$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 27, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

4 stars
One Dock Street, One Dock Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
75 reviews
Awesome Place All Around

I always stay at this hotel when I go to Philadelphia. It has an excellent location and the staff... See full review

  • Gaelwynn
  • Nov 20, 2014
Great weekend

Desk staff was quick and efficient. Helpful in accommodating our desired room location. The beds... See full review

  • Jim J P
  • Aug 25, 2014
Society Hill location near Penn's Landing and Historic District

The Sheraton Society Hill Hotel is located in a quaint section of Philadelphia that contains the largest concentration of original 18th- and early 19th-century architecture in the U.S. The recently renovated hotel sits on a quiet cobblestone street and is only a few blocks from the Historic District and Penn's Landing. The four-story atrium lobby enjoys plenty of light and contains greenery and a fountain. Amenities include an indoor pool, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, a gift shop, and the Sweet Sleeper bed in all of its rooms.

Highlights:
  • Quiet Society Hill location located four blocks from Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell
  • Indoor pool
  • All guestrooms include the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Beds, and Sweet Sleeper dog beds are also available upon request
Rooms:

The four-story Sheraton Society Hill has 364 nonsmoking guestrooms located on the second, third and fourth floors with views of Society Hill, Penn's Landing or the Delaware River. Rooms have one king-sized bed or two double beds and are furnished in a colonial style. All rooms include the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds with plush-top mattresses, triple sheeting, fleece blankets, duvets and down pillows. Other amenities include desks with ergonomic desk chairs; wireless Internet access (surcharge); complimentary weekday newspapers; TVs with premium channels, pay movies and video games (fees apply); coffee makers; bathrobes; Bliss toiletries and compact refrigerators available upon request.

Features:

Located on preferred floors, Sheraton Club guest rooms offer upgraded amenities and access to the Club Lounge, with its complimentary continental breakfast and evening hors d'oeuvres.

On-site dining options include the Link@SheratonCafe that serves freshly brewed Starbucks coffee, open daily. Taste offers breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Wooden Nickel is a sports bar that is open from mid-afternoon until late evening.

Transportation:
  • SEPTA Subway Penn's Landing Station (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (11 mi/17.7 km)
Attractions:
  • Penn's Landing (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Historic District (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Convention Center (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • University of Pennsylvania (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Professional Sports/Concert Venues (5 mi/8 km)
Business:
  • 24-hour business center
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Audio/Visual equipment
  • Multiple conference/meeting rooms
  • Event catering
  • Dry-cleaning and laundry service
  • Meeting specialists available
Policies and fees
  • 24-hour valet parking fee is $36 USD plus 20% tax per day.
  • Club Lounge Hours: 
Continental breakfast - Mon-Fri: 6:30am-10:30am and Sat-Sun: 7:30am-10:30am
Evening Appetizers -Mon-Sun 5:30pm-8:30pm

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
Car rental desk
Porters
Doorman
Parking
Parking
Room
Safe

Nearby points of interest

  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.4 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.5 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.5 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.5 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.6 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 1.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.5 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.6 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1.7 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.4 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.5 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.5 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.5 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.6 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 1.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.5 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.6 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1.7 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 1.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 1.9 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1.9 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 2 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 2.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 2.5 mi
  • The Palestra: 2.5 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.5 mi
  • Penn Museum: 2.6 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 2.6 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 3.4 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 3.7 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 11 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,458.2 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715 mi

Dining

Taste
Visit our restaurant, Taste, for contemporary American cuisine, locally-brewed craft beers, and an impressive global selection of award-winning wines.
Starbucks Café
Relax in Starbucks Café, located in our four-story atrium courtyard.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jennnnn
New Jersey
Mar 25, 2013

Birthday Celebration

The Sheraton was the perfect location for going out in the city to celebrate a birthday. The staff was friendly and the room was wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
rochester, new york
Nov 14, 2010

Beautiful location

Walking distance to numerous historical sites, and public art, and parks. Clean and comfortable. Large room and bath. Excellent restaurant and wait staff, friendly and helpful. Dissapointed that the whirlpool was not functioning because that was the big attraction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

River is very close. Short drive to Museums and art attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Presley W
Business
Maryland
Aug 10, 2009

will return

The hotel is located in a great part of town. Lots to do and enjoy, even if just walking around. The staff was very courteous. Our only complaint was that they put us in a room without a window. It was looking into the pool and it was very noisy as we were trying to put our toddler to sleep even past 9 pm. It also had a chlorine smell in our room. However, next time we'll just know to request a different room. I will still return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Longhorns in Maryland
Business
Baltimore, Maryland
Jul 5, 2010

Excellent Experience

We traveled to Philadelphia for my mother's 50th birthday and explored Old City Philadelphia. We were centrally located so it was easy to access all the tourist attractions by foot. We saw the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, the Betsy Ross house, Vietnam and Korean War Memorials (across from the Hotel), Christ Church, and Penn's Landing (right down the street). Parking was a bit expensive, but worth it because of the convenience of not having to haul our luggage down the street. We were also able to check out late with no additional charge. Overall it was an EXCELLENT stay. I can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh PA
Jul 14, 2011

Good location

Good clean rooms, courteous staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

City Tavern great food great atmosphere

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
mcdaniel,md
Aug 7, 2009

great location near waterfront, dining

bar service & room service was excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grateful wife and mom
Business
Reston, va
Aug 28, 2014

great location - pretty good hotel

we usually are very happy with the sheraton and with two small kids it was nice they have an indoor pool and walking distance from the historic district and penn's landing. parking is really expensive and really the only option is to valet. also - i was shocked there as no fridge in the room. we had to request one and the one they brought was ancient and smelled like mildew. the rooms were comfortable though. maid service was a little annoying...the first day they came at 2 and the next day the maid actually walked into our room at 8:30am. but we would still stay there again and be sure there was a fridge in our room ahead of time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

please touch museum for kids is a must in philly! buy tickets ahead of time to save time and money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Austinite business woman
Business
Austin, TX
Sep 14, 2014

Nice

I thoroughly enjoyed staying here for the 2nd time in 12 years...so they've kept the quality up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Violatraveler
Business
Cedar falls, IA
Sep 29, 2014

Great location

Excellent location, super comfortable bed. Decent breakfast but overpriced. Gift shop didn't have contact lens solution....not cool. But staff was super helpful as I was dealing with a lost bag. I'd stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KDAfromBOS
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 30, 2011

Ok stay at the Sheraton

They have mood boards when you come in, and the lobby looks newly renovated, however the rooms are still dated. They say on the site they charge $29 per night for parking, however, they also charge almost $7 for tax each night, making it $36. Our room was ok, but had some interesting stains on the floor, including what looked like pink highlighter and another looked like coffee. Oh... and the internet, I needed to check into my flight, and you get 50 free minutes of internet per room at the business center, however, it took the computer 20 minutes alone for the US Airways site to load. Then 15 more to try to get my boarding pass to load. It was overall an OK stay with OK amenities. The people at the front desk were helpful and nice and the location is fantastic - within walking distance to all the great Olde City bars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Zento sushi. It's great sushi and BYOB! The Continental has AMAZING food, but a little more expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Itsmemeredith
Business
Milwaukee
Oct 6, 2013

not worth the money

Its true that the hotel is in a great historic location but thats where the amazing qualities end. The entire place is stuffy and overpriced. The accommodations are showing wear & tear, bathroom lighting is cavelike, & the walls are far too thin (especially if you are unfortunate enough to have a door that could make your room into a suite with your neighbor). I have been to Philadelphia twice now. I have stayed at the Le Meridien on Arch and the Sheraton Society Hill. If you're going to spend the $ stay at the Le Meridien instead -- it blows this place out of the water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

for every day you decline housekeeping you get a $5 voucher for the restaurant or coffee bar

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top