$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 4, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

3 stars
201 North 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
246 reviews
Great hotel.

Outstanding service & staff that I would recommend to my friend. See full review

  • Neon the Man.
  • Jul 14, 2014
Enjoyable 4th of July stay in Philadelphia!

Our stay was from July 3 - July 5, and although we arrived before the scheduled check-in time, the... See full review

  • PhillyBikerGirl
  • Jul 6, 2014
Functioning even more smoothly as a business hotel since its 2013 renovations, the Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia now features a handy lobby connection center and library, redesigned meeting spaces, and brand new fitness equipment. The same stalwart features guests would expect from a Sheraton hotel are here, with regular Social Hours showcasing the hotel's wine list, free hors d'oeuvres and newspapers in the Club Lounge (Club upgrades only), along with an indoor pool that's ideal for a few late - night laps. Meet for cocktails under the lofty four - storey atrium at the Lobby Lounge, and move onto the Terrace Cafe when it's time for some a la carte eats.
Key facts
  • 757 guestrooms
  • 38 meeting rooms
  • The Link @Sheraton connectivity center, with free Wi-Fi
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Indoor pool
  • Self-park and valet
  • Fitness center
  • 2 restaurants: The Lobby Lounge and The Terrace Cafe


Neighborhood
The Sheraton Downtown sits just blocks away from JFK Plaza and City Hall, right in the middle of the Center City West area, and opposite the beautiful Italianate Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul. Take in the works of Renoir and the French Masters at The Barnes Foundation, or have fun with the giant interactive displays at the science - based museum The Franklin Institute near the Vine Street Expressway, just north of the hotel.
Hints and tips
If you're flying into Philly, you might want to invest in a SEPTA pass for the local subway trains, because you can reach the hotel (Suburban Station) from the airport in less than half an hour, and use the pass to zip around the Historic District, and attractions like Independence Hall during your stay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.9569 -75.1676
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 7.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Video checkout
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 0.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 0.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.3 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.7 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.5 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.9 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.4 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 9.8 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (246)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
246 out of 246
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
travel j
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Ok, for New Years Eve

the overall experience was fine, but two things stuck out to me and my fiance. the first was when we checked in the young man helping me couldn't find my reservation that i had made in early december. then they tried to put us in a room that wasn't cleaned yet. to his credit, he did ask a manager for some assistance and everything worked out. however the next morning at around 10:30 a young woman entered our room with a key and stated that the hotel just issued the room to her. my fiance wasn't too pleased and called the front desk, but i still was confused because the check-in time is 3:00 pm so how did she get checked in anyway and isn't there some safeguard to combat that. the staff was very appolagetic when we checked out a couple hours later.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Another Please
Pittsburgh
May 28, 2013

Was expecting a little more.

Good location.The staff was good. The rooms were clean, except stains on the rugs(gross). May needs darker carpeting inside the rooms. This was probably the smallest hotel room I ever stayed in. I've stayed at other Sheraton Hotels and the rooms were way bigger than what I had. Also in the description "sweet sleeper" is not a sofa bed, so we had to squeeze a cot in the room which had no room to begin with. Also the noise level was horrible, but found out there was some national competition going on. Still wasn't happy that kids were slamming doors and yelling in the hallway at midnight. Speaking of hallway, ours was a little unsightly, it could have used a good sweeping and some paint touch ups. We did get access to free drinks and breakfast and got free parking. Sorry Sheraton but just was expecting a litte more than what we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

St. Peter and Paul Basillica was really close, also the Redding Terminal. A bit of a walk to the Art Museum and Independence Hall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tok
md
Jul 11, 2010

ms

Good location to many sites.exercise and pool facilty Microwave for food and fridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TFOAS
New York, NY
Jul 7, 2014

Ehh

the location of the hotel was perfect. Everything we needed was in walking distance. at first glance the hotel is beautiful but when we got to the room it was less than that. The room clearly had not been cleaned thoroughly. There were underwear and condoms left in one of the draws from the previous person who stayed in the room. Also, the linens and comforter were filthy. We had to ask for the room to be cleaned 4-5 times. No one came. There is a HUGE lack of communication.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MMSanJose
Business
San Jose, CA
Sep 22, 2011

Decent business trip overnight

hotel was priced slightly better than alternatives in downtown philly. nice room with good amenities, etc. front desk staff were just ok...seemed like it was more about getting through the day vs. making the customer excited to be at the hotel. Chris at the concierge desk was very helpful, however. He stood out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Weekends with wife
Denver, Co
Mar 31, 2014

Long weekend in Philly

The Sheraton was okay. Small room with queen size bed. Staff wasn't as responsive as I would have liked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Lots of great food in the Theatre District.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jamaica
May 25, 2008

Poor communication to guests in an emergency

Smoke detection alarm went off hotel-wide on Sunday morning. The recording told us to leave immediately and not to take the elevators... further information to come. No further information ever came on the intercom, nor did any live person ever tell us what was going on. When I went to the front desk to ask about the situation, the person there said she couldnt give me any information. People were hanging around the front lobby wondering and wandering about. I finally got to speak with a manager who told me a smoke detector in the elevator shaft went off and the fire dept. was taking care of it. I actually checked out at that point. But, basically, there was no communication with guests for at least 45 mins... only a recorded message. Some people were not leaving their rooms and not taking it seriously.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Liberty Bell Independence Hall The Gayborhood

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Syracuse, NY
Oct 4, 2010

Nice hotel, mediocre location

The hotel itself was very nice, clean and the staff was friendly. The only issue's we had were... 1. The location wasn't really what we were looking for. We would have liked to be closer to the nightlife on Market street (was just a short cab ride but not walking distance). 2. The TV's were old and the remote did not work. On a positive note, the hotel held our bags while we went to the Eagles game (we were taking the bus home so we had no where else to keep our bags). I thought that was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The seafood resturant inside the hotel had delicious food. I had the coconut shrimp and the dipping sauce was amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
New York, NY
Jun 1, 2010

Sheraton Philadelphia City Center Hotel

Generally good, though our room wasn't ready until 8 PM. And while the staff knew we needed the room quickly, they didn't call right away when a room had become ready.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
busana
philadelphia
Mar 9, 2014

What to expect

Reception stuff were cool and nice, however, when I got to the room I was surprised it was not that great given the price. Bed sheets were dirty, literally had sauce on them, room service was unwelcoming so I didn't get them changed, I got free breakfast with my ticket but they said I am not eligible for it which doesn't make sense. Overall, you should go there on, if you had no other choices

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you book e cheapest room, because doesn't make any difference

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search