$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

3 stars
201 North 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
384 reviews
Enjoyable 4th of July stay in Philadelphia!

Our stay was from July 3 - July 5, and although we arrived before the scheduled check-in time, the... See full review

  • PhillyBikerGirl
  • Jul 6, 2014
Fantastic Weekend Getaway

Overall hotel experience was great! Great place to stay in downtown Philly:) See full review

  • Misdemeanor 75
  • Jun 22, 2014
Functioning even more smoothly as a business hotel since its 2013 renovations, the Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia now features a handy lobby connection center and library, redesigned meeting spaces, and brand new fitness equipment. The same stalwart features guests would expect from a Sheraton hotel are here, with regular Social Hours showcasing the hotel's wine list, free hors d'oeuvres and newspapers in the Club Lounge (Club upgrades only), along with an indoor pool that's ideal for a few late - night laps. Meet for cocktails under the lofty four - storey atrium at the Lobby Lounge, and move onto the Terrace Cafe when it's time for some a la carte eats.
Key facts
  • 757 guestrooms
  • 38 meeting rooms
  • The Link @Sheraton connectivity center, with free Wi-Fi
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Indoor pool
  • Self-park and valet
  • Fitness center
  • 2 restaurants: The Lobby Lounge and The Terrace Cafe


Neighborhood
The Sheraton Downtown sits just blocks away from JFK Plaza and City Hall, right in the middle of the Center City West area, and opposite the beautiful Italianate Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul. Take in the works of Renoir and the French Masters at The Barnes Foundation, or have fun with the giant interactive displays at the science - based museum The Franklin Institute near the Vine Street Expressway, just north of the hotel.
Hints and tips
If you're flying into Philly, you might want to invest in a SEPTA pass for the local subway trains, because you can reach the hotel (Suburban Station) from the airport in less than half an hour, and use the pass to zip around the Historic District, and attractions like Independence Hall during your stay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.9569 -75.1676
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 7.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Video checkout
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 0.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 0.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.3 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.7 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.5 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.9 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.4 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 9.8 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (384)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
384 out of 384
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cilia
Business
Cranford,New Jersey
Jul 11, 2012

Great Conference

Staff was very friendly Food was tasty and interesting, presentation is enticing Bed is too soft for my back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Southern and spoiled
Hattiesburg, MS
Feb 9, 2010

Not worth the money

My wife and I came to Philly to see her grandmother for her 98th birthday. We were shocked to find that we had to pay $20.00 per day for parking. Housekeeping was awfull, stingy with the towels. The front desk clerks need to be repalaced, they were not friendly nor helpful. Noone offered to help with bags and when asked to help they had us wait in the lobby and never returned. Also the hotel was under construction which guest should be informed of prior to staying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
bhm
Mar 6, 2010

noisy

very noisy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
medstu
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Mar 13, 2014

reality check

When Cheaptixs, or the Hotel itself, advertises free wifi- don't be fooled. This was the room description emailed to me- " Spacious room overlooking the philadelphia skyline & museum also features wireless internet access for fee. 2 doubles bed - nonrefundable." Sure there is free wifi- in the lobby! Not in the comfort of your own room on the 26th floor. Wifi in the room will cost you 13$ a day. Parking 38$ a day. Breakfast buffet- 17$. Don't be fooled by the "Great Deal" on this nice hotel- they nickel and dime you on everything, but it isn't so much nickels and dimes as much as it is ten and twenty dollar bills. To be fair, the location is great, minutes from historic sites, and across the street from beautiful churches. And the beds are comfortable. But I am disappointed in the hotel and cheaptixs for not being upfront about what the real price is to stay in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

don't stay here if you need internet in your room or are driving your own car.

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
bhm
Mar 6, 2010

noisy

very noisy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bianca moon
NYC
Feb 24, 2014

Vacation

I was aware I was staying at a pet friendly hotel by I didn't realize I would be subject to the room being gross and unclean. My dog is very well behaved and clearly the ones prior were not. There was stains every where on the carpet and walls. You can tell a dog was left unattended in the room the doors were all scratched up from anxiety. Not to mention my bed had no fitted sheets just a sheet laying on top of a filthy disgusting mattress. I slept I top on the comforter because I was so disgusted. To late at night to find another hotel I was disappointed to say the least. My to mention my allergies had gone berserk. I am still sneezing and stuffy. All congested from the filthy room that clearly staff though was acceptable. If I could rate no stars I would. Not to mention I am 8 months pregnant and had to deal with this on my fiancé and I's vacation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Let me save you time by telling you to never go to thu hotel

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Dec 4, 2009

bad value

I was disappointed that internet was an extra fee. This hotel might be better for functions than business travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia suburbs
May 26, 2009

Not up to par

Hotel did not receive my ORBITZ payment promptly and was rude when I showed them my confirmation. Hotel carpet was disgusting, I refused to take off my shoes while walking in my own room. Ordered room service in the morning and breakfast was ICE cold. Not a pleaseant stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia suburbs
May 26, 2009

Not up to par

Hotel did not receive my ORBITZ payment promptly and was rude when I showed them my confirmation. Hotel carpet was disgusting, I refused to take off my shoes while walking in my own room. Ordered room service in the morning and breakfast was ICE cold. Not a pleaseant stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
May 25, 2009

Okay

Location for walking around was great or could take a shottle to the Big Bus Tours which is worth every penny. The parking garage is a rip off. A perfectly good parking facility is across the Street for approx. $5.00 vs the $38.00 at the Hotel. Everyone at the Hotel was curteous, unfortunately the room was not vacuumed, 1 bar of soap, not enough towels and a lack of toliet paper. The concierge was extremly helpful and provided easy access around the city. It looks like everything is spread out but very walkable. Do not eat in the Hotel better walk over to Rittenhouse area. Lovely restaurants, shopping okay a bit more upscale but can find some quaint spots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York City
Jun 22, 2010

Should have been better

The best thing was my extra soft and comfortable bed and pillows. The hotel was off to the side, so I had to take cabs to get to where I was going. The sites were not in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top