$162 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 24, 2014 Check-out: Sep 26, 2014

Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

4 stars
One Dock Street, (Second and Walnut Streets), Philadelphia, PA 19106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
72 reviews
Great weekend

Desk staff was quick and efficient. Helpful in accommodating our desired room location. The beds... See full review

  • Jim J P
  • Aug 25, 2014
Beautiful hotel

Loved every minute of my stay. Staff was excellent. Zero complaints See full review

  • Billygraf
  • Jun 9, 2014
Society Hill location near Penn's Landing and Historic District

The Sheraton Society Hill Hotel is located in a quaint section of Philadelphia that contains the largest concentration of original 18th- and early 19th-century architecture in the U.S. The recently renovated hotel sits on a quiet cobblestone street and is only a few blocks from the Historic District and Penn's Landing. The four-story atrium lobby enjoys plenty of light and contains greenery and a fountain. Amenities include an indoor pool, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, a gift shop, and the Sweet Sleeper bed in all of its rooms.

Highlights:
  • Quiet Society Hill location located four blocks from Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell
  • Indoor pool
  • All guestrooms include the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Beds, and Sweet Sleeper dog beds are also available upon request
Rooms:

The four-story Sheraton Society Hill has 364 nonsmoking guestrooms located on the second, third and fourth floors with views of Society Hill, Penn's Landing or the Delaware River. Rooms have one king-sized bed or two double beds and are furnished in a colonial style. All rooms include the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds with plush-top mattresses, triple sheeting, fleece blankets, duvets and down pillows. Other amenities include desks with ergonomic desk chairs; wireless Internet access (surcharge); complimentary weekday newspapers; TVs with premium channels, pay movies and video games (fees apply); coffee makers; bathrobes; Bliss toiletries and compact refrigerators available upon request.

Features:

Located on preferred floors, Sheraton Club guest rooms offer upgraded amenities and access to the Club Lounge, with its complimentary continental breakfast and evening hors d'oeuvres.

On-site dining options include the Link@SheratonCafe that serves freshly brewed Starbucks coffee, open daily. Taste offers breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Wooden Nickel is a sports bar that is open from mid-afternoon until late evening.

Transportation:
  • SEPTA Subway Penn's Landing Station (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (11 mi/17.7 km)
Attractions:
  • Penn's Landing (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Historic District (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Convention Center (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • University of Pennsylvania (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Professional Sports/Concert Venues (5 mi/8 km)
Business:
  • 24-hour business center
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Audio/Visual equipment
  • Multiple conference/meeting rooms
  • Event catering
  • Dry-cleaning and laundry service
  • Meeting specialists available
Policies and fees
  • 24-hour valet parking fee is $36 USD plus 20% tax per day.
  • Club Lounge Hours: 
Continental breakfast - Mon-Fri: 6:30am-10:30am and Sat-Sun: 7:30am-10:30am
Evening Appetizers -Mon-Sun 5:30pm-8:30pm

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.9453 -75.1431
Area served
Allentown, Atlantic City, Camden, Cherry Hill, Ft Washington, Wilmington, King Of Prussia, Princeton, West Chester
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 7.00, MI;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.4 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.5 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.5 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.5 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.6 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 1.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.5 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.6 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1.7 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.4 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.5 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.5 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.5 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.6 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 1.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.5 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.6 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1.7 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 1.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 1.9 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1.9 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 2 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 2.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 2.5 mi
  • The Palestra: 2.5 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.5 mi
  • Penn Museum: 2.6 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 2.6 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 3.4 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 3.7 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 11 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,458.2 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Philadelphia Pennsylvania
Business
San Francisco, CA
Apr 11, 2013

Wonderful Hotel

I was attending a business meeting at the hotel the end of March, 2013. I would highly reccomend the Sheraton Sociey Hill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Philly's Own
San Diego
Sep 17, 2009

Sheraton society Hill Philadelphia

Was there with a friend from out of town. Amazing location just one block from the historic area's, great bar's and restaurants just minutes away. For the price I highly recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grateful wife and mom
Reston, va
Aug 28, 2014

great location - pretty good hotel

we usually are very happy with the sheraton and with two small kids it was nice they have an indoor pool and walking distance from the historic district and penn's landing. parking is really expensive and really the only option is to valet. also - i was shocked there as no fridge in the room. we had to request one and the one they brought was ancient and smelled like mildew. the rooms were comfortable though. maid service was a little annoying...the first day they came at 2 and the next day the maid actually walked into our room at 8:30am. but we would still stay there again and be sure there was a fridge in our room ahead of time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

please touch museum for kids is a must in philly! buy tickets ahead of time to save time and money.

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Just north of San Francisco
Jun 30, 2009

Wonderful people; a few caveats

The outstanding thing about the Sheraton Society Hill is the warmth and helpfulness of the staff: from the clerk at the front desk who checked us in to the counter person at the Starbucks in the lobby; we felt welcome. As to the room, it was the normal room one would expect at a three star hotel; comfortable, but nothing special. And we liked being so close to major historical sites such as Independence Hall as well as comfortable, tasty restaurants. Our major concerns were that the hotel nickel-and-dimes you on some items. There is a ten dollar a day charge for wifi access and a glass of skim milk on the breakfast delivery menu is $14 (wow!) We got one small bar of soap that was apparently supposed to serve us both at the sink and the shower for all three days we were there. And it would have been helpful if the hotel's site mentioned the fact that there was shuttle service to and from the airport for a reasonable charge ($10 per person). Also, although the waiter we had in the Wooden Nickel was a very sweet guy, the food was well below mediocre. We did like the fact that there is a Starbucks in the main lobby so that one could jump out of bed and grab a latter first thing in the morning. Ultimately, the first and last point we'd emphasize is how nice the staff is. When one is in an unfamiliar city, it is great to be treated well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a row of wonderful ethnic restaurants within three blocks. Whether you would like Afghan, Korean, Brazilian, Indian -- the choices seem endless, you will find good, reasonably priced food a few blocks away.

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EyeNurse
Floral Park, NY
Jul 30, 2009

Great Location!

This hotel was clean, staff was super! Polite, helpful, attentive from the parking attendant to the maids. Clean room, pleasant atmosphere and quiet. I really enjoyed my stay and would highly recommend this hotel to all types of travelers (except for party-minded!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to most attractions from the hotel. I would recommend an early morning excursion, followed by a rest and then an afternoon/evening excursion again. Positano restaurant across the street is excellent!

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Willton505
New York, NY
May 28, 2013

Perfect Location

Great location within walking distance to just about everything you need. Hotel was clean and well maintaned. S

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Skip breakfast at the hotel as there are a ton of good options within walking distance.

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Titineb96
Boston Mass
Mar 24, 2014

great weekend getaway

great location for the seminar we were attending. walking distance to lots of restaurants and historic neighborhoods. Staff is attentive and always pleasant. Could do with an occasional clean behind those bed headboards. I had to fish out something and the dust there is pretty amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the restaurant Cuba Libre, the décor and the food are terrific!

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Colorado Springs, Co
Jul 6, 2009

The location is fabulous.

Housekeeping fair at best. Pieces of paper on the carpet when we arrived still there 6 days later. Fabulous location and friendly staff.We'd stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbus, Ohio
Jul 10, 2009

Great Hotel

The location of the Hotel is outstanding. Within walking distance of all major attractions and restaurants. We parked our car at the Hotel when we arrived and did not need it again until we left for home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DRLovin
New York
May 29, 2013

Great Location/Friendly Staff

In a wonderful location sits the Sheraton Philadelphia, classy and friendly yet well priced for location and amenities. If you are staying in Philadelphia and enjoy some site seeing and good night life and want it close by...this is the place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sara108
New York
Jul 24, 2013

Sheraton Philly Society Hill

This is a great hotel, within walking distance to two different sets of restaurant rows. Also along Market St, one can gain access to the underground rails which lead to virtually anywhere within the city, within walking distance from the hotel. This was huge for us because we came into Philly by train. Would definitely consider staying at this Sheraton again. I do have to say the concierge gave us a map, but didn't tell us how close we were to the trains.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

walk up to Market Street, and take advantage of the trains to Musceum Parkway

Back to menu Return to top

Change search