$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

3 stars
201 North 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
385 reviews
Great hotel.

Outstanding service & staff that I would recommend to my friend. See full review

  • Neon the Man.
  • Jul 14, 2014
Enjoyable 4th of July stay in Philadelphia!

Our stay was from July 3 - July 5, and although we arrived before the scheduled check-in time, the... See full review

  • PhillyBikerGirl
  • Jul 6, 2014
Functioning even more smoothly as a business hotel since its 2013 renovations, the Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia now features a handy lobby connection center and library, redesigned meeting spaces, and brand new fitness equipment. The same stalwart features guests would expect from a Sheraton hotel are here, with regular Social Hours showcasing the hotel's wine list, free hors d'oeuvres and newspapers in the Club Lounge (Club upgrades only), along with an indoor pool that's ideal for a few late - night laps. Meet for cocktails under the lofty four - storey atrium at the Lobby Lounge, and move onto the Terrace Cafe when it's time for some a la carte eats.
Key facts
  • 757 guestrooms
  • 38 meeting rooms
  • The Link @Sheraton connectivity center, with free Wi-Fi
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Indoor pool
  • Self-park and valet
  • Fitness center
  • 2 restaurants: The Lobby Lounge and The Terrace Cafe


Neighborhood
The Sheraton Downtown sits just blocks away from JFK Plaza and City Hall, right in the middle of the Center City West area, and opposite the beautiful Italianate Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul. Take in the works of Renoir and the French Masters at The Barnes Foundation, or have fun with the giant interactive displays at the science - based museum The Franklin Institute near the Vine Street Expressway, just north of the hotel.
Hints and tips
If you're flying into Philly, you might want to invest in a SEPTA pass for the local subway trains, because you can reach the hotel (Suburban Station) from the airport in less than half an hour, and use the pass to zip around the Historic District, and attractions like Independence Hall during your stay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Video checkout
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.9569 -75.1676
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 7.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 0.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 0.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.3 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.7 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.5 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.9 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.4 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 9.8 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (385)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
385 out of 385
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tok
md
Jul 11, 2010

ms

Good location to many sites.exercise and pool facilty Microwave for food and fridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TFOAS
New York, NY
Jul 7, 2014

Ehh

the location of the hotel was perfect. Everything we needed was in walking distance. at first glance the hotel is beautiful but when we got to the room it was less than that. The room clearly had not been cleaned thoroughly. There were underwear and condoms left in one of the draws from the previous person who stayed in the room. Also, the linens and comforter were filthy. We had to ask for the room to be cleaned 4-5 times. No one came. There is a HUGE lack of communication.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MMSanJose
Business
San Jose, CA
Sep 22, 2011

Decent business trip overnight

hotel was priced slightly better than alternatives in downtown philly. nice room with good amenities, etc. front desk staff were just ok...seemed like it was more about getting through the day vs. making the customer excited to be at the hotel. Chris at the concierge desk was very helpful, however. He stood out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Weekends with wife
Denver, Co
Mar 31, 2014

Long weekend in Philly

The Sheraton was okay. Small room with queen size bed. Staff wasn't as responsive as I would have liked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Lots of great food in the Theatre District.

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jamaica
May 25, 2008

Poor communication to guests in an emergency

Smoke detection alarm went off hotel-wide on Sunday morning. The recording told us to leave immediately and not to take the elevators... further information to come. No further information ever came on the intercom, nor did any live person ever tell us what was going on. When I went to the front desk to ask about the situation, the person there said she couldnt give me any information. People were hanging around the front lobby wondering and wandering about. I finally got to speak with a manager who told me a smoke detector in the elevator shaft went off and the fire dept. was taking care of it. I actually checked out at that point. But, basically, there was no communication with guests for at least 45 mins... only a recorded message. Some people were not leaving their rooms and not taking it seriously.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Liberty Bell Independence Hall The Gayborhood

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Syracuse, NY
Oct 4, 2010

Nice hotel, mediocre location

The hotel itself was very nice, clean and the staff was friendly. The only issue's we had were... 1. The location wasn't really what we were looking for. We would have liked to be closer to the nightlife on Market street (was just a short cab ride but not walking distance). 2. The TV's were old and the remote did not work. On a positive note, the hotel held our bags while we went to the Eagles game (we were taking the bus home so we had no where else to keep our bags). I thought that was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The seafood resturant inside the hotel had delicious food. I had the coconut shrimp and the dipping sauce was amazing.

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mommy to two
West Deptford NJ
Jun 21, 2010

Average place to stay

This hotel was a great price and in a great location....Could use some extra dusting and vaccuming aroung the edges.......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just explore and youll find many great places to eat.....

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Racerlogic
Business
New Jersey
Jan 25, 2010

Sheraton Philadelphia City Center Hotel

Good Location, clean Rooms, nothing special

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Mar 26, 2010

One-nite basics

Mine was just a brief overnight stay for work. Mostly I had to work, so I was grateful for the computer/internet access (so that I didn't have to lug my laptop) and the quiet room. Since I wasn't a tourist, I can't speak to the location in relation to sights of interest, but it was in the downtown area (if not the brightest, busiest part) close to where I needed to be. It was a practical place to stay, but not sure I would go back if in Philly for leisure. Hallways seemed very dark. Wish there had been a hotel guide in the room (location of fitness center, vending machines, etc).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Prisci29
Washington, Dc
Jun 16, 2014

Average Experience

For being a Sheraton, nothing impressive really. No changing rooms in the pool, which is iny by the way. Early check-in, as promised on the phone, could not be given to us. The restaurant is really expensive and poor quality. I would not recommend the hotel unless there is no other option available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top