$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

3 stars
3549 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
62 reviews
Great location

Staff courteous. only complaint would be that the room coffee needed to be replenished. See full review

  • Barfish
  • May 6, 2013
Great if visiting U Penn

Everyone was so nice. My room was very clean. Close to U Penn. Many restaurants within walking... See full review

  • Ednaski
  • Apr 22, 2013
University City hotel a favorite of visiting parents and academics
Conveniently located within walking distance to the University of Pennsylvania and Drexel University campuses, the Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel is a favorite for visiting parents and academia. Amenities include a heated outdoor pool and sundeck, a 24-hour fitness center, an on-site restaurant and lounge and a business center. The nonsmoking guest rooms provide an in-room desktop computer with complimentary Internet access. The hotel also provides an on-site gift shop, florist and car rental desk.

 

Highlights
  • Convenient location between University of Pennsylvania and Drexel University and close to subway and train stations
  • Well-equipped fitness center with machines providing touch screens with MP3 connection and an interactive heart-rate system
  • Outdoor pool and sundeck with views of the city skyline
  • In-room desktop computers provided with complimentary high-speed Internet access and free printing
  • On-site Enterprise car rental

 

Rooms

The 20-story Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel has 332 nonsmoking guest rooms and suites with either one king-sized or two double beds. All rooms provide Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds featuring plush-top mattresses, triple-sheeting, fleece blankets, duvets and down pillows. Other amenities include an in-room computer with complimentary high-speed Internet access and free Internet-based printing. Rooms also include desks with ergonomic chairs; complimentary weekday newspapers; televisions with premium channels, pay movies and video games (fees apply); and coffee-makers.

Features
The hotel lobby features the Link@Sheraton, a social space and connectivity hub where guests can go online at complimentary PC workstations, watch television or borrow a magazine or newspaper. An on-site Asian restaurant and lounge serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel is dog-friendly, offering Sweet Sleeper dog beds for its four-legged guests.

Transportation
  • SEPTA Subway 34th Street Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (9.2 mi/14.8 km)

 

Attractions
  • University of Pennsylvania (across the street)
  • Drexel University (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Historic District (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Professional Sports/Concert Venues (6 mi/9.7 km)

Business
  • 10,000 square feet of event space
  • Audio/Visual equipment
  • Event catering
  • Business center and services
  • Dry cleaning/laundry service
  • High-speed Internet access

Hotel Map

39.9546 -75.1941
Area served
Bala-Cynwyd, Brandywine, Bryn Mawr, Cherry Hill, Conshohocken, Chester, Ft Washington, Wilmington, King of Prussia, Lancaster, Mt Laurel, Maple Shade, Manayunk, Reading, Society Hill, Trenton, Valley Forge, West Chester
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 6.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Video checkout
Florist
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Computer in Room
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • University of Pennsylvania: 0.2 mi
  • The Palestra: 0.3 mi
  • Penn Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1.1 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 1.1 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1.2 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 1.6 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 0.2 mi
  • The Palestra: 0.3 mi
  • Penn Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1.1 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 1.1 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1.2 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 1.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 1.6 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 1.6 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 1.6 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 2.3 mi
  • Independence Hall: 2.4 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 2.4 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 2.4 mi
  • Christ Church: 2.4 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.6 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 2.7 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 2.7 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.7 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.9 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 4 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 4 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 5.8 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 9.6 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,455.5 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,716.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (62)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christo26
Newport Beach, CA
Jul 9, 2012

On Campus, on-target staff, & perfectly low-key

First of all, if you're looking for an up-scale experience then you'd be at the wrong place. This is a more you-are-at-home-on-Penn's-campus place, with no suggestion that you're just that close to a stay at, say, the Seasons (which is wonderful in its distinct way). It's just ideal for doing anything at Penn, and there's a Sang Kee restaurant in the lobby -- if you did attend Penn then you know this is an extreme bonus. Staff consistently pleasant, pool nice and clean, and taxis always out front (or bus/trolley ~1 minute walk outside). I have come to love all things Starwood over the years, but this place is simply a straight-forwardly consistent treat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Apr 22, 2009

I loved this place

I booked this hotel super last minute and usually prefer to stay in boutique/ historic hotels. So I was skeptical going into it but was overly impressed by the room, service, the parking was cheap and easy, room service was quick and the computer in the room was infinitely helpful. Fitness center is small but nice. This place is super classy for a Sheraton. I would absolutely recommend it to friends. I am a single 23 year old female who was traveling alone to interview at UPenn and I felt completely safe in this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Andover, *
Jul 25, 2008

great hotel

Great hotel; the most wonderful thing about it is the in-room web-ready computer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

within walking distance from USMLE CS exam center

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Barfish
Pittsburgh PA
May 6, 2013

Great location

Staff courteous. only complaint would be that the room coffee needed to be replenished.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Barnes collection a must see!

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vineland, NJ
Jan 14, 2010

Everything was fine

Clean room and was right near the hospital. Really helped while my Grandfather was getting a quadruple bypass. The room was tight but that's only because we had 2 queens.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Young Couple out on the town
Allentown, PA
Aug 15, 2010

Overnight stay for a night on the town

We stayed overnight because we had a party to attend to in the city. We parked in the garage for 20.00 a day better than getting your car towed( ever seen parking wars). The front desk gave us a free upgrade to a king size bed. The room was spotless and even came with a computer in the room with free internet. The room was on the small side but for a one night stay it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is also a wawa right across the street for any midnight snacks you may have.

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Port Tobacco, MD
Jul 10, 2008

Location, Location, Location

What a wonderful surprise to find I was so close to the place where I needed to be the day after my arrival. Close to the Amtrak station on 30th Street, the hotel's location was close enough for me to walk back for my train while enjoying a stroll through the campuses of several universities in the area. The hotel itself is lovely and the front-desk staff incredibly helpful and accommodating. They knew exactly where I needed to be and gave me a map. On the down side, I never was able to get online despite very lengthy directions on how to use wireless Internet in the room. I was also a little surprised that there was nothing in the way of a complimentary continental breakfast considering the cost of the room. At least there was a Starbuck's in the same block.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several terrific restaurants and cafes that are within two blocks of the hotel. One that I can recommend highly is the White Dog Cafe. Terrific food, great service, and charming ambiance. There are lots of great stores as well including the University of PA Bookstore and Ann Taylor.

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cleveland, OH
Jul 29, 2007

Very Comfortable

The staff was very courteous and everything was very clean. This hotel is approximately 10 minutes from everything I needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

SAfe neighborhood and close to Market St. which is a main travel route. Everything is available on Market St.

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pattyb
San Francisco
Dec 25, 2011

safe location

Traveling alone with one night layover and wanted a safe, convenient place to stay away from the overpriced aiport type hotels. Great service, nice area, felt very safe taking a walk. Room had a great view of the city and the room service was great. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Megsee
New York, NY
Jul 30, 2009

A Great Weekend Getaway

I loved this hotel, it was great for the price we paid. The pool was on the 6th floor up over the city it was really pretty. Our room had a view of Phili and although it wasn't really in walking distance from the monuments it was in walking distance from some nice restaruants and bars. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I would drive to the monuments and just park and pay for the parking, walking there was too far especially in the summer. Although I did here there was a trolley so you may want to look into that in the future.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search