$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

3 stars
201 North 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
384 reviews
Enjoyable 4th of July stay in Philadelphia!

Our stay was from July 3 - July 5, and although we arrived before the scheduled check-in time, the... See full review

  • PhillyBikerGirl
  • Jul 6, 2014
Fantastic Weekend Getaway

Overall hotel experience was great! Great place to stay in downtown Philly:) See full review

  • Misdemeanor 75
  • Jun 22, 2014
Functioning even more smoothly as a business hotel since its 2013 renovations, the Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia now features a handy lobby connection center and library, redesigned meeting spaces, and brand new fitness equipment. The same stalwart features guests would expect from a Sheraton hotel are here, with regular Social Hours showcasing the hotel's wine list, free hors d'oeuvres and newspapers in the Club Lounge (Club upgrades only), along with an indoor pool that's ideal for a few late - night laps. Meet for cocktails under the lofty four - storey atrium at the Lobby Lounge, and move onto the Terrace Cafe when it's time for some a la carte eats.
Key facts
  • 757 guestrooms
  • 38 meeting rooms
  • The Link @Sheraton connectivity center, with free Wi-Fi
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Indoor pool
  • Self-park and valet
  • Fitness center
  • 2 restaurants: The Lobby Lounge and The Terrace Cafe


Neighborhood
The Sheraton Downtown sits just blocks away from JFK Plaza and City Hall, right in the middle of the Center City West area, and opposite the beautiful Italianate Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul. Take in the works of Renoir and the French Masters at The Barnes Foundation, or have fun with the giant interactive displays at the science - based museum The Franklin Institute near the Vine Street Expressway, just north of the hotel.
Hints and tips
If you're flying into Philly, you might want to invest in a SEPTA pass for the local subway trains, because you can reach the hotel (Suburban Station) from the airport in less than half an hour, and use the pass to zip around the Historic District, and attractions like Independence Hall during your stay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.9569 -75.1676
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 7.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Video checkout
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 0.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 0.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.3 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.7 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.5 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.9 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.4 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 9.8 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (384)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
384 out of 384
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NSScreens
Occoquan, Virginia
May 18, 2014

Great location

Great location. Beautiful views from our room (we asked for a high floor with a view) staff was friendly and helpful. Our only recommendation to the hotel is use real eggs for the breakfast buffet. We will stay there again but will order breakfast from the menu, the eggs looked real as opposed to the buffet which seem to be gritty like powdered eggs. Also very limited tv channels and too many ads for pay per view movies

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

We were there for the Stotesbury Regatta, you could walk to it if you are in good shape. It's maybe 2 miles.

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MikeyLaf
NY
Apr 18, 2014

Great experience

Our stay here was great. The room was very clean and well taken care of. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. Great location close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out riddenhouse sq.

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rhox
Portland, ME
Apr 15, 2014

Exciting first solo trip

I don't really have anything specific to say, other than I had a great weekend, and this hotel was pretty fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Texas Guy
Lewisville, TX
Apr 14, 2014

Worth the $$$$$

Our stay at the Philadelphia Downtown Sheraton was great! The staff was very courteous and the room was comfortable. I would go back any time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You must visit Sabrinas restaurant. It's small, but the food is to die for!

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kay Elle
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 11, 2014

Great sleep

Bed was so comfortable, and pillows too!! I was in for a conference, so didn't get out much to see anything (so don't know too much about location), but overall good stay....and best sleep in a hotel, I think, ever!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sabrina's [Cafe??] for breakfast...a 5 minute walk, but I know it didn't open until 8am on a Thursday, but they let me in a few minutes early and were so nice and food was great

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Conference Conference
Business
New Jersey
Apr 1, 2014

Good servicable choice

I was pleasantly surprised by the competent and responsive hotel staff! The lobby is spacious, has Starbucks, and a good breakfast place. The rooms are a little worn and have one of those heaters in the corner--the kind one finds in Hampton Inn, etc. The shower head is good. I have no real complaints. If you need a place to stay for a conference and can find a good deal, this hotel is in an ideal location. Safe to walk to places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The Septa trains from the airport into Center City stop very close to a number of hotels and the price is $8 bought on board. From Suburban Station the price in advance is $6.50. Takes 23 minutes. Very good choice.

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Weekends with wife
Denver, Co
Mar 31, 2014

Long weekend in Philly

The Sheraton was okay. Small room with queen size bed. Staff wasn't as responsive as I would have liked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Lots of great food in the Theatre District.

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dns.arquitetura
Business
Toronto
Mar 26, 2014

More spectations

I've never been at Sheraton hotel, and my expectations was higher. I was disappointed with this hotel. The room was small and the bad too. The service at bar was the worst that I've tried. In addition, the breakfast was poor. I did't like

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

close to downtown

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lorinova
Staten Island, New York
Mar 24, 2014

Good weekend getaway

My boyfriend and I came to Philadelphia to see the Rangers at Flyers. We took the train to the game which is a short walk from the hotel. No complaints here, had a short, but nice stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
medstu
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Mar 13, 2014

reality check

When Cheaptixs, or the Hotel itself, advertises free wifi- don't be fooled. This was the room description emailed to me- " Spacious room overlooking the philadelphia skyline & museum also features wireless internet access for fee. 2 doubles bed - nonrefundable." Sure there is free wifi- in the lobby! Not in the comfort of your own room on the 26th floor. Wifi in the room will cost you 13$ a day. Parking 38$ a day. Breakfast buffet- 17$. Don't be fooled by the "Great Deal" on this nice hotel- they nickel and dime you on everything, but it isn't so much nickels and dimes as much as it is ten and twenty dollar bills. To be fair, the location is great, minutes from historic sites, and across the street from beautiful churches. And the beds are comfortable. But I am disappointed in the hotel and cheaptixs for not being upfront about what the real price is to stay in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

don't stay here if you need internet in your room or are driving your own car.

Back to menu Return to top