$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 2, 2014 Check-out: Nov 5, 2014

Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

4 stars
One Dock Street, One Dock Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
74 reviews
Great weekend

Desk staff was quick and efficient. Helpful in accommodating our desired room location. The beds... See full review

  • Jim J P
  • Aug 25, 2014
Beautiful hotel

Loved every minute of my stay. Staff was excellent. Zero complaints See full review

  • Billygraf
  • Jun 9, 2014
Enjoy a warm welcome and step back in time to colonial Philadelphia at the Sheraton Society Hill Hotel. Create memories with loved ones as you stroll along cobblestone streets and visit America's most historic square mile, which includes such sites as Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell, just four blocks away. After a busy day, wind down in our indoor heated swimming pool or whirlpool. When you're ready to re-energize, head to our fitness center. Call it a night in one our 365 guest rooms and suites and sleep easy in the celebrated "ahhhhh" of the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. Plus, you can stay connected while away with wireless High Speed Internet Access in all guest rooms, public areas, and the lobby. Whether you're flying in from the Philadelphia International Airport or pulling into Amtrak's 30th Street Station, our hotel is easy to get to. You'll be greeted with a smile and reassurance that your time spent here for business or pleasure is worth it. Enjoy a stay you'll always remember at the Sheraton Society Hill Hotel.

Hotel Map

39.9453 -75.1431
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 14.48, KM;
Area description
City Center, Urban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
Car rental desk
Porters
Doorman
Parking
Parking
Room
Safe

Nearby points of interest

  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.4 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.5 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.5 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.5 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.6 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 1.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.5 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.6 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1.7 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.4 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.5 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.5 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.5 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.6 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 1.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.5 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.6 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1.7 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 1.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 1.9 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1.9 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 2 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 2.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 2.5 mi
  • The Palestra: 2.5 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.5 mi
  • Penn Museum: 2.6 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 2.6 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 3.4 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 3.7 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 11 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,458.2 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715 mi

Dining

Starbucks Café
Relax in Starbucks Café, located in our four-story atrium courtyard.
Taste
Visit our restaurant, Taste, for contemporary American cuisine, locally-brewed craft beers, and an impressive global selection of award-winning wines.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (74)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boise, Idaho
Jun 24, 2010

Location, Location, Location

The Society Hill location is right in the heart of history. We had one full day and one afternoon to take in as much as we could, and walking from this location made it possible to see many of the highlights of Philadelphia's Old City. If history is what you are after, this is the place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
xeniamom
Business
Xenia, Ohio
Jul 9, 2010

Great Stay, but be careful of valet park

Great stay but parking was a rip off

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

closee to all historic sites

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Aug 16, 2010

Sheraton Society Hill

My wife and I were in Philly to tour the town. The SSH was in easy walking distance to all of the historic district. Also, it was 2 blocks from the subway, providing access to all of downtown. Nice, quiet hotel, close to bars and shops, at a good price. We upgraded to the Club Level and recieved beer/wine and decent snacks in the evening and a limited continental breakfast in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NH
Sep 8, 2009

Great value!

Great place to visit historical sites in Philly. Very comfortable hotel, outstanding lobby, very good food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Jul 10, 2009

Great Hotel

The location of the Hotel is outstanding. Within walking distance of all major attractions and restaurants. We parked our car at the Hotel when we arrived and did not need it again until we left for home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Major League
Business
Denver, Colorado
Sep 7, 2009

Charming and convenient location!

The location was perfect for walking to all the historic sites and many restaurants. We visited most of the historic sites plus China Town and the Italian Market in South Philly, all very accessible. The lobby was open and welcoming, with many spaces for reading or meeting with people and our room was spotless. The front desk staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Look for restaurants that have a Happy Hour and order their appetizers, that's a meal in itself. You get greater variety of tastes and it's cheaper and more fun than entrees.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pleasanton, CA
Aug 24, 2009

Really nice.

The hotel was a really nice suprise. The beds were awesome, the rooms were large, the restaurant and bar and lobby area were real nice, and all of the staff were friendly and helpful. It's a great location too -- for off and on the freeway and for seeing all there is to see in Philadelphia. I would definitely book here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Continental Diner is about 3 blocks away at 2nd and Market Street. It was great -- fun cocktails and delicious small plates. Really cool spot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Just north of San Francisco
Jun 30, 2009

Wonderful people; a few caveats

The outstanding thing about the Sheraton Society Hill is the warmth and helpfulness of the staff: from the clerk at the front desk who checked us in to the counter person at the Starbucks in the lobby; we felt welcome. As to the room, it was the normal room one would expect at a three star hotel; comfortable, but nothing special. And we liked being so close to major historical sites such as Independence Hall as well as comfortable, tasty restaurants. Our major concerns were that the hotel nickel-and-dimes you on some items. There is a ten dollar a day charge for wifi access and a glass of skim milk on the breakfast delivery menu is $14 (wow!) We got one small bar of soap that was apparently supposed to serve us both at the sink and the shower for all three days we were there. And it would have been helpful if the hotel's site mentioned the fact that there was shuttle service to and from the airport for a reasonable charge ($10 per person). Also, although the waiter we had in the Wooden Nickel was a very sweet guy, the food was well below mediocre. We did like the fact that there is a Starbucks in the main lobby so that one could jump out of bed and grab a latter first thing in the morning. Ultimately, the first and last point we'd emphasize is how nice the staff is. When one is in an unfamiliar city, it is great to be treated well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a row of wonderful ethnic restaurants within three blocks. Whether you would like Afghan, Korean, Brazilian, Indian -- the choices seem endless, you will find good, reasonably priced food a few blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Philly's Own
Business
San Diego
Sep 17, 2009

Sheraton society Hill Philadelphia

Was there with a friend from out of town. Amazing location just one block from the historic area's, great bar's and restaurants just minutes away. For the price I highly recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brainerd, MN
Sep 8, 2009

Great hotel in a great location

loved the location all of Philly within walking distance. No need for a rental car!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top