$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 23, 2014

Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

3 stars
201 North 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
248 reviews
Great hotel.

Outstanding service & staff that I would recommend to my friend. See full review

  • Neon the Man.
  • Jul 14, 2014
Enjoyable 4th of July stay in Philadelphia!

Our stay was from July 3 - July 5, and although we arrived before the scheduled check-in time, the... See full review

  • PhillyBikerGirl
  • Jul 6, 2014
Functioning even more smoothly as a business hotel since its 2013 renovations, the Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia now features a handy lobby connection center and library, redesigned meeting spaces, and brand new fitness equipment. The same stalwart features guests would expect from a Sheraton hotel are here, with regular Social Hours showcasing the hotel's wine list, free hors d'oeuvres and newspapers in the Club Lounge (Club upgrades only), along with an indoor pool that's ideal for a few late - night laps. Meet for cocktails under the lofty four - storey atrium at the Lobby Lounge, and move onto the Terrace Cafe when it's time for some a la carte eats.
Key facts
  • 757 guestrooms
  • 38 meeting rooms
  • The Link @Sheraton connectivity center, with free Wi-Fi
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Indoor pool
  • Self-park and valet
  • Fitness center
  • 2 restaurants: The Lobby Lounge and The Terrace Cafe


Neighborhood
The Sheraton Downtown sits just blocks away from JFK Plaza and City Hall, right in the middle of the Center City West area, and opposite the beautiful Italianate Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul. Take in the works of Renoir and the French Masters at The Barnes Foundation, or have fun with the giant interactive displays at the science - based museum The Franklin Institute near the Vine Street Expressway, just north of the hotel.
Hints and tips
If you're flying into Philly, you might want to invest in a SEPTA pass for the local subway trains, because you can reach the hotel (Suburban Station) from the airport in less than half an hour, and use the pass to zip around the Historic District, and attractions like Independence Hall during your stay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.9569 -75.1676
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 7.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Video checkout
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 0.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 0.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.3 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.7 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.5 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.9 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.4 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 9.8 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (248)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
248 out of 248
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Weekends with wife
Denver, Co
Mar 31, 2014

Long weekend in Philly

The Sheraton was okay. Small room with queen size bed. Staff wasn't as responsive as I would have liked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Lots of great food in the Theatre District.

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey
Aug 17, 2009

Good

It was nice, better than expected, clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling foodie
Washington
Nov 30, 2009

Convenient, clean, stylish

Easy parking and check in. Convenient downtown location. Great area for walking. Must have been a HS tournament in town, with firedrill! Other than that, a typical, dependable Sheraton. Terrible bed with giant valley.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
New York, NY
Jun 1, 2010

Sheraton Philadelphia City Center Hotel

Generally good, though our room wasn't ready until 8 PM. And while the staff knew we needed the room quickly, they didn't call right away when a room had become ready.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY, NY
Aug 10, 2010

one night..no more

Literally just sleep in the room. Room had a great view of Philly but thats about it..everything was expensive and soooooo not worth it. Floor was filthy with wine and I only got the bare necessity which is fine normally but I'm on vacation. Didn't feel special..sorry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk Philly..parking sucks and transportation isn't like NY or a major city. But just be careful at night..always walk with people.

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Janice
Not Provided
Sep 14, 2010

We got into the room, and there

We got into the room, and there was very little toilet paper left, no extra, and no tissue at all. One of the 2 phones did not have a dial tone. The ice bucket did not have any plastic liner. In the morning, the bathroom was not flushing properly, and it overflowed, making it impossible for us to make our appointment. They gave us courtesy breakfast to "make up" for it, but the buffet food (eggs, french toast, etc.) were cold, and the potatoes rock solid. On top of that, in the hour that we were eating, the staff had two accidents and dropped his tray and broke the plates and glasses all over the floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
travel j
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Ok, for New Years Eve

the overall experience was fine, but two things stuck out to me and my fiance. the first was when we checked in the young man helping me couldn't find my reservation that i had made in early december. then they tried to put us in a room that wasn't cleaned yet. to his credit, he did ask a manager for some assistance and everything worked out. however the next morning at around 10:30 a young woman entered our room with a key and stated that the hotel just issued the room to her. my fiance wasn't too pleased and called the front desk, but i still was confused because the check-in time is 3:00 pm so how did she get checked in anyway and isn't there some safeguard to combat that. the staff was very appolagetic when we checked out a couple hours later.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jpcoach
Business
Charlottesville, VA
Jan 2, 2012

Got the job done

parking is a pain..... staff is very good......the gym was surprisingly complete.... great pool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Pete's

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ROBERTA1201
Torrington, CT, USA
Feb 13, 2012

FUN GETAWAY

IT WAS NICE RELAXING WEEKEND WOULD GO AGAIN AND STAY AT THE SHERATON

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Publius
Washington DC
Feb 21, 2012

Just fine

The room was clean. We checked-in early so we lost the 17th flr room for a 4th floor room. Everything was fine except the loud TV in the room adjacent to ours at 7am (we stayed out late). The real concern was that they charged my credit card for parking (fine) and the full cost of the room. Since i had pre-paid this was a double charge and I'm now playing phone tag in order to get it straightened out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search