$124 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 28, 2015 Check-out: Mar 2, 2015

Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

3 stars
View map of 201 North 17th Street, 201 North 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
254 reviews
Romantic getaway

Great experience... Can't wait to go back. The rooms were very clean and the staff was superb. The... See full review

  • One Love 24
  • Dec 30, 2014
Couples Getaway

The hotel staff was super friendly in pointing us to local places to eat, visit, and grab a cab.... See full review

  • acichon
  • Nov 18, 2014
Functioning even more smoothly as a business hotel since its 2013 renovations, the Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia now features a handy lobby connection center and library, redesigned meeting spaces, and brand new fitness equipment. The same stalwart features guests would expect from a Sheraton hotel are here, with regular Social Hours showcasing the hotel's wine list, free hors d'oeuvres and newspapers in the Club Lounge (Club upgrades only), along with an indoor pool that's ideal for a few late - night laps. Meet for cocktails under the lofty four - storey atrium at the Lobby Lounge, and move onto the Terrace Cafe when it's time for some a la carte eats.
Key facts
  • 757 guestrooms
  • 38 meeting rooms
  • The Link @Sheraton connectivity center, with free Wi-Fi
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Indoor pool
  • Self-park and valet
  • Fitness center
  • 2 restaurants: The Lobby Lounge and The Terrace Cafe


Neighborhood
The Sheraton Downtown sits just blocks away from JFK Plaza and City Hall, right in the middle of the Center City West area, and opposite the beautiful Italianate Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul. Take in the works of Renoir and the French Masters at The Barnes Foundation, or have fun with the giant interactive displays at the science - based museum The Franklin Institute near the Vine Street Expressway, just north of the hotel.
Hints and tips
If you're flying into Philly, you might want to invest in a SEPTA pass for the local subway trains, because you can reach the hotel (Suburban Station) from the airport in less than half an hour, and use the pass to zip around the Historic District, and attractions like Independence Hall during your stay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
Cribs available

Nearby points of interest

  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 0.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 0.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.3 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.7 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.5 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.9 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.4 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 9.8 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.4 mi

Dining

The Terrace Café
The newly transformed Terrace Café serves a delicious buffet breakfast and à la carte dining.
Lobby Lounge & Restaurant
Enjoy light fare while watching your favorite game in the Lobby Lounge & Restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (254)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
254 out of 254
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Weekends with wife
Business
Denver, Co
Mar 31, 2014

Long weekend in Philly

The Sheraton was okay. Small room with queen size bed. Staff wasn't as responsive as I would have liked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Lots of great food in the Theatre District.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 31, 2010

Courteous, clean

This Sheraton is clean and comfortable, and most likely best for those who want these things but on a budget. The complimentary tazo tea and starbucks coffees were a nice, somewhat solitary room perk. There was an outlet section on top of the large desk in my room, which was useful as I was here in business. No room service, but you fan order food to go downstairs at the restaurant. My one complaint us that check-in isn't until 3pm, which can be difficult for business travelers coming in on red-eyes. Great location, and extremely polite and helpful concierge and reception staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Philadelphia museum of art

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rex Goliath
Business
everywhere
Nov 16, 2010

Sheraton Philadelphia City Center Hotel

Efficient, but ordinary. Staff looked tired but was helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
State College, PA
May 9, 2009

adequate

The Orbitz price was a good deal, and the Sheraton was fine -- clean enough and within walking distance of Philly sites. But this is not a destination hotel. Our room had no view at all, the cleaning service did not come til late afternoon (and then took away the towels without leaving more), the pool is dank and unattractive, there were proms going on both weekend nights and these let out noisy groups of teen-agers in the halls in the middle of the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Judy - Family traveller
Business
Westchester, New York
Jul 26, 2010

OK hotel for great City

Helpful staff but hotel was missing the "basics" that as a family are helpful, e.g., limited channels on TV, no refrigerator in room, older TVs (so kids couldn't hook up electronic units). Pool area was very dated but clean. Extra towels weren't replaced the second day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Municipal parking right across the street. Parked car for 2 days and paid $24. Bus down to historic area was reasonable. Got tokens at Visitor Center ($2pp/per trip).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sleepless in St Louis
Business
St Louis, MO
Mar 14, 2010

My feet are wet

Our first room had a huge puddle of water soaked into the carpet by the window/AC unit. The front desk was very responsive and promptly moved us to a second room. However, the second room had the same problem. Being really late at night, we just decided to suck it up and avoid the wet spot. The only other problem we had was the computers downstairs wouldn't take our login (perhaps because we had switched rooms twice) but no one could help troubleshoot this. Otherwise the room was fine and the staff were nice. The location is great and there is street parking nearby if you don't want to pay for the hotel lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grew up in the area
Business
Syracuse, NY
Sep 2, 2009

Expected service

Check-in was easy, but they didn't explain the parking fees for your stay upfront. Had to ask. There was no mini-fridge in the room and the prices for room service were sky-high. Great location, walking distance to many great restaurants and just outside of downtown Philly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit Sabrina's on 18th for breakfast. They have amazing food at very reasonable prices. Huge portions and a local favorite.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Syracuse, NY
Oct 4, 2010

Nice hotel, mediocre location

The hotel itself was very nice, clean and the staff was friendly. The only issue's we had were... 1. The location wasn't really what we were looking for. We would have liked to be closer to the nightlife on Market street (was just a short cab ride but not walking distance). 2. The TV's were old and the remote did not work. On a positive note, the hotel held our bags while we went to the Eagles game (we were taking the bus home so we had no where else to keep our bags). I thought that was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The seafood resturant inside the hotel had delicious food. I had the coconut shrimp and the dipping sauce was amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond VA
Jul 14, 2010

Hotel cheap but BRING YOUR WALLET!

Chose this hotel b/c it was Sheraton (good reputation) the location was great. I was traveling on business and it was reasonablly priced. However the hotel's parking was very expensive! We were told by the staff we were lucky we came on a weekend since we got the $20 a day weekend special. The hotel restaurant was very expensive as well. The breakfast buffet was $17 per person and the food was horrible! We got lucky that we didn't have to pay our $40 breakfast bill since the waitress charged it to our room and didn't close out the tab when we checked out. The front desk waived the charge as a courtesy for her error. The hotel room was nice but I overheard the staff talking in the elevator about them leaving the same sheets on the bed and getting in trouble for not changing them before checking in a new guest-GROSS! The fitness center was ancient and the pool was very small and run down. I was very disappointed! I see why they charged so cheap!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

You are in the heart of Philly go to the Museum of Art and enjoy a Cheesesteak and see the History! But bring your wallet!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Swindon, UK
Jun 30, 2010

Good Hotel

As a whole good experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top