$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

3 stars
201 North 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
384 reviews
Enjoyable 4th of July stay in Philadelphia!

Our stay was from July 3 - July 5, and although we arrived before the scheduled check-in time, the... See full review

  • PhillyBikerGirl
  • Jul 6, 2014
Fantastic Weekend Getaway

Overall hotel experience was great! Great place to stay in downtown Philly:) See full review

  • Misdemeanor 75
  • Jun 22, 2014
Functioning even more smoothly as a business hotel since its 2013 renovations, the Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia now features a handy lobby connection center and library, redesigned meeting spaces, and brand new fitness equipment. The same stalwart features guests would expect from a Sheraton hotel are here, with regular Social Hours showcasing the hotel's wine list, free hors d'oeuvres and newspapers in the Club Lounge (Club upgrades only), along with an indoor pool that's ideal for a few late - night laps. Meet for cocktails under the lofty four - storey atrium at the Lobby Lounge, and move onto the Terrace Cafe when it's time for some a la carte eats.
Key facts
  • 757 guestrooms
  • 38 meeting rooms
  • The Link @Sheraton connectivity center, with free Wi-Fi
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Indoor pool
  • Self-park and valet
  • Fitness center
  • 2 restaurants: The Lobby Lounge and The Terrace Cafe


Neighborhood
The Sheraton Downtown sits just blocks away from JFK Plaza and City Hall, right in the middle of the Center City West area, and opposite the beautiful Italianate Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul. Take in the works of Renoir and the French Masters at The Barnes Foundation, or have fun with the giant interactive displays at the science - based museum The Franklin Institute near the Vine Street Expressway, just north of the hotel.
Hints and tips
If you're flying into Philly, you might want to invest in a SEPTA pass for the local subway trains, because you can reach the hotel (Suburban Station) from the airport in less than half an hour, and use the pass to zip around the Historic District, and attractions like Independence Hall during your stay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.9569 -75.1676
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 7.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Video checkout
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 0.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 0.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.3 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.7 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.5 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.9 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.4 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 9.8 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (384)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
384 out of 384
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dbo
New York
Apr 5, 2011

fine hotel

the room was fine, and up to normal standards of a sheraton. other than that, there wasn't anything remarkable about this hotel. the lobby was fine, the amenities were fine, and the experience was acceptable. location to center city philadelphia is ok, but not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dbo
New York
Apr 5, 2011

fine hotel

the room was fine, and up to normal standards of a sheraton. other than that, there wasn't anything remarkable about this hotel. the lobby was fine, the amenities were fine, and the experience was acceptable. location to center city philadelphia is ok, but not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ny
Apr 5, 2011

Week end

Not impressed with hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
new jersey
Jan 17, 2011

ordinary

The room smelled and the staff was unhelpful when we called to request certain items from guest services. We waited 40 minutes for a wine bottle opener.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
new jersey
Jan 17, 2011

ordinary

The room smelled and the staff was unhelpful when we called to request certain items from guest services. We waited 40 minutes for a wine bottle opener.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
East Greenville, PA
Jan 3, 2011

Pleasantly suprised!!!

We decided at the last minute to go to Philadelphia for the New Year's Eve fireworks. We wanted to see the Mummer's parade the next day, but figured we wouldn't be able to find an affordable hotel on New Years Eve. To our suprise, the Sheraton had a few rooms available. We arrived around 6pm and were suprised by how friendly the staff was. We parked in thier $20 lot which they validated at the end of our stay. We ordered room service for dinner and breakfast. The food was good, not excellent, but good. But it arrived quickly, and the staff that delivered it was extremely polite and friendly! The room was clean (there was a lamp shade missing, no big deal). We were within walking distance of most of the attractions, and the staff was helpful in giving us directions. We would definitely go back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
East Greenville, PA
Jan 3, 2011

Pleasantly suprised!!!

We decided at the last minute to go to Philadelphia for the New Year's Eve fireworks. We wanted to see the Mummer's parade the next day, but figured we wouldn't be able to find an affordable hotel on New Years Eve. To our suprise, the Sheraton had a few rooms available. We arrived around 6pm and were suprised by how friendly the staff was. We parked in thier $20 lot which they validated at the end of our stay. We ordered room service for dinner and breakfast. The food was good, not excellent, but good. But it arrived quickly, and the staff that delivered it was extremely polite and friendly! The room was clean (there was a lamp shade missing, no big deal). We were within walking distance of most of the attractions, and the staff was helpful in giving us directions. We would definitely go back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orlando, FL
Jan 2, 2011

Perfect for New Years

I was going to spend my New Years in Philadelphia, so I wanted a place that was close to some of the festivities. The room was clean and very comfortable, the staff was very friendly and accommodating, and it is within walking distance of several bars, food, and coffee shops. My only complaint was the lack of free wifi, but I was able to walk to Starbucks and get my internet fix.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to food, coffee, and nightlife.

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
harrisburg, pa
Jan 2, 2011

new years sheraton

very friendly and considerate staff great location close to 15th street station walking distance to reading terminal market clean room, comfortable bed and great view of city

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

reading terminal market with many choices for food

Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orlando, FL
Jan 2, 2011

Perfect for New Years

I was going to spend my New Years in Philadelphia, so I wanted a place that was close to some of the festivities. The room was clean and very comfortable, the staff was very friendly and accommodating, and it is within walking distance of several bars, food, and coffee shops. My only complaint was the lack of free wifi, but I was able to walk to Starbucks and get my internet fix.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to food, coffee, and nightlife.

Back to menu Return to top