$150 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

4 stars
View map of One Dock Street, One Dock Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
75 reviews
Romantic Getaway

We were in town for our anniversary. The hotel was great. It was well maintained, clean and the all... See full review

  • Nancy S.
  • Jul 14, 2015
Awesome Place All Around

I always stay at this hotel when I go to Philadelphia. It has an excellent location and the staff... See full review

  • Gaelwynn
  • Nov 20, 2014

The Sheraton Society Hill Hotel is located in a quaint section of Philadelphia that contains the largest concentration of original 18th- and early 19th-century architecture in the U.S. The recently renovated hotel sits on a quiet cobblestone street and is only a few blocks from the Historic District and Penn's Landing. The four-story atrium lobby enjoys plenty of light and contains greenery and a fountain. Amenities include an indoor pool, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, a gift shop, and the Sweet Sleeper bed in all of its rooms.

Rooms

The four-story Sheraton Society Hill has 364 nonsmoking guestrooms located on the second, third and fourth floors with views of Society Hill, Penn's Landing or the Delaware River. Rooms have one king-sized bed or two double beds and are furnished in a colonial style. All rooms include the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds with plush-top mattresses, triple sheeting, fleece blankets, duvets and down pillows. Other amenities include desks with ergonomic desk chairs; wireless Internet access (surcharge); complimentary weekday newspapers; TVs with premium channels, pay movies and video games (fees apply); coffee makers; bathrobes; Bliss toiletries and compact refrigerators available upon request.

Property features

Located on preferred floors, Sheraton Club guest rooms offer upgraded amenities and access to the Club Lounge, with its complimentary continental breakfast and evening hors d'oeuvres.

On-site dining options include the Link@SheratonCafe that serves freshly brewed Starbucks coffee, open daily. Taste offers breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Wooden Nickel is a sports bar that is open from mid-afternoon until late evening.

Highlights
  • Quiet Society Hill location located four blocks from Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell
  • Indoor pool
  • All guestrooms include the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Beds, and Sweet Sleeper dog beds are also available upon request
Nearby attractions
  • Penn's Landing (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Historic District (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Convention Center (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • University of Pennsylvania (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Professional Sports/Concert Venues (5 mi/8 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Audio/Visual equipment
  • Multiple conference/meeting rooms
  • Event catering
  • Dry-cleaning and laundry service
  • Meeting specialists available
Transportation
  • SEPTA Subway Penn's Landing Station (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (11 mi/17.7 km)
Policies
  • 24-hour valet parking fee is $36 USD plus 20% tax per day.
  • Club Lounge Hours: 
Continental breakfast - Mon-Fri: 6:30am-10:30am and Sat-Sun: 7:30am-10:30am
Evening Appetizers -Mon-Sun 5:30pm-8:30pm

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5

Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
Car rental desk
Porters
Doorman
Parking
Parking
Room
Safe

Nearby points of interest

  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.4 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.5 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.5 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.5 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.6 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 1.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.5 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.6 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1.7 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.4 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.5 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.5 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.5 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.6 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 1.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.5 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.6 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1.7 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 1.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 1.9 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1.9 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 2 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 2.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 2.5 mi
  • The Palestra: 2.5 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.5 mi
  • Penn Museum: 2.6 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 2.6 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 3.4 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 3.7 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 11 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,458.2 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715 mi

Dining

Taste
Visit our restaurant, Taste, for contemporary American cuisine, locally-brewed craft beers, and an impressive global selection of award-winning wines.
Starbucks Café
Relax in Starbucks Café, located in our four-story atrium courtyard.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sunni One
Connecticut
Nov 13, 2012

Weekend in Philly

I booked this hotel because my son was staying here with a group he was traveling with. I couldn't have been more pleased. The hotel is just wonderful and the staff really goes out of their way to make sure you're happy. The restaurant staff was especially terrific! Our servers couldn't do enough! In all of my travels, I have to say this was an exceptional experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, D.C.
Jan 5, 2011

Jackhammering nighmare!!!

[...] My husband and I left the kids with their grandparents and for the first time in four years, we went on a two-day getaway trip to Philly. When we arrived, we could see dust clouds, the reception desk was covered in dust, jackhammers were so loud we could hardly hear the receptionist who was telling us that the contstruction goes on from 8:00AM to 6:00PM, and the hotel was supposedly open for business!!! I wonder if anyone called OSHA?! The pictures of the hotel were nice and the location is fantastic, short walk to the Liberty Bell and other historic sites although it's a garden style building and you would get to hear traffic noise. We didn't stay. I suppose the hotel will be nice once it's done[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Philly On Business
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Dec 30, 2010

Price Too Good to be True...Construction

The hotel is in a great location but it was undergoing major renovations and there was lots of noise and dust. The heater didn't work until maintenance came and put in a new air filter. The restaurant was understaffed as it was undergoing a renovation as well. Overall a great price but not worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MRK
Business
Dubuque, IA
May 11, 2010

Location, but little else

Great location, everything else sub-standard. Housekeeping made the beds and replaced towels, didn't take away garbage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ruth Super Grand
Business
Warminster, PA
Dec 21, 2009

Sheraton Society Hill

The hotel location is perfect to walk around center city Philadelphia. There are numerous excellent restaurants in Old City, Ritz movie theaters nearby, as well as unique stores in the close vicinity, along with Macy's and Liberty One Mall uptown. Parking fee was $35 per day ! In years past, it was included in the hotel price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
IM Frequent Traveler
Business
NYC
Aug 11, 2014

Bad Experience

We needed a shower cap the night we got in so we could take a shower and go to bed and there was no shower cap. I had to call the front desk twice and after 25 minutes it was delivered to the room. The air conditioner made a horrible noise which made it very hard to sleep well. It was the first time I saw in a four star hotel the a/c unit inside the room. The unit is always out side not inside the room. The bathtub was dirty. It had black marks on it. It took for ever to get the car. I've had better service. I would really think hard about going back to a Sheraton Hotel after this experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Itsmemeredith
Business
Milwaukee
Oct 6, 2013

not worth the money

Its true that the hotel is in a great historic location but thats where the amazing qualities end. The entire place is stuffy and overpriced. The accommodations are showing wear & tear, bathroom lighting is cavelike, & the walls are far too thin (especially if you are unfortunate enough to have a door that could make your room into a suite with your neighbor). I have been to Philadelphia twice now. I have stayed at the Le Meridien on Arch and the Sheraton Society Hill. If you're going to spend the $ stay at the Le Meridien instead -- it blows this place out of the water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

for every day you decline housekeeping you get a $5 voucher for the restaurant or coffee bar

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Trixy
Business
Wisconsin
Jun 27, 2010

It was okay.

Not really an upscale place; lots of families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Mar 9, 2010

Better in the photographs

I was recently there to attend a conference at the hotel; as a result, I spent five full days in the hotel. The hotel was very comfortable, with a great location. However, the fitness center needed major updates on the the equipment. Additionally, room service trays were often left in the hallways all day long.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cls
Business
dc
Dec 28, 2010

christmas at the sheraton

Valet was courteous, very helpful with the many bags on a late Christmas evening. The check-in was longer than usual due to a unhappy guest complaining. A lot of construction was going on that was not made aware to guests prior to arrival. The pool, sauna, hot tub, and restaurants were under construction during our stay. The pool construction was completed but do to being refilled, was extremely cold. The room itself was great. Good floor, good location away from the elevator, quiet (even during the construction), very clean room, did not refill all bathroom sundries, continental breakfast was only fully stocked on the last day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vacation loving couple
Business
Jackson, MS
May 12, 2010

Great location and good rooms

We spent the time at this hotel visiting the historic sites, including the Liberty Bell and Independence Hall. This hotel had a good location (~5-6 blocks to these attractions). The room was a good size, but the bathroom was a tad small (and the toilet didn't flush the best). Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to vacationers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Bring walking shoes, because it doesn't make sense to drive most anywhere in Center City. If flying in, then don't rent a car because the valet parking fees are kind of high.

Back to menu Return to top