$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

3 stars
View map of 3549 Chestnut Street, 3549 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Portland, OR
Nov 27, 2010

Nice hotel to stay for my visit

Clean, comfortable, very nice rooms. The staff were all very accommodating and helpful. I particularly enjoyed the easy location near UPENN and the hospitals--everything was within walking distance and very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paulo Lemes
Business
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Nov 25, 2010

Unparalleled location

Great location at the heart of UPenn; just a couple of blocks from Wharton. Hotel staff was very friendly and prompt to help. The restaurant is not up to the hotel standard whatsoever. Choose a different spot to have your meals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Oct 9, 2010

Trip to Philadelphia

The location of this hotel is perfect. Very close to the university. Many restorants are a walking distance from the hotel. The Korean restorant in the hotel seems very popular, but I am not used to Korean food. Over all it was a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Beijing, China
Oct 6, 2010

Very tired hotel trading on its location

Hotel has great location next to the Penn campus but there has obviously been little investment in the hotel in years. Rooms very tired. Little effort at making the experience a good one. I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Young Couple out on the town
Couples
Allentown, PA
Aug 15, 2010

Overnight stay for a night on the town

We stayed overnight because we had a party to attend to in the city. We parked in the garage for 20.00 a day better than getting your car towed( ever seen parking wars). The front desk gave us a free upgrade to a king size bed. The room was spotless and even came with a computer in the room with free internet. The room was on the small side but for a one night stay it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is also a wawa right across the street for any midnight snacks you may have.

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mom dad and baby
Family
pa
Aug 13, 2010

sheraton university city

within walking distance of colleges and subway.hotel has been updated with computers and wifi, but still needs other updating...molding was coming off wall.parking garage was an accident waiting to happen...staff very nice and accomadating...excellent location..near a store eateries etc.I have no ojection to seeing eye dog,but Hotel allows people to have other pets which were allowed in lobby to walk around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

go to the spaghetti warehouse on spring garden street...grrrreeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaaaattttttttt....

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
New York, NY
Aug 9, 2010

24 hours of fun

I came to Philadelphia to watch the Mets play the Phillies and at the same time, give my son a taste of one of the oldest cities in the country. I chose the Sheraton Philadelphia Univ. City Hotel because of its location (1 block from the subway), proximty to a small number of specialty bar/restauants, & general store. I especially chose this particular hotel because it would impress my 12yr old with a outdoor pool, indoor fitness center, HD TV and internet access. We are coming back because it most over all is affordable. Dad likes that most. Hey, I'm easy to please, heh heh heh !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the train for a few stops and get off at City Hall. Walk to Chestnut Street and proceed to walk back to the hotel. It is one way to enjoy a few hours away from sight seeing and instead get some shopping done and a bite to eat.

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
roaming philly
Single
va
Jul 30, 2010

Sheraton Philadelphia university hotel

good service. good location. lots of walking and biking. clean room. has a parking lot

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hcatts
Couples
Texas
Jul 16, 2010

Decent stay

Staff was very helpful with directions, recommendations for restaurants, etc. Overall a very nice place and a great locations - easy to get to train, trolley, bus, etc. We didn't realize that we would have to pay for parking ($20/night) - that wasn't on the website! Double beds were VERY uncomfortable for two people - sloping down in the center and we felt that we were sleeping on a hill. We each had to sleep in our own bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Huntsville, AL
Jul 10, 2010

Very clean accommodations, helpful

Very good, did not use food service otherwise staff was helpful and room very clean and comfortable. Internet service was weak but computer in room was wonderful. Connections poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to 30th street railroad station

Back to menu Return to top