$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

3 stars
201 North 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
385 reviews
Great hotel.

Outstanding service & staff that I would recommend to my friend. See full review

  • Neon the Man.
  • Jul 14, 2014
Enjoyable 4th of July stay in Philadelphia!

Our stay was from July 3 - July 5, and although we arrived before the scheduled check-in time, the... See full review

  • PhillyBikerGirl
  • Jul 6, 2014
Functioning even more smoothly as a business hotel since its 2013 renovations, the Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia now features a handy lobby connection center and library, redesigned meeting spaces, and brand new fitness equipment. The same stalwart features guests would expect from a Sheraton hotel are here, with regular Social Hours showcasing the hotel's wine list, free hors d'oeuvres and newspapers in the Club Lounge (Club upgrades only), along with an indoor pool that's ideal for a few late - night laps. Meet for cocktails under the lofty four - storey atrium at the Lobby Lounge, and move onto the Terrace Cafe when it's time for some a la carte eats.
Key facts
  • 757 guestrooms
  • 38 meeting rooms
  • The Link @Sheraton connectivity center, with free Wi-Fi
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Indoor pool
  • Self-park and valet
  • Fitness center
  • 2 restaurants: The Lobby Lounge and The Terrace Cafe


Neighborhood
The Sheraton Downtown sits just blocks away from JFK Plaza and City Hall, right in the middle of the Center City West area, and opposite the beautiful Italianate Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul. Take in the works of Renoir and the French Masters at The Barnes Foundation, or have fun with the giant interactive displays at the science - based museum The Franklin Institute near the Vine Street Expressway, just north of the hotel.
Hints and tips
If you're flying into Philly, you might want to invest in a SEPTA pass for the local subway trains, because you can reach the hotel (Suburban Station) from the airport in less than half an hour, and use the pass to zip around the Historic District, and attractions like Independence Hall during your stay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.9569 -75.1676
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 7.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Video checkout
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 0.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 0.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.3 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.7 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.5 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.9 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.4 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 9.8 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (385)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 385
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bianca moon
NYC
Feb 24, 2014

Vacation

I was aware I was staying at a pet friendly hotel by I didn't realize I would be subject to the room being gross and unclean. My dog is very well behaved and clearly the ones prior were not. There was stains every where on the carpet and walls. You can tell a dog was left unattended in the room the doors were all scratched up from anxiety. Not to mention my bed had no fitted sheets just a sheet laying on top of a filthy disgusting mattress. I slept I top on the comforter because I was so disgusted. To late at night to find another hotel I was disappointed to say the least. My to mention my allergies had gone berserk. I am still sneezing and stuffy. All congested from the filthy room that clearly staff though was acceptable. If I could rate no stars I would. Not to mention I am 8 months pregnant and had to deal with this on my fiancé and I's vacation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Let me save you time by telling you to never go to thu hotel

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
luekendrick1
Las Vegas, Nevada
Jan 13, 2014

A trip home I won't forget... Thank You

We enjoyed our stay , the staff was courteous , the view was spectacular, location convenient and the overall experience was pleasant and we would definitely stay at the Sheraton in the near future .Our only request would be that the room was not so cold due to the malfunctioning of the heater.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PeterM
Boston
Jun 17, 2013

Philly

Hotel stay was OK - only one issue - showerhead in room made whistling noise. We did report noise. Location was convienient. we were visiting family in downtoen area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Philly Phanatick
Toronto, Canada
Jun 17, 2013

Good and reliable

Everything you would expect from a Sheraton hotel. Nice service from all the staff, and very clean rooms. Comfortable beds and a quiet sleep. Would certainly go again. The location is alright - a bit of walking to do for the major bus lines or the restaurant areas, but nothing to really complain about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Another Please
Pittsburgh
May 28, 2013

Was expecting a little more.

Good location.The staff was good. The rooms were clean, except stains on the rugs(gross). May needs darker carpeting inside the rooms. This was probably the smallest hotel room I ever stayed in. I've stayed at other Sheraton Hotels and the rooms were way bigger than what I had. Also in the description "sweet sleeper" is not a sofa bed, so we had to squeeze a cot in the room which had no room to begin with. Also the noise level was horrible, but found out there was some national competition going on. Still wasn't happy that kids were slamming doors and yelling in the hallway at midnight. Speaking of hallway, ours was a little unsightly, it could have used a good sweeping and some paint touch ups. We did get access to free drinks and breakfast and got free parking. Sorry Sheraton but just was expecting a litte more than what we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

St. Peter and Paul Basillica was really close, also the Redding Terminal. A bit of a walk to the Art Museum and Independence Hall.

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
QQQQXQ
Michigan
Nov 2, 2011

weekend getaway

nice clean comfortable and well located courteous staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

walk around the nearby attractions - very pleasant

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
West Chester, PA
Jul 26, 2011

Celebrating Anniversaary & Birthday

Accomodations & location was great, room wss clean & great bedding, several pillows to meet everyone's comfort area. Went to Art Museum, ate at Distrito Restaurant, Chef was on Iron Chef & Master Chef, & won (food network). We enjoyed an evening of great tasting.We also saw the Phillies baseball game (they won). Too bad we only could stay one night. [...]. Would stay at the Sheraton again [...] Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
West Chester, PA
Jul 26, 2011

Celebrating Anniversaary & Birthday

Accomodations & location was great, room wss clean & great bedding, several pillows to meet everyone's comfort area. Went to Art Museum, ate at Distrito Restaurant, Chef was on Iron Chef & Master Chef, & won (food network). We enjoyed an evening of great tasting.We also saw the Phillies baseball game (they won). Too bad we only could stay one night. [...]. Would stay at the Sheraton again [...] Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northern Virginia
Jul 19, 2011

Just what we needed

My college-age son and I had an open summer weekend, and made a short-notice trip to see historical sites. The hotel had an excellent weekend rate for a room with two double beds (and an unposted parking discount). The staff took care of minor problems (eg a dead TV remote was promptly replaced) and the view from the 17th floor was great. A Starbucks and a subway station (a quick $2 trip to the historic area or UPenn) were each within a few blocks of the hotel. Several museums were a short stroll away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For an inexpensive excellent meal, walk a half-dozen blocks to Reading Terminal Market for an authentic Philly Cheese Steak. We opted for provolone, but Cheez Wiz is traditional (really). Note that the market closes at 6 PM.

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northern Virginia
Jul 19, 2011

Just what we needed

My college-age son and I had an open summer weekend, and made a short-notice trip to see historical sites. The hotel had an excellent weekend rate for a room with two double beds (and an unposted parking discount). The staff took care of minor problems (eg a dead TV remote was promptly replaced) and the view from the 17th floor was great. A Starbucks and a subway station (a quick $2 trip to the historic area or UPenn) were each within a few blocks of the hotel. Several museums were a short stroll away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For an inexpensive excellent meal, walk a half-dozen blocks to Reading Terminal Market for an authentic Philly Cheese Steak. We opted for provolone, but Cheez Wiz is traditional (really). Note that the market closes at 6 PM.

Back to menu Return to top