univ. City Hotel because of its location (1 block from the subway), proximty to a small number of specialty bar/restauants, & general store. I especially chose this particular hotel because it would impress my 12yr old with a outdoor pool, indoor fitness center, HD TV and internet access. We are coming back because it most over all is affordable. Dad likes that most. Hey, I'm easy to please, heh heh heh !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the train for a few stops and get off at City Hall. Walk to Chestnut Street and proceed to walk back to the hotel. It is one way to enjoy a few hours away from sight seeing and instead get some shopping done and a bite to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chatham, NJ
Jul 16, 2011

Good location for UPENN

The staff could've been a little nicer, but the location was about as close to Wharton (where I was visiting) as you can get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Annapolis. MD
Aug 4, 2011

Convenient

The hotel is under renovation. Does not have a front lobby access by car. Their internet access via their roon PC is very, very slow. They do not give you any Penuts with the drinks at the bar. They charge $20 per day for parking snd did not see any body around to help you with the suitcases. A little dissappointing for a Sheraton and its was not cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mancakes--The Dude
Business
Bronx, NY
Aug 14, 2009

Gave you what you needed and was in good

Hotel staff was very friendly & the rooms were very nice and comfortable. Excellent pool!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Talexander
Business
Columbus,ohio
Jul 6, 2014

Nice stay

Nice staff nothing to complain about, the room was nice and bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

South street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
traveler
Business
mattapoisett
Jan 22, 2015

quick overnight stay

simple, great pho next door. Didn't blow me away at all given the price. Not very close to anything fun to do after getting in after a late flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top