$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

3 stars
View map of 201 North 17th Street, 201 North 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
274 out of 274
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cilia
Business
Cranford,New Jersey
Jul 11, 2012

Great Conference

Staff was very friendly Food was tasty and interesting, presentation is enticing Bed is too soft for my back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Mar 26, 2010

One-nite basics

Mine was just a brief overnight stay for work. Mostly I had to work, so I was grateful for the computer/internet access (so that I didn't have to lug my laptop) and the quiet room. Since I wasn't a tourist, I can't speak to the location in relation to sights of interest, but it was in the downtown area (if not the brightest, busiest part) close to where I needed to be. It was a practical place to stay, but not sure I would go back if in Philly for leisure. Hallways seemed very dark. Wish there had been a hotel guide in the room (location of fitness center, vending machines, etc).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dbo
Business
New York
Apr 5, 2011

fine hotel

the room was fine, and up to normal standards of a sheraton. other than that, there wasn't anything remarkable about this hotel. the lobby was fine, the amenities were fine, and the experience was acceptable. location to center city philadelphia is ok, but not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 31, 2010

Courteous, clean

This Sheraton is clean and comfortable, and most likely best for those who want these things but on a budget. The complimentary tazo tea and starbucks coffees were a nice, somewhat solitary room perk. There was an outlet section on top of the large desk in my room, which was useful as I was here in business. No room service, but you fan order food to go downstairs at the restaurant. My one complaint us that check-in isn't until 3pm, which can be difficult for business travelers coming in on red-eyes. Great location, and extremely polite and helpful concierge and reception staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Philadelphia museum of art

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rex Goliath
Business
everywhere
Nov 16, 2010

Sheraton Philadelphia City Center Hotel

Efficient, but ordinary. Staff looked tired but was helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
State College, PA
May 9, 2009

adequate

The Orbitz price was a good deal, and the Sheraton was fine -- clean enough and within walking distance of Philly sites. But this is not a destination hotel. Our room had no view at all, the cleaning service did not come til late afternoon (and then took away the towels without leaving more), the pool is dank and unattractive, there were proms going on both weekend nights and these let out noisy groups of teen-agers in the halls in the middle of the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Judy - Family traveller
Business
Westchester, New York
Jul 26, 2010

OK hotel for great City

Helpful staff but hotel was missing the "basics" that as a family are helpful, e.g., limited channels on TV, no refrigerator in room, older TVs (so kids couldn't hook up electronic units). Pool area was very dated but clean. Extra towels weren't replaced the second day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Municipal parking right across the street. Parked car for 2 days and paid $24. Bus down to historic area was reasonable. Got tokens at Visitor Center ($2pp/per trip).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sleepless in St Louis
Business
St Louis, MO
Mar 14, 2010

My feet are wet

Our first room had a huge puddle of water soaked into the carpet by the window/AC unit. The front desk was very responsive and promptly moved us to a second room. However, the second room had the same problem. Being really late at night, we just decided to suck it up and avoid the wet spot. The only other problem we had was the computers downstairs wouldn't take our login (perhaps because we had switched rooms twice) but no one could help troubleshoot this. Otherwise the room was fine and the staff were nice. The location is great and there is street parking nearby if you don't want to pay for the hotel lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grew up in the area
Business
Syracuse, NY
Sep 2, 2009

Expected service

Check-in was easy, but they didn't explain the parking fees for your stay upfront. Had to ask. There was no mini-fridge in the room and the prices for room service were sky-high. Great location, walking distance to many great restaurants and just outside of downtown Philly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit Sabrina's on 18th for breakfast. They have amazing food at very reasonable prices. Huge portions and a local favorite.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Syracuse, NY
Oct 4, 2010

Nice hotel, mediocre location

The hotel itself was very nice, clean and the staff was friendly. The only issue's we had were... 1. The location wasn't really what we were looking for. We would have liked to be closer to the nightlife on Market street (was just a short cab ride but not walking distance). 2. The TV's were old and the remote did not work. On a positive note, the hotel held our bags while we went to the Eagles game (we were taking the bus home so we had no where else to keep our bags). I thought that was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The seafood resturant inside the hotel had delicious food. I had the coconut shrimp and the dipping sauce was amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond VA
Jul 14, 2010

Hotel cheap but BRING YOUR WALLET!

Chose this hotel b/c it was Sheraton (good reputation) the location was great. I was traveling on business and it was reasonablly priced. However the hotel's parking was very expensive! We were told by the staff we were lucky we came on a weekend since we got the $20 a day weekend special. The hotel restaurant was very expensive as well. The breakfast buffet was $17 per person and the food was horrible! We got lucky that we didn't have to pay our $40 breakfast bill since the waitress charged it to our room and didn't close out the tab when we checked out. The front desk waived the charge as a courtesy for her error. The hotel room was nice but I overheard the staff talking in the elevator about them leaving the same sheets on the bed and getting in trouble for not changing them before checking in a new guest-GROSS! The fitness center was ancient and the pool was very small and run down. I was very disappointed! I see why they charged so cheap!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

You are in the heart of Philly go to the Museum of Art and enjoy a Cheesesteak and see the History! But bring your wallet!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top