$142 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 16, 2015 Check-out: Jul 18, 2015

Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

4 stars
View map of One Dock Street, One Dock Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Itsmemeredith
Business
Milwaukee
Oct 6, 2013

not worth the money

Its true that the hotel is in a great historic location but thats where the amazing qualities end. The entire place is stuffy and overpriced. The accommodations are showing wear & tear, bathroom lighting is cavelike, & the walls are far too thin (especially if you are unfortunate enough to have a door that could make your room into a suite with your neighbor). I have been to Philadelphia twice now. I have stayed at the Le Meridien on Arch and the Sheraton Society Hill. If you're going to spend the $ stay at the Le Meridien instead -- it blows this place out of the water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

for every day you decline housekeeping you get a $5 voucher for the restaurant or coffee bar

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Trixy
Business
Wisconsin
Jun 27, 2010

It was okay.

Not really an upscale place; lots of families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Mar 9, 2010

Better in the photographs

I was recently there to attend a conference at the hotel; as a result, I spent five full days in the hotel. The hotel was very comfortable, with a great location. However, the fitness center needed major updates on the the equipment. Additionally, room service trays were often left in the hallways all day long.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cls
Business
dc
Dec 28, 2010

christmas at the sheraton

Valet was courteous, very helpful with the many bags on a late Christmas evening. The check-in was longer than usual due to a unhappy guest complaining. A lot of construction was going on that was not made aware to guests prior to arrival. The pool, sauna, hot tub, and restaurants were under construction during our stay. The pool construction was completed but do to being refilled, was extremely cold. The room itself was great. Good floor, good location away from the elevator, quiet (even during the construction), very clean room, did not refill all bathroom sundries, continental breakfast was only fully stocked on the last day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vacation loving couple
Business
Jackson, MS
May 12, 2010

Great location and good rooms

We spent the time at this hotel visiting the historic sites, including the Liberty Bell and Independence Hall. This hotel had a good location (~5-6 blocks to these attractions). The room was a good size, but the bathroom was a tad small (and the toilet didn't flush the best). Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to vacationers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Bring walking shoes, because it doesn't make sense to drive most anywhere in Center City. If flying in, then don't rent a car because the valet parking fees are kind of high.

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wash DC
Jun 1, 2010

Memorial Day weekend stay

We paid for a for a club room and these rooms are located next to the swimming area. The room had a very strong smell from the chlorine in the pool. The smell of chlorine was so strong that I thought someone had spilled it in the room. The receptionist found another room for us that was in the same wing, but the smell was still strong. I believe constructing rooms around or too close to swimming pools are a big mistake. Eventhough this is a good location, I will never stay in this hotel again or at least in the club area of the hotel and nor would I reccomend it to anyone else. The smell made me very sick. Staff tried to accomodate us, but the smell permeated the hall and all of the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dawgs
Business
Atlanta Ga.
Aug 31, 2009

Business trip

A very ordinary hotel in a downtown city. Not bad but nothing special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to see a sporting event at the Sports Complex it is a 10 minute drive. Very easy to get there.

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
jersey city nj
Feb 18, 2010

sheraton society hill- philly

overall the hotel was good, the rooms were clean, but it needs rennovation- the rooms show age, and they seemed a bit smaller than the norm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the liberty bell and the historic district is within walking distance. by all means you must visit the seaport museum and check out the olympia and the sub there. it is amazing! youre also right near south street with plenty of restaurants and bars to choose from.

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, MO
Feb 8, 2010

Good Conference Hotel

The hotel hosted our conference (~200 people). It's a perfect size, the guest rooms are comfortable,and everything-- meeting room facilities, and the lobby area (restaurants, coffee shop, business center) was convenient. Close to the historic areas, and tons of restaurants. We were locked down in the hotel by a huge snowstorm, and the hotel staff, despite being shorthanded and working overtime, were wonderful. Only two negatives: the computers and printer setup at the business center was poor; almost impossible to print, and internet browser setup was lousy. A bigger concern was internet access, especially in the meeting rooms. If you're charging $10.00 per day for individual internet access in guestrooms and throughout the hotel, it's ridiculous to block that access in meeting rooms so you can charge $125.00 per user during meetings. That policy will prevent groups like ours from returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are tons of great restaurants-- casual/cheap to 4-star-- within a short walk. Less than 15 minute walk to the Liberty Bell, Constitution Center, and several museums.

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KDAfromBOS
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 30, 2011

Ok stay at the Sheraton

They have mood boards when you come in, and the lobby looks newly renovated, however the rooms are still dated. They say on the site they charge $29 per night for parking, however, they also charge almost $7 for tax each night, making it $36. Our room was ok, but had some interesting stains on the floor, including what looked like pink highlighter and another looked like coffee. Oh... and the internet, I needed to check into my flight, and you get 50 free minutes of internet per room at the business center, however, it took the computer 20 minutes alone for the US Airways site to load. Then 15 more to try to get my boarding pass to load. It was overall an OK stay with OK amenities. The people at the front desk were helpful and nice and the location is fantastic - within walking distance to all the great Olde City bars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Zento sushi. It's great sushi and BYOB! The Continental has AMAZING food, but a little more expensive.

Back to menu Return to top