$133 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

4 stars
View map of One Dock Street, One Dock Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 83
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunny in Philadelphia
Business
York, PA
Aug 26, 2013

Late night emergency check-in!

We were stranded in Philadelphia due to personal responsibilities, and needed a room last minute. It was 10:30 at night, so we checked to see what the closest hotel was with vacancy. The Sheraton was an excellent choice as far as location and reputation. Our check-in was shakey, as booking the room straight from the front desk was much more expensive, despite the time of night. However, everything was worked out within 15 minutes. Our room was quiet and clean, and located very close to local dining. Overall, a great quick stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk straight out the lobby door, up the concrete path across the street, and down the road a little bit to South Street! Food, shopping, and entertainment super close!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Longhorns in Maryland
Business
Baltimore, Maryland
Jul 5, 2010

Excellent Experience

We traveled to Philadelphia for my mother's 50th birthday and explored Old City Philadelphia. We were centrally located so it was easy to access all the tourist attractions by foot. We saw the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, the Betsy Ross house, Vietnam and Korean War Memorials (across from the Hotel), Christ Church, and Penn's Landing (right down the street). Parking was a bit expensive, but worth it because of the convenience of not having to haul our luggage down the street. We were also able to check out late with no additional charge. Overall it was an EXCELLENT stay. I can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh PA
Jul 14, 2011

Good location

Good clean rooms, courteous staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

City Tavern great food great atmosphere

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
mcdaniel,md
Aug 7, 2009

great location near waterfront, dining

bar service & room service was excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Valparaiso, IN
Jul 31, 2009

Excellent location to old town

This hotel is in a great location to old town and the Delaware River/Penn Landing riverfront. There were a couple of minor issues with my room but after talking it over with the hotel staff they upgraded the room that I was in and I ended up being extremely happy with the best view of the river and free breakfasts and hors doevres in their club room. The hotel is in excellent condition except for some plumbing issues. The pool is big and indoors but under a glass ceiling and there were a number of people enjoying it. The only thing that could have been better is if they would replace those awful noisy hotel doors that end up making noise no matter how careful you are to quietly close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss the Liberty Bell and Constitutional Hall just a five minute walk away. Betsy Ross' house is just a few minutes farther but make sure you check the opening time; some attractions don't open until 10:00 AM.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Omaha
Dec 8, 2008

location, location, location

the Sheraton Society Hill was very well located, near historic sites, Penn's Landing, and in the heart of a fabulous array of restaurants. while the hotel could probably use a minor facelift, the rooms were comfortable and spacious, and the common areas had all the amenities you could want, with restaruant, two bars, and free internet access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Amada's, a tapas bar nearby, is wonderful

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
philadelphia, pa.
Apr 24, 2011

Wonderful... but tainted.

We checked in late and they had no problem with that. wonderful! The gentleman at the front desk even gave us an extra hour to check out the next day. So sweet. However, as I said we checked in late, and we tried to sleep in... however there was construction going on which not only woke us up very early... but kept us awake. It really tainted the whole experience. All we wanted was a good nights sleep. It was easter sunday too. Really not a great morning. I was also disappointed that the bar wasn't open late. But it was a holiday so I guess its understandable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
American Patriot visiting another.
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jun 14, 2010

Sheraton Hotel accommodations and rating

To funeral service. Two days travel, one day memorial. Only had time for about six hours touring the Phl historical gems (in true life historical form) nearby the half mile about the visitor center. It is a great place that I will one day spend 5-7days to enjoy. I love the foundation of America and all that our leaders left with us. It is an honor to receive these gifts and only befitting those of us who will uphold the ideals. Many [*] do not care and even Americans who don't know how, why, when this all came about.The hotel and many sites are as memorable as those that made it. What's not to love and honor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The brochures of the squares, the Independence Bldg, and particularly the Visitors Center give one easy access to what, when, where to go. The place is amazing with detail, documentation, speeches, recorded events of past. They were remarkable leaders at a true time of need for all the world to benefit from.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas
Jul 30, 2009

Good location! Good stay!

Nice, clean accomodations. Only 3-4 blocks from the historical sights. We commented that we appreciated coming back to a smaller hotel at the end of a long day, it was relaxing. Housekeeping seemed understaffed. Rooms didn't get made-up until late in the day and had to wait for extra towels, etc. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Check-out the Independence Hall Visitors Center & literature the day before you want to see the sights to get the lay of the land.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EyeNurse
Business
Floral Park, NY
Jul 30, 2009

Great Location!

This hotel was clean, staff was super! Polite, helpful, attentive from the parking attendant to the maids. Clean room, pleasant atmosphere and quiet. I really enjoyed my stay and would highly recommend this hotel to all types of travelers (except for party-minded!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to most attractions from the hotel. I would recommend an early morning excursion, followed by a rest and then an afternoon/evening excursion again. Positano restaurant across the street is excellent!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top