$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 22, 2015

Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

4 stars
View map of One Dock Street, One Dock Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
85 reviews
Awesome Place All Around

I always stay at this hotel when I go to Philadelphia. It has an excellent location and the staff... See full review

  • Gaelwynn
  • Nov 20, 2014
Great weekend

Desk staff was quick and efficient. Helpful in accommodating our desired room location. The beds... See full review

  • Jim J P
  • Aug 25, 2014

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5

Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
Car rental desk
Porters
Doorman
Parking
Parking
Room
Safe

Nearby points of interest

  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.4 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.5 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.5 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.5 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.6 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 1.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.5 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.6 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1.7 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.4 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.5 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.5 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.5 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.6 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 1.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.5 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.6 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1.7 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 1.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 1.9 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1.9 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 2 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 2.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 2.5 mi
  • The Palestra: 2.5 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.5 mi
  • Penn Museum: 2.6 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 2.6 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 3.4 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 3.7 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 11 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,458.2 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715 mi

Dining

Taste
Visit our restaurant, Taste, for contemporary American cuisine, locally-brewed craft beers, and an impressive global selection of award-winning wines.
Starbucks Café
Relax in Starbucks Café, located in our four-story atrium courtyard.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 85
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MRK
Business
Dubuque, IA
May 11, 2010

Location, but little else

Great location, everything else sub-standard. Housekeeping made the beds and replaced towels, didn't take away garbage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
John A.
Business
Westford
May 14, 2015

Fund trip

Nice trip with family, sites all close by that we wanted to see,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado Springs, Co
Jul 6, 2009

The location is fabulous.

Housekeeping fair at best. Pieces of paper on the carpet when we arrived still there 6 days later. Fabulous location and friendly staff.We'd stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jabbasmom
Business
Cleveland, ohio
Jun 13, 2013

Perfect for college visits

The room was clean and welcoming as we traveled to Philly to visit colleges for our son.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Longhorns in Maryland
Business
Baltimore, Maryland
Jul 5, 2010

Excellent Experience

We traveled to Philadelphia for my mother's 50th birthday and explored Old City Philadelphia. We were centrally located so it was easy to access all the tourist attractions by foot. We saw the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, the Betsy Ross house, Vietnam and Korean War Memorials (across from the Hotel), Christ Church, and Penn's Landing (right down the street). Parking was a bit expensive, but worth it because of the convenience of not having to haul our luggage down the street. We were also able to check out late with no additional charge. Overall it was an EXCELLENT stay. I can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas
Jul 30, 2009

Good location! Good stay!

Nice, clean accomodations. Only 3-4 blocks from the historical sights. We commented that we appreciated coming back to a smaller hotel at the end of a long day, it was relaxing. Housekeeping seemed understaffed. Rooms didn't get made-up until late in the day and had to wait for extra towels, etc. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Check-out the Independence Hall Visitors Center & literature the day before you want to see the sights to get the lay of the land.

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EyeNurse
Business
Floral Park, NY
Jul 30, 2009

Great Location!

This hotel was clean, staff was super! Polite, helpful, attentive from the parking attendant to the maids. Clean room, pleasant atmosphere and quiet. I really enjoyed my stay and would highly recommend this hotel to all types of travelers (except for party-minded!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to most attractions from the hotel. I would recommend an early morning excursion, followed by a rest and then an afternoon/evening excursion again. Positano restaurant across the street is excellent!

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Just north of San Francisco
Jun 30, 2009

Wonderful people; a few caveats

The outstanding thing about the Sheraton Society Hill is the warmth and helpfulness of the staff: from the clerk at the front desk who checked us in to the counter person at the Starbucks in the lobby; we felt welcome. As to the room, it was the normal room one would expect at a three star hotel; comfortable, but nothing special. And we liked being so close to major historical sites such as Independence Hall as well as comfortable, tasty restaurants. Our major concerns were that the hotel nickel-and-dimes you on some items. There is a ten dollar a day charge for wifi access and a glass of skim milk on the breakfast delivery menu is $14 (wow!) We got one small bar of soap that was apparently supposed to serve us both at the sink and the shower for all three days we were there. And it would have been helpful if the hotel's site mentioned the fact that there was shuttle service to and from the airport for a reasonable charge ($10 per person). Also, although the waiter we had in the Wooden Nickel was a very sweet guy, the food was well below mediocre. We did like the fact that there is a Starbucks in the main lobby so that one could jump out of bed and grab a latter first thing in the morning. Ultimately, the first and last point we'd emphasize is how nice the staff is. When one is in an unfamiliar city, it is great to be treated well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a row of wonderful ethnic restaurants within three blocks. Whether you would like Afghan, Korean, Brazilian, Indian -- the choices seem endless, you will find good, reasonably priced food a few blocks away.

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brainerd, MN
Sep 8, 2009

Great hotel in a great location

loved the location all of Philly within walking distance. No need for a rental car!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Presley W
Business
Maryland
Aug 10, 2009

will return

The hotel is located in a great part of town. Lots to do and enjoy, even if just walking around. The staff was very courteous. Our only complaint was that they put us in a room without a window. It was looking into the pool and it was very noisy as we were trying to put our toddler to sleep even past 9 pm. It also had a chlorine smell in our room. However, next time we'll just know to request a different room. I will still return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top