$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: May 30, 2015

Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

3 stars
View map of 201 North 17th Street, 201 North 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
258 out of 258
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Providence, RI
Jul 20, 2011

Bit disappointed

I went to Philly to spend a nice several days with my boyfriend, whom I don't get to see often since it is long distance. We wanted to book a hotel for a couple of nights so that we could have some privacy and spend some time in Center City. No doubt the Sheraton is a luxurious hotel. The reason I chose it was because it had the lowest rate at the time of booking. The nice thing is that we were able to check in early so that we would not have to wait around for three hours when we got there. The room was clean and comfortable, also. What I did not like was the fact that we had to pay a ridiculous fee to use the internet each day, and that there wasn't any cable. They had "ON COMMAND" where you could select a certain movie to watch, but when we found one we wanted to watch we saw how much it cost and decided not to watch it. Really!? It was more than going to a movie theater. And if there was free WIFI we could've watched something on Netflix! We saw that there was an "Internet on TV" option, but we were having trouble figuring it out. When we called the front desk they had told us that they no longer had the option. So we were wasting time messing with it for nothing. The other thing is there was a liter bottle of water on the desk and when I picked it up to see if we could drink some I saw that the price was ridiculous! For that much we might as well drink from the tap. And the meal menu prices? Forget it. We just ate out and saved money. There was a slight problem with housekeeping as well. The first morning we woke up there housekeeping knocked on our door at around 10:20. I was expecting them at some point, but that was just too early and when I opened the door the woman apologized profusely because we weren't even dressed yet. She knocked again like ten minutes later! We should've had a sign on the door. The next day when we came back from a day of walking at around 4pm for a break we saw that our room had been cleaned, which is good. However, the same woman from housekeeping opened the door with her key assuming that there was no one there and apologized saying she had the wrong room. Wasn't she the one who cleaned it in the first place? Good thing neither of us were naked! In conclusion, the next time I book a room I think I will stick with the less luxurious, but very cozy hotels I have stayed in before. At least those have free WIFI/cable and sometimes even a complimentary breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
never stay at sheraton again
Business
usa
May 9, 2009

Sheraton philly city center hotel

This hotel is all about sucking money out of you. Nothing offered for breakfast. Not a piece a bread or a juice. Nothing! Even discount hotel chains care enough about their customers to offer something, anything. Oh yeah you could pay $17 for the breakfast buffet! Omg do you realize how many pancakes, eggs and othe cheap breakfast stuff you can buy for $17? This is a nopn smoking hotel so do not believe Orbitz when they say you can get a smoking room! They take your credit card even when you prepay for room! I was scared they were going to charge me for the soap and toilet paper i used. Windows dont open and the air conditioner was not working very well. The matresses had springs that jab you in your back when you are sleeping. The lady at the desk was snotty when I asked where our breakfast was. I suppose they feel everybody is rich who stays at a sheraton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

nothing real close, everything requires expensive taxi ride

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
May 25, 2009

Okay

Location for walking around was great or could take a shottle to the Big Bus Tours which is worth every penny. The parking garage is a rip off. A perfectly good parking facility is across the Street for approx. $5.00 vs the $38.00 at the Hotel. Everyone at the Hotel was curteous, unfortunately the room was not vacuumed, 1 bar of soap, not enough towels and a lack of toliet paper. The concierge was extremly helpful and provided easy access around the city. It looks like everything is spread out but very walkable. Do not eat in the Hotel better walk over to Rittenhouse area. Lovely restaurants, shopping okay a bit more upscale but can find some quaint spots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia suburbs
May 26, 2009

Not up to par

Hotel did not receive my ORBITZ payment promptly and was rude when I showed them my confirmation. Hotel carpet was disgusting, I refused to take off my shoes while walking in my own room. Ordered room service in the morning and breakfast was ICE cold. Not a pleaseant stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Flasuz
Business
Orlando, Florida
Jan 21, 2014

Beautiful lobby

Room was very large. Wish it had a fridge and microwave. View was beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
53x11 Flemington
Business
Flemington, NJ
Feb 16, 2014

good location.

Good location. Ok rooms. Staff needs a little work. No one answered the phone for 15 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BEnick
Business
RI
Feb 17, 2014

Great location, easy in and out to rte 95.

Dog friendly. We noticed people greeting dogs in the lobby:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Philly Gentleman
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 2, 2014

Sheraton Review

...my overnight stay was good... enough said & I appreciate the courtesy of the staff-they were very pleasant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
busana
Business
philadelphia
Mar 9, 2014

What to expect

Reception stuff were cool and nice, however, when I got to the room I was surprised it was not that great given the price. Bed sheets were dirty, literally had sauce on them, room service was unwelcoming so I didn't get them changed, I got free breakfast with my ticket but they said I am not eligible for it which doesn't make sense. Overall, you should go there on, if you had no other choices

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you book e cheapest room, because doesn't make any difference

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Go Gay Travel
Business
Riverside, CA
Mar 13, 2014

Nice room and good value

Overall the hotel is good. Its close to several subway and train terminals. The staff was friendly overall for the exception of one person. There isnt anything close near by to eat or to drink at. There is plenty of subways which is fine to grab a quick breakfast but a lot of choices for lunch or dinner. I would say the hotel is a solid 3.5. It wasn't bad and it was super great but the price was right compared to the surrounding hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Get yourself a Philadelphia Pass not the City Pass at the visitors center. It includes everything you already want to see and probably things you wouldn't have seen on your own. We got the 5 day and saw so much and saved money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top