$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

3 stars
201 North 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
385 reviews
Great hotel.

Outstanding service & staff that I would recommend to my friend. See full review

  • Neon the Man.
  • Jul 14, 2014
Enjoyable 4th of July stay in Philadelphia!

Our stay was from July 3 - July 5, and although we arrived before the scheduled check-in time, the... See full review

  • PhillyBikerGirl
  • Jul 6, 2014
Functioning even more smoothly as a business hotel since its 2013 renovations, the Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia now features a handy lobby connection center and library, redesigned meeting spaces, and brand new fitness equipment. The same stalwart features guests would expect from a Sheraton hotel are here, with regular Social Hours showcasing the hotel's wine list, free hors d'oeuvres and newspapers in the Club Lounge (Club upgrades only), along with an indoor pool that's ideal for a few late - night laps. Meet for cocktails under the lofty four - storey atrium at the Lobby Lounge, and move onto the Terrace Cafe when it's time for some a la carte eats.
Key facts
  • 757 guestrooms
  • 38 meeting rooms
  • The Link @Sheraton connectivity center, with free Wi-Fi
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Indoor pool
  • Self-park and valet
  • Fitness center
  • 2 restaurants: The Lobby Lounge and The Terrace Cafe


Neighborhood
The Sheraton Downtown sits just blocks away from JFK Plaza and City Hall, right in the middle of the Center City West area, and opposite the beautiful Italianate Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul. Take in the works of Renoir and the French Masters at The Barnes Foundation, or have fun with the giant interactive displays at the science - based museum The Franklin Institute near the Vine Street Expressway, just north of the hotel.
Hints and tips
If you're flying into Philly, you might want to invest in a SEPTA pass for the local subway trains, because you can reach the hotel (Suburban Station) from the airport in less than half an hour, and use the pass to zip around the Historic District, and attractions like Independence Hall during your stay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Video checkout
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.9569 -75.1676
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 7.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 0.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 0.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.3 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.7 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.5 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.9 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.4 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 9.8 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (385)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
385 out of 385
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
medstu
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Mar 13, 2014

reality check

When Cheaptixs, or the Hotel itself, advertises free wifi- don't be fooled. This was the room description emailed to me- " Spacious room overlooking the philadelphia skyline & museum also features wireless internet access for fee. 2 doubles bed - nonrefundable." Sure there is free wifi- in the lobby! Not in the comfort of your own room on the 26th floor. Wifi in the room will cost you 13$ a day. Parking 38$ a day. Breakfast buffet- 17$. Don't be fooled by the "Great Deal" on this nice hotel- they nickel and dime you on everything, but it isn't so much nickels and dimes as much as it is ten and twenty dollar bills. To be fair, the location is great, minutes from historic sites, and across the street from beautiful churches. And the beds are comfortable. But I am disappointed in the hotel and cheaptixs for not being upfront about what the real price is to stay in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

don't stay here if you need internet in your room or are driving your own car.

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Go Gay Travel
Riverside, CA
Mar 13, 2014

Nice room and good value

Overall the hotel is good. Its close to several subway and train terminals. The staff was friendly overall for the exception of one person. There isnt anything close near by to eat or to drink at. There is plenty of subways which is fine to grab a quick breakfast but a lot of choices for lunch or dinner. I would say the hotel is a solid 3.5. It wasn't bad and it was super great but the price was right compared to the surrounding hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Get yourself a Philadelphia Pass not the City Pass at the visitors center. It includes everything you already want to see and probably things you wouldn't have seen on your own. We got the 5 day and saw so much and saved money.

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TJ Wookie
Virginia
Mar 11, 2014

Philly with Phriends

Very nice place to stay. Good location, nice view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JSco
DC
Mar 10, 2014

Great stay, but...

Our stay was, for the most part, great. Unfortunately, our visit was negatively affected by a check-in line of at least 50 people on a Saturday night around 5:30pm. Apparently this is a rare occurrence for the hotel (we asked since we had never seen anything like it), but we had to wait in line 30 min just to get our room key.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pat EP
Business
Washington, D.C.
Mar 10, 2014

That's Good Stuff

My stay here for one Saturday night at the Sheraton in the city of Brotherly Love was a really comfortable experience. The staff was very attentive and considerate. My room was fresh. They give you your own liquid soap ppof ball. The coffee in the room was good. That's good stuff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
busana
philadelphia
Mar 9, 2014

What to expect

Reception stuff were cool and nice, however, when I got to the room I was surprised it was not that great given the price. Bed sheets were dirty, literally had sauce on them, room service was unwelcoming so I didn't get them changed, I got free breakfast with my ticket but they said I am not eligible for it which doesn't make sense. Overall, you should go there on, if you had no other choices

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you book e cheapest room, because doesn't make any difference

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wildw
San Antonio, Texas
Mar 3, 2014

Good Hotel at a Good Price

This hotel we (and friend and I) quickly found out to be better than ewe had originally assumed. It is located in a very good are of downtown Philadelphia that allows you to see the best of the city. The staff is very courteous and helped us with everything we asked for. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who decides to visit the city of brotherly love.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you have the time visit Reading Terminal Market. You will not be disappointed.

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Philly Gentleman
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 2, 2014

Sheraton Review

...my overnight stay was good... enough said & I appreciate the courtesy of the staff-they were very pleasant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bianca moon
NYC
Feb 24, 2014

Vacation

I was aware I was staying at a pet friendly hotel by I didn't realize I would be subject to the room being gross and unclean. My dog is very well behaved and clearly the ones prior were not. There was stains every where on the carpet and walls. You can tell a dog was left unattended in the room the doors were all scratched up from anxiety. Not to mention my bed had no fitted sheets just a sheet laying on top of a filthy disgusting mattress. I slept I top on the comforter because I was so disgusted. To late at night to find another hotel I was disappointed to say the least. My to mention my allergies had gone berserk. I am still sneezing and stuffy. All congested from the filthy room that clearly staff though was acceptable. If I could rate no stars I would. Not to mention I am 8 months pregnant and had to deal with this on my fiancé and I's vacation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Let me save you time by telling you to never go to thu hotel

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kate the Great traveler
Pennsylvania
Feb 17, 2014

Parking

The hotel experience was great! The only issue I had was with parking. You must pay at least $20 for parking each day. Make sure you factor that into the cost of your trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top