$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 30, 2014

Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

3 stars
201 North 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
249 reviews
Great hotel.

Outstanding service & staff that I would recommend to my friend. See full review

  • Neon the Man.
  • Jul 14, 2014
Enjoyable 4th of July stay in Philadelphia!

Our stay was from July 3 - July 5, and although we arrived before the scheduled check-in time, the... See full review

  • PhillyBikerGirl
  • Jul 6, 2014
Functioning even more smoothly as a business hotel since its 2013 renovations, the Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia now features a handy lobby connection center and library, redesigned meeting spaces, and brand new fitness equipment. The same stalwart features guests would expect from a Sheraton hotel are here, with regular Social Hours showcasing the hotel's wine list, free hors d'oeuvres and newspapers in the Club Lounge (Club upgrades only), along with an indoor pool that's ideal for a few late - night laps. Meet for cocktails under the lofty four - storey atrium at the Lobby Lounge, and move onto the Terrace Cafe when it's time for some a la carte eats.
Key facts
  • 757 guestrooms
  • 38 meeting rooms
  • The Link @Sheraton connectivity center, with free Wi-Fi
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Indoor pool
  • Self-park and valet
  • Fitness center
  • 2 restaurants: The Lobby Lounge and The Terrace Cafe


Neighborhood
The Sheraton Downtown sits just blocks away from JFK Plaza and City Hall, right in the middle of the Center City West area, and opposite the beautiful Italianate Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul. Take in the works of Renoir and the French Masters at The Barnes Foundation, or have fun with the giant interactive displays at the science - based museum The Franklin Institute near the Vine Street Expressway, just north of the hotel.
Hints and tips
If you're flying into Philly, you might want to invest in a SEPTA pass for the local subway trains, because you can reach the hotel (Suburban Station) from the airport in less than half an hour, and use the pass to zip around the Historic District, and attractions like Independence Hall during your stay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.9569 -75.1676
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 7.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Video checkout
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 0.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 0.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.3 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.7 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.5 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.9 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.4 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 9.8 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (249)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
249 out of 249
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
never stay at sheraton again
usa
May 9, 2009

Sheraton philly city center hotel

This hotel is all about sucking money out of you. Nothing offered for breakfast. Not a piece a bread or a juice. Nothing! Even discount hotel chains care enough about their customers to offer something, anything. Oh yeah you could pay $17 for the breakfast buffet! Omg do you realize how many pancakes, eggs and othe cheap breakfast stuff you can buy for $17? This is a nopn smoking hotel so do not believe Orbitz when they say you can get a smoking room! They take your credit card even when you prepay for room! I was scared they were going to charge me for the soap and toilet paper i used. Windows dont open and the air conditioner was not working very well. The matresses had springs that jab you in your back when you are sleeping. The lady at the desk was snotty when I asked where our breakfast was. I suppose they feel everybody is rich who stays at a sheraton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

nothing real close, everything requires expensive taxi ride

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
May 25, 2009

Okay

Location for walking around was great or could take a shottle to the Big Bus Tours which is worth every penny. The parking garage is a rip off. A perfectly good parking facility is across the Street for approx. $5.00 vs the $38.00 at the Hotel. Everyone at the Hotel was curteous, unfortunately the room was not vacuumed, 1 bar of soap, not enough towels and a lack of toliet paper. The concierge was extremly helpful and provided easy access around the city. It looks like everything is spread out but very walkable. Do not eat in the Hotel better walk over to Rittenhouse area. Lovely restaurants, shopping okay a bit more upscale but can find some quaint spots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia suburbs
May 26, 2009

Not up to par

Hotel did not receive my ORBITZ payment promptly and was rude when I showed them my confirmation. Hotel carpet was disgusting, I refused to take off my shoes while walking in my own room. Ordered room service in the morning and breakfast was ICE cold. Not a pleaseant stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Flasuz
Orlando, Florida
Jan 21, 2014

Beautiful lobby

Room was very large. Wish it had a fridge and microwave. View was beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
53x11 Flemington
Flemington, NJ
Feb 16, 2014

good location.

Good location. Ok rooms. Staff needs a little work. No one answered the phone for 15 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BEnick
RI
Feb 17, 2014

Great location, easy in and out to rte 95.

Dog friendly. We noticed people greeting dogs in the lobby:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Philly Gentleman
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 2, 2014

Sheraton Review

...my overnight stay was good... enough said & I appreciate the courtesy of the staff-they were very pleasant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
busana
philadelphia
Mar 9, 2014

What to expect

Reception stuff were cool and nice, however, when I got to the room I was surprised it was not that great given the price. Bed sheets were dirty, literally had sauce on them, room service was unwelcoming so I didn't get them changed, I got free breakfast with my ticket but they said I am not eligible for it which doesn't make sense. Overall, you should go there on, if you had no other choices

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you book e cheapest room, because doesn't make any difference

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Go Gay Travel
Riverside, CA
Mar 13, 2014

Nice room and good value

Overall the hotel is good. Its close to several subway and train terminals. The staff was friendly overall for the exception of one person. There isnt anything close near by to eat or to drink at. There is plenty of subways which is fine to grab a quick breakfast but a lot of choices for lunch or dinner. I would say the hotel is a solid 3.5. It wasn't bad and it was super great but the price was right compared to the surrounding hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Get yourself a Philadelphia Pass not the City Pass at the visitors center. It includes everything you already want to see and probably things you wouldn't have seen on your own. We got the 5 day and saw so much and saved money.

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dns.arquitetura
Business
Toronto
Mar 26, 2014

More spectations

I've never been at Sheraton hotel, and my expectations was higher. I was disappointed with this hotel. The room was small and the bad too. The service at bar was the worst that I've tried. In addition, the breakfast was poor. I did't like

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

close to downtown

Back to menu Return to top

Change search