$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 6, 2015 Check-out: Mar 7, 2015

Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

3 stars
View map of 201 North 17th Street, 201 North 17th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
255 reviews
Always fantastic

Always fanatastic. From the front desk to the bell staff to the bar staff. Top to bottom! See full review

  • Dennis Y.
  • Feb 26, 2015
Romantic getaway

Great experience... Can't wait to go back. The rooms were very clean and the staff was superb. The... See full review

  • One Love 24
  • Dec 30, 2014
Functioning even more smoothly as a business hotel since its 2013 renovations, the Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia now features a handy lobby connection center and library, redesigned meeting spaces, and brand new fitness equipment. The same stalwart features guests would expect from a Sheraton hotel are here, with regular Social Hours showcasing the hotel's wine list, free hors d'oeuvres and newspapers in the Club Lounge (Club upgrades only), along with an indoor pool that's ideal for a few late - night laps. Meet for cocktails under the lofty four - storey atrium at the Lobby Lounge, and move onto the Terrace Cafe when it's time for some a la carte eats.
Key facts
  • 757 guestrooms
  • 38 meeting rooms
  • The Link @Sheraton connectivity center, with free Wi-Fi
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Indoor pool
  • Self-park and valet
  • Fitness center
  • 2 restaurants: The Lobby Lounge and The Terrace Cafe


Neighborhood
The Sheraton Downtown sits just blocks away from JFK Plaza and City Hall, right in the middle of the Center City West area, and opposite the beautiful Italianate Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul. Take in the works of Renoir and the French Masters at The Barnes Foundation, or have fun with the giant interactive displays at the science - based museum The Franklin Institute near the Vine Street Expressway, just north of the hotel.
Hints and tips
If you're flying into Philly, you might want to invest in a SEPTA pass for the local subway trains, because you can reach the hotel (Suburban Station) from the airport in less than half an hour, and use the pass to zip around the Historic District, and attractions like Independence Hall during your stay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
Cribs available

Nearby points of interest

  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 0.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 0.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.3 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.7 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.5 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.9 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.4 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 9.8 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.4 mi

Dining

The Terrace Café
The newly transformed Terrace Café serves a delicious buffet breakfast and à la carte dining.
Lobby Lounge & Restaurant
Enjoy light fare while watching your favorite game in the Lobby Lounge & Restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (255)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
255 out of 255
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bemybest
New York, NY
Sep 24, 2012

I can always rely on their quality

It is always a nice experience: the staff their restaurant and over all experience. Thank you,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
drscott
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Sep 19, 2011

Great setting

Soft, nice beds. Hot shower. Really great pillow. Great views of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andy000
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Great value for price

Location was perfect, right in the middle of city. Price was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY, USA
Sep 4, 2011

Good price! Worth the money

Everything was very clean and neat. Definitely worth the money. It's right in the main areas. Restaurant, bars and everything close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
adhill
Business
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Nice hotel, good service!

I went for a wedding outside of Philadelphia and the location of the Sheraton was great. It is close to major train lines, hotel staff is very friendly. I would liked if the parking fees were better described in the website. Nevertheless, we were very comfortable in this place. Will definitely take it in consideration for future trips to Philadelphia.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joce
Business
Baltimore, Maryland
Aug 15, 2011

Live like a King!

Our experience at the Sheraton Phillidelphia was one we would do again. The room was beyond the price we paid. The bed was extremely comfortable along with the room being very clean. The staff was friendly and helped us with questions about the area. We will be returning to this hotel in the future and plan to reccomend it to our friends. If you want to live like a king and pay half the price we reccomend this hotel!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
all over
Aug 3, 2011

a getaway knw to all

I was bothered by people looking for me without warning. The front desk would put calls through to my room without checkin to see if I wanted these people to knw I was there. NO PRIVACY

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Chester, PA
Jul 26, 2011

Celebrating Anniversaary & Birthday

Accomodations & location was great, room wss clean & great bedding, several pillows to meet everyone's comfort area. Went to Art Museum, ate at Distrito Restaurant, Chef was on Iron Chef & Master Chef, & won (food network). We enjoyed an evening of great tasting.We also saw the Phillies baseball game (they won). Too bad we only could stay one night. [...]. Would stay at the Sheraton again [...] Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Providence, RI
Jul 20, 2011

Bit disappointed

I went to Philly to spend a nice several days with my boyfriend, whom I don't get to see often since it is long distance. We wanted to book a hotel for a couple of nights so that we could have some privacy and spend some time in Center City. No doubt the Sheraton is a luxurious hotel. The reason I chose it was because it had the lowest rate at the time of booking. The nice thing is that we were able to check in early so that we would not have to wait around for three hours when we got there. The room was clean and comfortable, also. What I did not like was the fact that we had to pay a ridiculous fee to use the internet each day, and that there wasn't any cable. They had "ON COMMAND" where you could select a certain movie to watch, but when we found one we wanted to watch we saw how much it cost and decided not to watch it. Really!? It was more than going to a movie theater. And if there was free WIFI we could've watched something on Netflix! We saw that there was an "Internet on TV" option, but we were having trouble figuring it out. When we called the front desk they had told us that they no longer had the option. So we were wasting time messing with it for nothing. The other thing is there was a liter bottle of water on the desk and when I picked it up to see if we could drink some I saw that the price was ridiculous! For that much we might as well drink from the tap. And the meal menu prices? Forget it. We just ate out and saved money. There was a slight problem with housekeeping as well. The first morning we woke up there housekeeping knocked on our door at around 10:20. I was expecting them at some point, but that was just too early and when I opened the door the woman apologized profusely because we weren't even dressed yet. She knocked again like ten minutes later! We should've had a sign on the door. The next day when we came back from a day of walking at around 4pm for a break we saw that our room had been cleaned, which is good. However, the same woman from housekeeping opened the door with her key assuming that there was no one there and apologized saying she had the wrong room. Wasn't she the one who cleaned it in the first place? Good thing neither of us were naked! In conclusion, the next time I book a room I think I will stick with the less luxurious, but very cozy hotels I have stayed in before. At least those have free WIFI/cable and sometimes even a complimentary breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern Virginia
Jul 19, 2011

Just what we needed

My college-age son and I had an open summer weekend, and made a short-notice trip to see historical sites. The hotel had an excellent weekend rate for a room with two double beds (and an unposted parking discount). The staff took care of minor problems (eg a dead TV remote was promptly replaced) and the view from the 17th floor was great. A Starbucks and a subway station (a quick $2 trip to the historic area or UPenn) were each within a few blocks of the hotel. Several museums were a short stroll away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For an inexpensive excellent meal, walk a half-dozen blocks to Reading Terminal Market for an authentic Philly Cheese Steak. We opted for provolone, but Cheez Wiz is traditional (really). Note that the market closes at 6 PM.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stanton, CA
Jul 16, 2011

Close to Drexel Medical School & SPH

We went to attend the Accepted Students Reception for the Drexel School of Public Health. The building was literally a 5-minute walk. Since it was super hot outside, it was nice to have a air-conditioned hotel and room. The staff was very helpful. The food at the hotel is extremely expensive, but there are some restaurants when you leave the building and head either North or South on 17th Street. Subway is very close to the hotel. Make a left on 17th Street to get to the Subway. It will be on your right hand side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top